The Service Dog (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A couple months ago, I decided that I should retire my service dog of 6 years. He was trained for Traumatic Brain Injuries and Post Traumatic Stress. He had not been acting his normal self and seemed to get anxious. He wanted to constantly drink water. I took him to his Veterinarian and he was given a clean bill of health. I then decided he should become an emotional support dog for another injured veteran and get a replacement dog. Plans were made and he was to fly from Maryland to Massachusetts the next day. I said my tearful goodbye and wished him well.

The day after he left me, he passed away! (cancer) I felt over whelmed with guilt as I should have known something was wrong. I wish he could have died at his home with me. He served me faithfully for many years. I wrote this poem to honor "Adonis" and his loyal service.

walldc.jpg

                                 The Service Dog

                            Laying at my masters side,
                            I am ready for this night,
                         For as you lay there sleeping,
                             I keep you in my sight

                       Your sheets are soaked with sweat,
                             The battle rages on,
                        I gently wake you with a nudge,
                          The nightmare now has gone

                          Morning sun comes up again,
                           I am ready for this day,
                      I keep you safe so walk with me,
                        I’ll help you find your way

                          If you love me in return,
                             It matters not to me,
                         By your side I will stay,
                             To win a victory

                      Years have passed and I must go,
                         And be with you no more,
                       But since there is a heaven,
                       I’ll walk with you some more

Rest In Peace Adonis 04-30-2017

Sort:  

I'm sorry for your loss. There is no way that you could know that your friend was that sick.

You can feel comfort in knowing that your dog has moved to a better place.

Man's best friend........

Very touching poem. Your love for Adonis is evident.

Thank you for your kindness!

Oh, I'm so sorry about Adonis :( We say that when our dogs leave us they go to the rainbow and waiting for us!

What @michaelstoiersk said, and what a beautiful poem.

Thank you . I appreciate your comments.

Dog are such amazing creatures, they have a special place in our hearts. I am sure he knew how much you cared for him.

nice t hanks for sharing And I am so sorry
you might like to read this story I have read yesterday
https://steemit.com/gedwriting/@awriter/the-lost

Thanks you for the comments. I read the article , the writer did a wonderful job and is applicable. Take care!

I am so sorry for your loss.

I am sure Adonis knew you loved him.

Thank you for your comments and kindness!

So young still. It is very unfortunate.

I was lucky - I've had two dogs, one lived to 16, the other one 15.5.

I'm sorry I couldn't read the whole thing (as I'm a sap and tears started welling up) but I can imagine the guilt you must have felt at the time.

I am dreading the time of my guy passing and don't know what I'd do. The parts of the poem I read were beautiful, as I am sure the rest of it is as well.

I'm sorry for your loss as I feel it with you.

Thanks for your kind comments. I haven't replaced him yet as I am still in the process of letting him go. When the time is right, I am thinking about getting a lab retriever or similar breed. Keep on posting great stories, you have a talent for writing. :-)

You should highly consider putting a pitty into your breed decisions.
You wont regret it. :D

Thank you. <3

Ok, I will take a look at them . Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55089.06
ETH 2939.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09