Companion Planting - A Must In Your Garden

Companion planting is an organic way to save your garden from harmfull pests and insects and take care of pollination by attracting the good bugs.


compnion planting.jpg
Source

Little-Known

During my Garden Journal Challenges it struck me that companion planting wasn't as well-known as I thought it was. Several contestants were not aware of this organic technique to let your plants thrive while protecting each other.

There are several reasons why you should plant crops close together - or just far away from each other.

  • Whereas some crops or herbs have a beneficial influence on the soil, others can hinder each other because they exude toxins that can stop their neighbors from growing.

  • Some plants attract harmful bugs, like aphids, and so protect the plants that are near to them.

  • Crops and herbs with a strong smell can be used to confuse harmful bugs, so they don't get to feast.

  • Flowers attract pollinators and other good bugs

But sometimes it doesn't have to be so complicated. Just take this example from the 'three sisters planting':

Almost any article on companion planting references the Native American “Three Sister Planting”. This age old grouping involves growing corn, beans and squash – often pumpkin – in the same area. As the corn stalks grow, beans naturally find support by climbing up the stalk. Beans, as all legumes, fix nitrogen in the soil, which supports the large nutritional needs of corn. Squash grows rapidly and the large squash leaves shade out weeds and serve as natural weed block. Good plant companions work in support of each other.

Infographic

Below, you'll find an infographic that shows you some basics of companion planting.
Beneath it, I'll add some extra links to websites with very interesting information regarding this topic (and more extended infographics).


Source


More Info

The Ultimate Visual Guide To Companion Planting

Companion Planting Guide

Companion planting: friends with benefits for your garden

The Complete Guide Into The World Of Companion Planting





signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


More Posts You Might Like




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Three plants I knew about Marigold, Rosemary, and Thyme, (I liked the lemon one), veggie plants can look to green, a little color mixed in via flowers, and the scent of thyme and rosemary are always a pleasing scent. We plant nasturtiums but I did not know they were a beneficial veggie garden plant. Some nice placards.

@bashadow, nasturtiums and calendulas are the best plants to atract aphids so they stay away from your other plants.

Two pretty trouble free plants to grow to keep the trouble out of the garden. Always good to know, which are beneficial plants.

I have them planted all over the garden.
I just make sure to use a garlic spray on at least one of the nasturtium plants. The aphids can have the others, but I want at least one for myself... it's so delicious :0)

There's a lot more to learn about farming and plating than what I know. I knew about companion plants, but didn't realize that you could be so methodical about it. I don't think I'm at that stage in my gardening career where I could do it all successfully, but it's good to know for when I decide to go all-out. :)

I'm only using the basics myself. It sure is complicated enough to fit everything together, especially if you are also considering crop rotation..

Good for you! You have to start somewhere. I wouldn't consider myself an expert.

Me neither... I prefer to call myself an experimentalist :0)

It's good to be in a place where you're ok with taking chances. It means you can fail or lose, but it also means that you have the chance to learn something new and maybe find something that you really enjoy.

My garden is the only place on.my world where I don't overthink and follow my gut feeling. As a result, some things are a succes, others are failure.
In my day to day life, I often stay away from situations in which failur is an option. My garden is really my stress-free zone... the only one, for all that matters, lol

That's great that you're able to garden stress-free. There are so many decisions that you can make that can cause things to go wrong. It's nice to have a place where you can make mistakes and it's ok.

The difference with real life is that maybe making mistakes is not always OK (plants can die and stuff), but somehow I manage to not make a big deal out of it

Never heard about the companion planting, totally new thing to me. I liked you picture presentation and easy to remember. Thanks for sharing with us.

You're welcome :0)

Thank you very much for this insight. I have much more to learn about farming. It seems some things, like grouping herbs according to their water needs, I did right with my intuition.

Will try to protect the fruit trees and berry bushes in the future with herbs as soon this might be possible.

Thank you again for this great article.

You're welcome.
It's always good to know things like this

Mike I love catching your gardening posts. Always a pleasure. Up voted and of course resteemed. That was an enjoyable read. :)

Thanks, @mudcat36. You're the best!

Great info here. We love to companion plat.

It's useful, but it has the tendency to make things a little more complicted, in my opinion. Especially if you are also taking crop rotation into conideration :0)

howdy there simplymike! I've never even heard of "companion planting" but it makes total sense, I guess if done right gardening is alot more scientific than I realized, great post!
oh, and congratulations on your placing this week in the Engagement League!

Thanks, @janton.
It' just a matter of interaction betwen plants. For example, if you plant carrots and onions together, the scent of the carrots confuses the onion fly and the scent of the onions confuses the carror fly, which makes them both tay away... :0)

howdy again simplymike! you're kiddin me? how did you learn all this stuff? well I'll just contact you if I start a garden! great job!

Last year someone gave me a book for my birthday - that was the start of it all. And of course, Google is always your best friend, @janton

howdy today @simplymike! oh well that's very interesting, all this started with a book, you probably memorized it when you got laid up. and then google of course!
hey I don't know if I congratulated you on your placing last week in the League but in case I forgot I wanted to do that! not bad for a Dolphin!

Thanks, @janton. I don't go out into the garden without my phone, lol, so I guess you can say mister Google thought me what I know.
Congrats to you for winning the league AGAIN. I keep wondering how you do it. You have almost double the score Lynn has... I never got further than 35000 or something like that. Maybe I should check on your comments stream to find out what your trick i 😎

howdy tonight simplymike! I know you should be sound asleep and I hope you are. regarding the contest Lynn could blow me away if she was able to spend the time and had the desire to do so and I wouldn't either in her situation with Brian.

But she types super fast, has a huge base of contacts and that's what it takes, it's just a numbers game really but the friendships are real and the conversations are genuine.

And after you build up enough contacts then it's like something you can't stop because people keep commenting so you have to comment back! lol.

Even when I don't score high in the league, I have the feeling I spend my dzys commenting and replying. Sometimes there is simply no time left to write a post, lol.

Maybe, if I can get to work on the laptop in a decent way, I might spend a week trying to beat your score. Someone's got to do it some time. I'll never succeed as long as I'm thping on my phone using one thumb, but someday I'll be planning a coup and will take that throne from.you ;0P

Brilliant @simplimike! Just what I need and I'm going to be sending the link for this post to The Husband!

You're welcome, @fionasfavourites.
This time next year your hubby will have completely changed his mind, lol

Bwahahahaha! In your dreams or mine? I live in hope. Don't think he's even checked his mail since I sent the link! Which means he will read this comment.... Ooops!

So maybe you just load the post on your phone and put your phone under his nose... lol

That's a good point @simplymike! Now that you mention it many people do seem ignorant of the importance of companion planting. My gardens don't support the practice but that is because my mom and mom-in-law are the chief gardeners. We leave them to it. These are stunning diagrams! @mirrors isn't this a great addition to one of your features? And @gogreenbuddy?

Just tell the chiefs to plant some calendula flowers and nasturtiums in between the other plants. The benefits will be very clear, and they will start studying companion planting instantly :0)

Funnily enough there are calendula and nasturtiums and marigolds all over the gardens. I plant comfrey on the edges of the gardens. I'm going to print these graphs of yours. They're easy to understand. Thanks

thanks for this guide! I really like the infographics, I've been looking for clear information on companion planting for a while. Resteeming so I can look back on this when I'm ready to garden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51