"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #4 - Baked Sweet Potato Fries

in #life7 years ago

We all have a guilty pleasure, especially when it comes to a delicious (and usually not very nutritious) food. My downfall is french fries! But like I said in my previous article, I want to change my lifestyle without giving up my favorite things. So how can we make fries a tiny bit healthier?

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

I’ve made sweet potato fries many different times using many different spices! This recipe can easily be tailor-made to specific preferences.

Ingredients:

  • Sweet potatoes (at least one per person)
  • Small drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, and/or other spices to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Wash and cut sweet potatoes into typical fry shape (see photo).
  3. Place on cooking sheet and drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Sprinkle preferred spices on top.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes, flip fries over, and continue baking for another 10-15 minutes (or until crispy).

I’ve tried sweet potato fries with a bit of garlic powder and onion powder for a super savory treat and they turned out DELICIOUS. Add a small dollop of organic ketchup for the finishing touch. Easy and delicious… actually, I think I’m going to go make some right now!

Try them out and let me know what you think in the comments!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Recipe and photo from Cookie&Kate.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52