Puppet Making Part 3: Creating the Puppet "Skin" (Mommy Monday)

in #howto6 years ago

Cover-Part3.png

purple-chalk.png

You can find more information in my previous posts Part 1: Making the Head & Body as well as the Part 2: Making of the Mouth.

purple-chalk.png

This is the story of how "Bean" the monkey came to be in our lives. Well, this is the technical 'birthing' part. The rest of the story will probably come later, if anyone is interested. Long story short, I had a character inside of me with a cute little voice and it became this purple monkey puppet. We did a few live events, took Bean to the park to chat with kids (who never seemed to even notice that I was there and attached to the monkey at all!) and visited a children's hospital to play with the kids for a while. We also did a filmed puppet show on YouTube that was lost pretty much forever when YouTube deleted the channel for reasons I can't begin to fathom.

I have found some of the raw footage from then and hope to find time to re-edit it so that we can at least have some episodes to put up on dtube. In the meantime, I thought some of you might like to see the process. If this goes well... I'm considering doing the whole project from scratch on video this time and reinventing the show with everything we've learned since then. I do have a couple of grandsons that I think would LOVE it!

Assuming that I can make enough income off of my online work and steemit, I might try taking that on again. It was an incredibly awesome thing to do with my two youngest girls. Memories with Bean are still come of my favorites!

So, without further ado...

purple-chalk.png

Paris helping cut out the pattern for the white 'furry' fabric.

aBMB3-1.png

The Head & Mouth

aBMB3-2.png

First I sewed up the 'cover' for the head and mouth piece. Two pieces, this shape, sewn together with a hole for the mouth and for the neck.

aBMB3-3.png

Turn it inside out and roll over the reticulated foam head & mouth from YESTERDAY

aBMB3-4.png

The head at this step was SO adorable, I am definitely making a puppet with this final head shape at some point. It was SO cute... but not a monkey:(

aBMB3-5.png

Then Adding the black (adhesive felt) and the purple 'lips' (that I ended up removing later)

aBMB3-6.png

A pink felt tongue and I was done (for now) And yes, I look somewhat crappy. I was exhausted and needed a shower, but I Had.To.Get.This.Done.

aBMB3-7.png

The Body

aBMB3-8.png

The pieces were the same shape as the body foam core from Part 1

aBMB3-9.png

Sewn together in the same way, and rolled over the foam 'belly'

aBMB3-10.png

Line up in place with the seams of the fabric matching the seams of the foam.

aBMB3-11.png

Attach the head to the body. (I was able to remove the body covering and sew part of the head and body together with the machine. I don't follow directions well, so I often find myself going back and redoing things)

aBMB3-12.png

My "Mini Me" daughter doing some hand sewing for me... sewing the back of the head and body together. My hands fall asleep in about 10 seconds when I try to hand sew, thanks to carpal tunnel, so I desperately needed her help!

aBMB3-13.png

Ta Da!

We're done for the Day!

It has been a long day in front of the sewing machine and I am ready for BED! Too much adrenaline for me today. It is SO exciting to see this coming together so well!!

purple-chalk.png

Don't forget, you can find the previous "How To" posts here:

Thumb-beans-monkey-biz-collage-250.png

Thumb-BMB-Cover-part2.png

purple-chalk.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animation By @zord189

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

purple-chalk.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts!

Storytime Saturday: Choices. A woman finds that she has some hard choices to make.

choices.png

Sunday Funnies: Battling the Laundry Demons, Letters from a Boat Cat

tempest-16.png

Mommy Monday: To My Kids: Let's Talk About Mother's Day

thumb-mothersday.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I entered a design contest

TSNT-designcontest.png

Workout Wednesday: Working Out!

WO-W-2.png

Therapy Thursday: Do Introverts Make Bad Friends?

Therapy-Thursday-introverts.png

Friday Freebies! Custom Graphics for You!

friday-freebie-custom-250.png

purple-chalk.png

Photos & graphics are mine except where they are linked to their source
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Wow! Thank you so much. I will check it out!

how cute! where do you buy foam-core? Just any joannes/michaels? i'm debating purchasing it for cosplays :O

I ordered it from the puppet pattern company. It's called "Project Puppet" and they sell it. You might be able to find it elsewhere as well. It would be PERFECT for cosplay!

Bean is so cute. Would have loved to see the video darn Youtube. We have Dtube hope you could have it there. Puppets reminds me of Sunday school a great way to educate kids. I still remember the fun I had every Sunday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67