“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #8 - Stuffed Mushrooms (Vegan)

I’ve only made these once in my life (using a different recipe) but they were such a big hit that every single one had been devoured within three minutes! Next time I make a batch, I’m keeping them all for myself!

Stuffed Mushrooms

Healthy, vegan (if desired), and bite size! There’s nothing better!

Ingredients:

  • 30 small/medium white button mushrooms, brushed clean
  • Good quality vegan sausage (Field Roast Italian Sausage) or bacon
  • 1 tablespoon high-heat oil (safflower or grapeseed)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Fresh chives, minced
  • 5 oz. vegan cheese (Monterey Jack or mozzarella), grated

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 420 degrees F.
  2. Remove the stem from each mushroom and use a small melon baller (or spoon) to gently carve out some of the center of each. Place mushroom caps aside.
  3. Roughly chop up the sausage (or bacon) and pulse in a food processor until ground. Add the leftover mushroom stems/centers and pulse again until minced.
  4. Heat a large pan with the oil until it shimmers.
  5. Sauté the mushroom/sausage/bacon mixture until the mushroom liquid has evaporated.
  6. Season to taste with salt & pepper.
  7. Allow to cool, then stir in chives and cheese.
  8. Fill each mushroom with the mixture until full and slightly rounded.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes or until hot.

I really don’t have anything else to say besides it’s delicious! Last time I made stuffed mushrooms I followed a different recipe that was non-vegan, but I am very excited to have found such a good alternative!

Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #4 - Baked Sweet Potato Fries
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #5 - Avocado Reuben
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #6 - Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #7 - Tomato Bisque

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photo and recipe from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood. SteemitHomesteaders.Slack logo created by @greenacrehome.

Sort:  

That looks so good! Now to figure out the rest of the meal to go with it...

MMM! I love mushrooms and these look delicious! I love having vegan foodies around ;) I'm seeing your invitation for your homesteading community to Slack! I would love to join <3 I am always trying to promote ways to do things at home. My friends and family thought I was crazy at first but now they are slowly starting to see what I was talking about ;)

You're more than welcome to join! Just check out this link! :)

I am absolutely going to check it out, thank you :)

Ooh these look so good!! They remind me of stuffed mushrooms my mom made at thanksgiving every year!

My middle daughter has recently become vegan and she is looking for new recipes. I will show her this - it looks very tasty. Maybe she'll cook it for us 😊

I definitely recommend Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin - it has really simple recipes and I've tried a bunch of them!

Thanks for the tip - I will check out that book.

I've been eating quite a bit more vegetarian and these look really good. Haven't tried vegan products like meat or cheese though. I may give it a go when I have a chance (I'm a decent cook!)

Great, let me know how they turn out! I also haven't tried vegan meat or cheese but it's something I am interested in!

Thanks for sharing a nice vegan recipe.

Congratulations @kiaraantonoviche! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54