"Homestead Happiness is..." Homesteading Challenge Entry

I’ve been trying to avoid writing this article and I’ve left it until last minute, but I cannot procrastinate any longer. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not because I didn’t want to participate in @pennsif’s #homesteadhappiness challenge! In fact, I was ecstatic to see another homesteading contest that could bring the Steemit community together! The reason I didn’t want to write this article is because my #homesteadhappiness is directly related to my greatest sadness… and no one I know likes talking about that.

I guess I’ll just start by being blunt. I have depression… severedepression, as well as a generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) and a severe social anxiety disorder. I was diagnosed when I was in high school and have been struggling to live a normal life ever since.

My mood disorders started as a bland distaste for things I had originally enjoyed. At first I attributed my lack of interest and easily frayed nerves to the hormonal changes that accompany puberty. But eventually the dark cloud that hung above my head took over my life and I could not shake the terrifyingly apathetic mindset I then entertained.

Over the years I tried many different forms of medication (Celexa, Zoloft, Wellbutrin, etc) and therapy (CBT and psychotherapy). Some worked better than others and at times I found a few months of temporary reprieve yet I always ended up back where I began. As the years passed, I became increasingly frustrated, terrified, angry, guilty, ashamed, and every other negative emotion you can think of…

…until I almost committed the worst possible act you can commit when dealing with depression.

Thankfully, I could not go through with it and I am still here. But as I sat there that fateful night contemplating my actions, I distinctly remember thinking…

“If I can’t end my life, I have to learn to live it.”

The thought of another 60 some odd years of feeling the same dark malaise was almost unbearable. I wanted to run away to a quiet and desolate place. I wanted to avoid everyone and everything. I didn’t want to die… but I also didn’t want to truly live. I wanted to coast through the years until I could pass from old age guilt free.

So I am hesitant to say this aloud to all of you… to all the Steemit homesteaders that show such passion towards their way of life… but my homesteading journey began from this mindset.

I dreamed of moving away from people and living in a quiet bubble. Instead of getting bogged down in the rat race for money or wasting away at a 9 to five, I wanted to work dawn until dusk doing manual labor that seemed relevant. I wanted to keep my hands so busy that I didn’t have time to think or be depressed. I could no longer join activities or work for such pointless things… I would grow food to eat and to live. That sort of work made sense to me.

Eat, sleep, repeat… until my life came to an end.

I don’t know at what point things began to change… but I think I’ve started to find my homestead happiness.

My homesteadhappiness is…

you.

There is something so powerful about surrounding yourself with genuinely good people. People with dreams and hopes and passions. It brings light to an otherwise dark corner of your life. That’s why the Steemit homesteading community is my greatest source of happiness.

Reading your articles on Steemit has lifted my spirit. Writing articles for you has given me a purpose, a daily goal to achieve. And planning my future with you has given me a sense of hope I’d long since forgotten.

Now when I am out in the quiet garden surrounded by nothing but my own dark thoughts, I feel your comforting presence behind me, like a friend standing nearby and sharing the minor nuances of my day. A soft, delicate feeling that I am no longer alone… that I only have to turn around to see you and smile.

I no longer want to homestead to let my life pass by… I want to homestead in order to live.

Thank you for reading, thank you for being my support, thank you for being my happiness, and thank you for coming along with me on this journey!

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 
1-800-273-8255
https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Photography from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Footer badges created by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood. SteemitHomesteaders Slack logo created by @greenacrehome.


Sort:  

Wow you really opened up there. I have had GAD for years combined with some huge panic attacks, the kind where you think you are going to die. I have made it out of the darkness and it took a long time so don't give up.

I am very glad you didn't go through with your choice. My father in-law committed suicide and it really caused problems for several people. When I was a police officer I saw the results there too and it was also terrible.

You were brave to open up and I think it is a great thing to do. Don't keep your demons corralled inside of you or they may just take over.

Congratulations @kiaraantonoviche on winning the Homestead Happiness contest with this excellent post :

Thank you very very much!

Thank you for this entry @kiaraantonoviche to my HomesteadHappiness contest. It's really powerful.

Thank you for the support :)

It felt good reading your article, @kiaraantonoviche. Seems like digging in the dirt is just what the doctor ordered! This appears to be the case for so many of our modern ailments. But it all makes sense. If you look it through the words of Jiddu Krishnamurti: "It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society." In other words, we have to find the healthy society around us, which to me is nature, the food-web-cycle, the dynamically changing ecosystems, of which we are part of anyway.

I think nature is one of the best antidepressants ;) besides actual antidepressants which have also helped keep me here haha! It's all about balance and finding purpose. I'm just glad I found my purpose in trying to create a better, healthier world! Thank you for the support!

You're very welcome. And congratulations on winning the contest! Well deserved. :-)

Wow, I didn't even know about it until I read this comment haha! Thank you very much :)

I've been there and do you know I'm starting to think I'm coming to a realisation (and your post has cemented a bit more). Mental health and depression seems so much higher in the western world system that I believe we are living in a way we didn't evolve to live. Being outside in nature, doing physical, but productive, work towards an end we can clearly see seems to make so much more sense than trying to figure out how to find happiness and fit into a system where things don't always make sense. It took me a long time to accept that I didn't fit into that system.

Thank you for sharing. ❤

Exactly! Very well put. I think we're so used to the structure of the system in today's society that we don't even realize there are other (better in some cases) ways of living! I think that finding our best lifestyle fit is the true goal and it took me a long time to realize that :) Thank you for your support

You are channeling your whole self into homesteading, not just your physical body but also your mental and emotional energy. That is so powerful. You have found something to live for, and in bravery, you've shared your story with others (maybe some of which need to hear your words more than you know.) Thank you! I imagine your homestead is beautiful like your soul.

Thank you :) It's very true that I am channeling my mental and emotional energy into this process. At first it was from desperation, now it is for pleasure and enjoyment. Thank you for your support!

I'm so enjoying your posts! Keep them coming girl!

Thank you for being an advocate of suicide prevention and depression. I know this battle all too well and hope to one day move out of the city and homestead myself. I have found much solace with other homesteading family and friends who have shown me different ways to live and look at the world. Thanks again for being so open and vulnerable as I felt some healing come my way by realizing more people share the same challenges.

It is my pleasure to open up and I really hope my story can help others! I agree that homesteading and the people who are passionate about it look at the world differently and it's refreshing. Best of luck with your homesteading goals!

Eloquent, honest, open. Fragile yet with strength of character. You are brave to share this post. More brave than many people will ever understand, and that's ok right? Chronic illness isn't a get well soon situation it takes huge personal effort to "just keep swimming". I live with a different chronic illness but I can feel for your struggle, at least in relation to my own. I say it's ok for people to not really understand, because the only way to really understand is to live with, or with someone who survives, chronic illness. I wouldn't wish that on anyone, so I'm kind of happy that the people I know and love will never have to know.

There is a wonderful peace or a kind of surcease to the measured turning of the seasons, the ebb and flow of the life of growing things. Life doesn't need you to explain yourself, your vegetables don't expect you to behave in a civil manner. The Mother just expects you to simply be, to live and to grow.

Thank you for a great post and for making me think. And thanks to all the really inspirational homesteaders here on steemit and over at the Slack community.

Very well explained comment - I completely agree that to understand something you must really experience it for yourself... though I do not wish chronic illness (mental OR physical) on anyone! Thank YOU for the support and encouragement. I appreciate it

I sorta know that black hole called despair or in some cases such as yours depression I have been told by family members who delt with and still battle at times with it that I was going through it and though I did not beleave them at the time I just figured it was despair feeling defeated by the universe. I seen three doctors for an hour each and it turns out I could have been and still struggle with ptsd and I've never been in battle of any kind ( gus scare me but then a lot does.) I'm glad your still around for I'm sure you can help others a lot better if your here :)

This post was so powerful and brought so much awareness. I am so glad you are still with us @kiaraantonoviche! You being so brave and transparent will help others that may also be facing what you have experienced. I have learned that my struggles are not just for me but to help someone else along the way. The struggles that we survive only make us stronger. You are a beautiful soul and I am so happy to have met you. Because of you and the Homestead Newsletter you created, it has hyped my desire to own land one day and truly live self sufficiently. Even though we are not there yet, I still consider ourselves as mini homesteaders because of the things we do to preserve and how we live in our home. Thank you for being you, thank you for sharing with us and thank you for being such a supportive and positive influential Steemican! Hugs 🤗 ❤️🌺~

Thank YOU for the sweet comment and the support. It means more to me than you know :) I am excited to continue sharing my story and hope it can continue to inspire others! Hugs <3

You are very welcome ~ It's my pleasure 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45