"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #7 - Tomato Bisque

in #recipe7 years ago

I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve fallen off the health bandwagon and failed to use MyFitnessPal for a few days now. I guess that’s a part of life though - failing a few times before getting things right! My biggest downfall has been salty comfort food… so I needed to get creative and healthy with my savory side.

Tomato Bisque

There is nothing more comforting or tasty than traditional tomato soup… and to be able to make your own with fresh tomatoes from your garden is a real treat!

Ingredients:
- 2 tsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil 
- 1 White Onion, chopped 
- 4 Large, Fresh Tomatoes, chopped 
- 2 Large Garlic Cloves, minced 
- 1 Large Potato, peeled & quartered 
- 6 Cups Vegetable Stock (or Chicken for non-vegan) 
- 10 Fresh Basil Leaves, chopped 
- Salt and Pepper to Taste

Instructions:
1. Heat olive oil in saucepan. Add onion and garlic until onions soften and are slightly brown (approx. 8 mins). 
2. Stir in chopped tomatoes, cook for additional 5 minutes. 
3. Add potato and broth. Simmer until the potato is soft (approx. 10 minutes). 
4. Carefully place the soup into the jar of a blender, add chopped basil, and purée until smooth. Transfer back to pot and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #4 - Baked Sweet Potato Fries
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #5 - Avocado Reuben
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #6 - Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photography from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Recipe adapted from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood. SteemitHomesteaders Slack logo created by @greenacrehome.

Sort:  

Love tomatoes specially when they are in season! A while back I too posted a tomato bisque recipe I do enjoy eating and making but it's not as healthy as this (hiding in embarrasment lol)

Sometimes tasty wins over healthy (most of the time for me to be honest haha)! I'll have to try your recipe! Thanks for commenting!

So true! haha Lovely Monday to you!

Lovely looking recipe - and I've got everyone of the ingredients (apart from the salt, pepper and olive oil) growing in my garden.

I will give it a go once the tomatoes start flowing in.

Awesome! Let me know how it turns out! It's easy to alter the recipe to individual preference too so get creative with it!

I love tomato soup with some cubes of cheese x) yummy.

Thanks for the recipe! This bisque sounds delicious @kiaraantonoviche!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52