Introducing, THE DOG! (#introduceyourdog - Make this hashtag a thing!)

in #introduceyourdog7 years ago (edited)

The story of finding my dog is a short but sweet one.

Koodge in his lifejacket

Ain't he cute?!

Husband and I had just moved to Germany and a couple months in, we knew that husband would deploy some time in the near future. So I wanted to get myself a companion. Looking around online, we found this guy for free. I immediately fell head over heals and knew I had to get him.

We made time to meet with the other military couple and as soon as I walked in the door he was right by my side. He wouldn't leave it, not even when the old owners gave him the command. He was all about standing right by me. We were told that his name was "Kujo"

... yes... Like THAT Kujo... (Don't worry, that name did NOT stick - how awful, right?)

AWE DOES THIS LOOK LIKE A KUJO TO YOU!?

DOES THIS LOOK LIKE A KUJO TO YOU?! I didn't think so!

We asked the owners if we could take "Kujo" on a walk and discuss what we'd like to do, they allowed it. I didn't need to discuss much, but, I wanted to talk over Kujo's behavior. We noticed he did some obsessive things with a frisbee they had. It was laying on the ground with the bowl portion facing down and he was obsessively scratching over it. I thought this was a bit weird, but old owners were allowing it. Whatever. On our walk we noticed that he had the runs, bad. Come to find out, they were feeding him KIBBLES'N'BITS. I mean, I know the military pay is crap, but c'mon.

Puppy at the beachPuppy at the beach 2

We had to think of a good name for him, but really hated the idea of completely changing it. So... We kept the first part, so, Kujo without the O sound, and we spell it Koodge. He's a silly guy, and his name fits him perfectly!

This poor guy was a mere 35 lbs on a 55 lb body. I knew I had to take him home. When we got back inside and told them we would take him. They said that they changed their mind about the price and wanted $80 for him. We saw his condition and said "Sure, whatever, we'd like to take him now". So we did. $80 lighter and a whole lot of love heavier. I can say that after 6 years, he sure was worth it.

couch

But he is really good at taking up 90% of the couch

Since having him, we've found things out like... He's got severe separation anxiety, he's way too possessive over things like frisbees, and we just cannot train him not to pull on the leash. Over all... he's a damn good dog. Now that he's with us, he's traveled from Germany back to Oregon (USA) and he's on a 20 acre farmstead. He gets to do things like, run, nap, and does a really good job at watching over the chickens.

Awe look he's even sitting pretty!Such a good watcher-over-er

He's been really great with the chickens!

Sometimes he helps us round up the chickens to get them back in the coop at night. For having an abusive first year of his life, moving from one country to another (TWICE), and then two more moves in Oregon, he's such a good dog. He does miss being able to go into restaurants with us (in Germany dogs are allowed in restaurants). He is my Emotional Support Animal so thankfully he was allowed in the cabin of the airplane with us on the flight back from Germany. He did such a good job.

Really, he chose us. I know that sounds completely corny. How can you deny it if even at his (old) home he stood by my side and never left?

GermanyHome

He will forever be by our side

It was funny in Germany. Many Germans asked us if he was a "killer dog" because Pitties aren't allowed in Germany. Yeah, we think he's a beagle pit mix, but, no... Haha, no, he's not a killer dog.


Do you have a dog or animal that chose you? I'd love to see!
Does your dog bode well with your other small animal or livestock?

I'm also proposing a new hashtag #introduceyourdog - my buddy @cryptodan came up with it. I think it's great, since we all love dogs. Haha

As always, @farmstead here! With Koodge this time!

Verify


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.



Badge by @Daddykirbs

Badge by @daddykirbs

Get yours here!

Sort:  

Worlds first introduceyourdog post, and it's great!
It's sad to hear how bad his previous owners treated him. Good thing you guys came along and adopted him :)

All cause of you!! Haha

Yeah they were pretty crappy. They didn't even have a doggy bed for him! They didbother terrible things too.

But! He's a great dog anyway!

Awesome story. My German Shepard passed away last month. He was my service dog . Here is my post and a poem about him. https://steemit.com/poetry/@thedeplorable1/the-service-dog-original Thanks for sharing your story. P.S. I love your new homesteaders graphic.

Awh I'm sorry about that. :(

Thanks for stopping by, I'll go read about your pup, for sure!

And thanks! @daddykirbs did a real good job on them!!

What a sweet dog and you guys took to each other and made a connection so quickly! That's wonderful beautiful stories lived your pictures!🌺🌺

I am so glad you enjoyed my story! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by, read, and leave a thoughtful comment! I appreciate it! Have a great day!

Thank you so much! Have s beautiful weekend!🌹

I just introduced mine a few days ago and worried people would think I was strange! Haha but they deserve an Introduction! He is sooo cute!

Oh! Go edit your hashtags and add #introduceyourdog - people love dogs. Haha. It totally should be a thing!! <3

What a great story. I was going to share a photo of my child who started out as I Grand Dog, but I can't figure out how to do that. Mine will alway be by my side for all the days of her life, as well.

You have to have your photo public somewhere online
Then you use the following

! [insert description here or keep blank] (paste link to image URL here)

You do all that WITHOUT ANY SPACES.

It worked! You can always see, right below where you write your comment, there's a preview area. Pretty cool.

What a cutie dog!

Thanks for taking the time to pop by, I appreciate it! I am glad you liked the story! :) <3

If you haven't Register your #whalepower membership , please do so.
( If you have, please disregard this message )
This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , comment when ever you can.
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Is this spam? What does it have to do with @farmstead 's dog?

I appreciate the backup! But I did register for this #whalepower thing. Hoping it might bring some light to my blog posts. But I am not 100% sure how I feel about it! I am happy to have you to count on! <3

No prob. I got your "6" . It may be a legit thing, I hope it is! I have been on Steemit since January and I have seen a large increase in spamming. You would think that the person that posted it would have at least made a comment about your hard work in writing the story. I can see spam as a up and coming problem. Many postings have it and it is growing rapidly as the platform grows. Steemit is still in beta so we have time to fix it before it ruins this great platform. Maybe its just me being paranoid..lol I don't know...

I hope someone's got my 6 on here. Cause I don't even got my 12!

You're right! There is a lot of spamming! Thanks man! <3

This is not SPAM.
By using #whalepower Tag , you will get this sorts of message.
There is a contract signed for Free Registration membership.
Get a Free Curation, Upvotes and Comments.

Great story! I have a pit and he looks mean because he just stares at you, but he is real easy going. Love the tag idea. It is a money maker, for sure.

I hope you make a post! I'd love to see him!

Gah! He's so precious!

AND DON'T HE KNOW IT!? Lol. Thanks!!

This is a beautiful story and the idea with this hashtag is amazing!
Unfortunately I don't have any pets so I can't participate (for now)...
:)

Awe, well, you'll have a great dog when the time is right, I'm sure of it! Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! Have a beautiful day!

Awwww! He's a cutie 🤗

He knows it too! Hahah really takes advantage of the fact! Do you have a go? You should make a post and use the #introduceyourdog tag!

I'm working on my dogs intro now 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53