"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips (+ Fundraiser Update)

in #life7 years ago

Kale.

It has such a bad reputation and after tasting it, I can understand why. Nonetheless, I decided to take a risk and cook something up using this healthy super food!

Kale Chips

I took another page from Roberto Martin’s book and decided to experiment with a new vegan recipe. The ingredient list was so short, I already had everything in my fridge and cupboards.

Ingredients:

  • Two bunches of kale, stripped from the stem and torn into 2 or 3-inch pieces
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300F.
  2. Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl until kale is fully coated with oil and seasonings.
  3. Spread the kale evenly on baking sheets and bake for 20 minutes.
  4. Rotate baking sheets and bake for additional 20 minutes.
  5. Eat up!

I’ve seen many individuals rave about how delicious kale chips can be… and technically I don’t disagree. The taste is great -simple yet savory and flavorful. But the consistency was lackluster. If you think potato chips are thin, think again! These “chips” are paper thin and dissolve in your mouth before you can hear any crunch. And, as one would expect, they are not filling or satisfying to eat. I nibbled my way through the whole bowl then went back to the cupboards to find something else!

Better luck next time I guess!

P.S. We have still only sold two “Full STEEM ahead!” t-shirts for our fundraiser! Only 10 days left until the fundraiser ends; 8 t-shirts needed to reach print minimum and the goal!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photo from FoodNetwork website.

Recipe from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Sort:  

I love kale! I have OAS (can't eat any raw vegatables or fruit) so I'm always looking for recipes like this. Although you didn't like it, still thanks for sharing the idea ;)

It may not have been my favorite, but it can definitely be your new go-to snack! Let me know if you try it! :)

Sounds good, I might have to give this one a try!

They were definitely worth a try, though they weren't my favorite in the end! If you do make some, let me know how they turn out! Best of luck!

Thanks for sharing! I love all things Kale! ;)

My pleasure! I hope to find some new, great recipes using kale so I will hopefully be posting more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52