"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #6 - Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts

in #recipe7 years ago

Today I let my creative side take over the kitchen.

I found a “Roasted Gnocchi & Brussels Sprouts with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette” recipe on Eating Well that I used for the foundation of my meal prep. But with tortellini and portabella mushrooms in the fridge instead, I had to change things up! So here is my Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts!

Roasted Tortellini & Spicy Lemon Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

  • One fresh lemon
  • 1 lb. fresh Brussels sprouts, washed and halved
  • 1 package tortellini, prepared according to package instructions
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup baby Portabella mushrooms, washed and sliced thickly
  • 1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • Salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste

Instructions:

  1. Slice and seed the lemon. Toss in a large bowl wish Brussels sprouts, Portabella mushrooms, olive oil, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes.
  2. Transfer to a frying pan and sear until Brussels sprouts begin to soften, 18-20 minutes.
  3. As the same time, prepare tortellini according to package instructions (ie. boil for approx. 7-8 mins).
  4. Finally, toss the seared vegetables and tortellini together in a large bowl and add more seasonings if needed!

With sweet corn-on-the-cob, this was the perfect dinner! As my family ate brats, I reveled in the fact that I was able to avoid meat for this meal… and in such a delicious way!

While it was very tasty, there are a few things I would change before trying it again. I think the tortellini should be kept separate as it is a very soft and cheesy dish compared to the crunchy and lemony vegetables. I would also add more mushrooms and soften them in butter before adding them to the Brussels sprouts!

Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #4 - Baked Sweet Potato Fries
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #5 - Avocado Reuben

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Original recipe by Carolyn Casner from Eating Well. Photography and altered recipe by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/ reposted with proper accreditation. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog! 

Sort:  

This looks so fresh and delightful!
I for sure will be trying this!

Wishing you a lovely day :)

Awe thank you! It was really good :) I wish you an awesome day as well!

Looks fantastic I love Brussel sprouts!! Best thing in the world ❤️ Great dish I will be certainly giving that a go 👨‍🍳 upvoted
@ch00fy - foodie

Thanks, it was really good! I definitely recommend it haha!

This does look good and summery. I like your idea of dividing up the vegetables and tortellini to make it better (for the lactose intolerant one in my family).
I do have a question that is unrelated but you may know the answer.
Why wash mushrooms?
Why not just brush them off and not have them absorb water?

I simply meant to clean off the mushrooms, you may definitely brush them off instead! I am just used to rinsing all my fruits and vegetables so I automatically tossed them in the strainer without thinking about it haha!

I just wonder why so many recipes say to wash the mushrooms and hoped you might provide an answer in general.

I'm not sure. If I had to guess, I would assume it's because while brushing them off may get the dirt, washing will get germs from handling and transport, pesticides, etc. Really everything from a grocery store should be washed before eating and that's what many of the packages say

Thanks. Just wondering...

Congratulations @kiaraantonoviche! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52