"What's for Lunch?" Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas (+ Fundraiser Update)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As I mentioned in my last article, I am a snacker. This habit does not have to be unhealthy or wasteful, but at the moment it is the main culprit of my waste (due to food packaging). I hope to continue to learn new recipes using foods that reduce my addition to the landfills while benefiting my physical health!

Roasted Chickpeas

I’ve heard that roasted chickpeas (or garbanzo beans) are the perfect snack. They’re savory, crunchy, and healthy! I stumbled across this recipe and decided to give it a try! I’m super glad I did!

Ingredients:

  • One (1) 12 oz. can of chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
  • Two (2) tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, and/or other spices to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C).
  2. Blot chickpeas with a paper towel to dry them.
  3. Toss chickpeas with olive oil, and season to taste with salt, pepper, and/or any other spices desired.
  4. Spread on a baking sheet, and bake for 30 to 40 minutes, until browned and crunchy.

These are my new favorite snack to nibble on! Really I can’t find a downside to them - healthy, tasty, cheap, and easy to make! I highly recommend them!

Try them out and let me know what you think in the comments!

P.S. We have still only sold two “Full STEEM ahead!” t-shirts for our fundraiser! Only 2 days left until the fundraiser ends; 8 t-shirts needed to reach print minimum and the goal! We are in the home stretch!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photo and recipe from All Recipes.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Sort:  

Looks like less effort than cauliflower chips, and probably as tasty! Thanks for sharing!

I haven't tried cauliflower chips! They sound interesting - are they easy to make??

Yes, cut cauliflower thinly, chuck onto a foil lined tray, garnish with olive or whatever oil you prefer, add whatever spices (i like pepper, smoked paprika and rosemary)

Roast at 180C for 7 minutes, flip, another 7 minutes = done.

Don't burn your hands, they're tasty!

You might end up with cauliflower nuggets depending on how sharp your knife is.

They sound quite tasty! I will have to try them sometime and share the results! Thank you!

My pleasure, thank you for the continued support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52