Puppet Making, Part 4: Creating Poseable Hands!

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

Part4-hands.png

My husband Patrick (aka @serapium) is responsible for Bean's poseable hands! He took on the challenge and did awesome things for me, once again.

I have to say that one of the most amazing things about my husband is that he has always ALWAYS been incredibly supportive of my creative endeavors. I really can't think of anything that I've wanted to do creatively that he hasn't supported me in.

I don't just mean being verbally supportive and encouraging, either. Not to discount that, because that has been a HUGE factor in me accomplishing so many things. His unending support, encouragement and always telling me that I am talented/amazing/capable has made it possible for me to keep up the momentum and get things accomplished.

BUT, he ALSO helped me out every time by actually participating. Helping me, almost always in some technical way to make my creation come to life. Whether it was building sets, doing lights or even creating cool special effects for one of my plays that I wrote or directed or building designs that I created for our home or helping with things like making a puppet with me.

In this case, it was creating poseable hands for my Bean. I was at a loss when it came to his hands. I didn't want to just have stuffed hands that couldn't do anything at all. I wanted him to be able to hold a marker or a paint brush. I wanted him to be able to have an open hand to wave... and @serapium was awesome as always and made it happen for me!

01.png

Yay! Now my Bean can pose:)

02.png

First, cut out the hand pattern in the reticulated foam.

The directions suggest an exacto knife, but for most of it, scissors were better.

03.png

The wide razor blades we bought were AWESOMELY sharp

*so much so, that I have a few new cuts from it barely bumping against my finger! NOT a tool to use with little ones running around!

04.png

Cut the "palm" of the hand out of hard plastic. We cut it out of a rubbermaid storage tub lid that we didn't need anymore. That stuff is HARD.

05.png

You can also use chipboard or something like it, but it has to be HARD and it has to be THIN.

Next, you have to poke holes where the four fingers will connect to the 'palm'. Patrick tried the exacto knife, but it broke. He ended up using his pocket/carpet knife.

06.png

Then, take your bendable wire 'fingers' and insert them into the holes.

07.png

Lastly, take your stiff wire (this needs to actually be hard to bend) and glue all wires to the plastic using epoxy.

08.png

This will need a FULL 24 HOURS to dry.

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

The next day, place the wires on the top of one piece of foam.

09.png

010.png

Make sure that your foam hands line up perfectly and that they are the same size before continuing to the next step

011.png

Using more contact cement, place the other piece of foam on top and press together.

012.png

Wait 15 minutes, then place contact cement around the outside edges.

013.png

Wait ANOTHER 15 minutes, (yeah, a lot of waiting here) then squeeze the edges together. The contact cement will leave you with a nice rounded edge.

014.png

015.png

Place the foam inside the sewn up hand pattern and you're ready to go!

016.png

TaDa! Give me a hand! Lol... I'm such a hoot!

017.png

@abyni getting the first hug & kiss from Bean!

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

You can find more information in my previous posts Puppet Making Part 1:Making the Head & Body as well as Part 2: Making of the Mouth and Part 3: Creating the Skin

Next Week we'll make the arms and legs and be ready to discuss lighting and technical stuff and start posting some videos!

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animation By @zord189

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts!

Weekend Freewrite: To Change Our Fate

change-our-fate.png

Sunday Funnies: When Cats Get Bored, Letters from a Boat Cat

tempest-16.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I did a MAKEUP Video! (Yep, it's as weird as you'd expect!

TSNT-makeup-250.png

Fiction: Short Writing Challenge "A Dog's Story"

Dogs-Story.png

Sharing Our Steemit Work Space: My Steemit Office

BehindtheCurtain-cover.png

Friday Freebies! Custom Graphics for You!

friday-freebie-custom-250.png

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

All Photos & graphics are mine except for the discord channel logos and they are credited/linked to their source under each graphic.
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Heya @byn!

Bean came out really nice. It lifts me up to hear that your husband fully supports you. It's easy to give words in agreeance, but it takes a lot to work together with you on projects :3

I'm actually helping my boyfriend set up his Steemit account soon. He's an artist!

With love,
@shello

Oh, that's awesome! My husband and some of my kids have steemit accounts, but they've all been pretty overwhelmed with work and school lately, so they haven't been on as much.

I wish you and your boyfriend the best of luck :) I love following artists, so feel free to comment with his username once he's on and I'll follow him and try to help offer support!

Thank you for your comments. :)

The love is real @byn :3 Thank you! I can relate to how your kids feel, sometimes I feel like I'm in a hole with my classes.

I will be sure to do that, I'll be delegating some of my SP to open up his account because he wants to work on his posts soon.

The pleasure is all mine :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43