My drive to the shelter was not without adventure ( This is how I revived my truck after driving through high water)

in #howto7 years ago

Pushing my truck to the limits


On Monday, August 28, 2017 I filled up my truck and brought donations to the George R Brown Convention Center shelter. That was one of the days where the entire city seemed to be underwater. One thing about me is that if I want to do something, I will. When I encountered high water, I wasn't going to let that stop me. That doesn't mean that the high water wasn't going to stop my truck though. If you are not aware, Houston is notorious for flooding. We have multiple flash foods every year. People will try to tell you that climate change causes the flooding, no it's the shitty drainage infrastructure. Anyways, I have been here before and I was prepared.

Here are some screenshots from my dash cam during that drive.



WANT TO HELP THOSE AFFECTED BY HURRICANE HARVEY?



@HarveyReliefFund

ACCEPT NO SUBSTITUTES

Steemit-Karaoke

Jolene - Zac Brown Band

Free/Into the Mystic - Zac Brown Band

Everyday We Lit by YFN Lucci ft. PnB Rock

Moto-Vlogging


STEEMIT MEET UP Austin
First World Problems
40 Hour Work Week Scam Exposed
Letting Your 5 year old Listen to Rap

There's Adventure in all of Us

I showed you how to pay rent with STEEM
I showed you how to turn STEEM into CASH
N-word etiquette on steem!
I took you to on #STEEMITAERIALTOURS
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB    

 Animation by the one and only @xtrodinarypilot

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 


SPONSORED
Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888 when creating an account for rakeback at tables.

Sort:  

I love when people help I need a direct way rather than just giving to "charity". Of corse not everyone can but everyone should know someone who can. Thank you for setting up a steemit initiative

@whatamidoing I know the feeling of needing to help directly. I looked at your profile, it says you are everywhere. Hopefully Houston is someone near everywhere lol

Glad you made it thru the wild waters! We got stuck in for a few days, sure was nice to get out into the world again!

Isn't it like freedom all over again. I'll definately put a higher lift and a snorkel by next summer.

Great job by helping others

Thank you @dine77 I'm sure you would do the same or whatever you could in this sitiuation.

great work man it is sad whats happening there, hope this week looks better for Texas

Things are looking up for Texas. People are really coming together in an amazing way.

Props to you for helping those that need it most. Houston's plight is heartbreaking. So many will be damaged by this flood for years to come.

Yeah they will. Not to me tion we have a curfew and armed soldiers in the street. Sounds crazy, but I plan on getting footage of that.

Still raining...my goodness. Keep hustling my friend!!!

No that was from the 28th. We are back to ridiculously humid and hot weather.

I know its against the rules for me to talk about weather with anyone outside of San Diego, but it is hot here. My wife said it was going to be 96 degrees today. Its hotter in LA today, than it is in Phoenix I was told this morning.

Glad you were able to continue. Being prepared for storms is one thing, but having to contend with poor city planning is quite another.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66