“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #5 - Avocado Reuben

in #healthy7 years ago (edited)

Lately, I’ve been in the mood for good ole’ sandwiches and lunch wraps. Most of the time I make them fairly healthy with spinach and tomatoes, etc. But I wanted to try something different this time!

Avocado Reuben

I went back to the trusty Vegan Cooking cookbook by Roberto Martin for this recipe. With a quick trip to the store for Sauerkraut, I got to work.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices rye bread
  • Thousand Island Dressing*
  • 1 firm, fresh avocado
  • 1/2 cup Sauerkraut (drained)
  • 1 firm, fresh tomato (sliced)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Lightly toast bread and spread dressing onto each piece.
  2. Distribute sliced avocado evenly on the bottom piece.
  3. Spread sauerkraut across avocado layer.
  4. Distribute sliced tomato evenly on top of sauerkraut.
  5. Top the sandwich with the other piece of toast and eat up!

Thousand Island Dressing Instructions: *

  1. Mix 1 and 1/2 cups vegan mayonnaise, 1/2 cup ketchup, 4 minced dill pickles, and 2 tablespoons dill pickle juice in a bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

I am a huge fan of this sandwich! The softer flavor and texture of avocado blended perfectly the strong and crunchy sauerkraut. Very flavorful and filling!

Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

PREVIOUS HEALTHY RECIPES:

“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #1 - Fruity Snack Balls
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #2 - Kale Chips
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #3 - Roasted Chickpeas
“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #4 - Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photograph and recipe from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog! 

Sort:  

Nice post
I will follow you, I hope you follow me too :)

Thank you, I appreciate it!

I love rye! and especially with avocados, yum. nice!

Definitely give it a try, it was really good!

How lovely is this!

Happy Friday ⭐️

Thank you! Happy Friday!

Delicious! a good summer switch up from the traditional BLT.

Absolutely! I got tired of the normal, everyday sandwiches and felt it needed a little kick - the sauerkraut was exactly what I was looking for! And this one doesn't have meat which is a step closer to my vegetarian goals!

Anything avocado is good for me 😛
Check out my avocado bruschetta @ch00fy

Yum! Your beetroot hummus looks interesting too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58058.49
ETH 2284.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51