Ragtag Garden, Season 2 ~ Seeds!!

A little bit of Spring showed up in my mailbox the other day.

The eagerly awaited seed packets from the 12 Days of Christmas Seed Exchange have arrived! The indefatigable @goldendawne was kind enough to brave the frigid temps and got these little beauties on their way.



Wanting to share the fun with y'all, I grabbed my camera to document the 'unveiling'. But... the battery was dead. Sigh.

After that small hiccup was addressed, my patience was rewarded with an interesting variety of herbs, veggies, and fruit!

Seven different goodies to include in planning for the coming season!
This melon is going to need special attention for placing it in the best spot.


I've never grown Chamomile, so this will be a learning opportunity for me.
They look like they'd be attractive to pollinators.


It's been a while since I tried a dark tomato and never from seed.
Hubby enjoys trying out the heirlooms looking for the most flavorful.


Chives are always welcome.
My established batch wouldn't mind a bit of a break now and then.


Hubby opted for sweet banana peppers last year.
Both will be there this season.


These cucumbers look like fun!
I'll have to choose just the right spot for them to spread out.


I haven't tried sunflowers for years.
The dwarf variety will be perfect for the yard!


An added bonus is getting to know two new (to me) seed vendors - MIgardener and Annie's. Thanks for introducing them!


Now I'm even more motivated to get the greenhouse functional quickly.
Not to mention, Tink's ready to go...


RECAP:


It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden


Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

The expansion of these two projects has now become The Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 5
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 6
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 7
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 8
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 9
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 10


Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Love goodies in the mail! Specially goodies for my garden and home! Lucky duck enjoy!

I am excited that it won't be long and we will have fresh tomatoes and cucumbers! The store bought just doesn't hold a candle to ones you have grown and picked yourself:)

Don’t you love packages in the mail? What a greT variety of seed packets. I can almost hear the wheels turning here in Florida. More buckets are a definate plus for your new rag tag. You are going to have a lot of fun with all of your new ideas. 🐓🐓

You nailed it on the buckets! I have at least a dozen more to work with. That should be a good start. 😉

The latest twist is hubby is making 'helping' noises. He saw the pepper and melon seeds...now HE'S all interested. I swear the gardening bug is contagious. 😆

Do you think your hubby wants to post on here too? Steemit is almost as contagious as gardening. 🐓🐓

He's been making noises about that as well and keeps getting hung up on choosing a name. Lol!

“Hubby” Lol. He probably wonders why you have so much fun on here. 🐓🐓

Ooooh, good one! I'll suggest that as a contender. ;~p

That and watching me be a loon with the camera last year...

What a great package! I'd have been excited as a kid at her birthday!
Upvoted and following to see how it all works out!

It was a bummer to wait the extra day, but it made opening the envelop more fun in the long run! Here's hoping they like their new digs...

Thanks for the the support, too! It's the secret ingredient that keeps me moving. Lol!!

SO HAPPY they made it to you!

And I ABSOLUTELY love Annie's and MI Gardener Seeds! Maybe because they're both based in my home state here... or their selections... ENJOY!!!

Can't wait to see my little guys growing in your greenhouse!!!

They arrived fast! I was on the lookout so they didn't sit in the mailbox very long either. I'll do my best to help them along!

So excited to get started...!

I’ve never tried growing chives before. As of late, I have been using quite a few since our staple tends to be mash potato and I’ve grown a bit tired of eating the nasty boxed kind.

From your growing collection of seeds, it looks like 2018 will be an amazing growing year for the ragtag!

I think I need to start doing some researching into growing flats like I have been meaning to do. That way I can easily move things around when needed.

The recent cold has done a fair amount of damage to the many things we had outdoors. While covering up them sure helped they are in desperate need of a break and a lot of sunlight. Thankfully things have been warming back up somewhat.

Chives are amazingly easy. Either get a clump of starts or a compact batch of seeds germinated and then let them do their thing for a while. Once those roots are well established, you can throw it outside and it'll do fine on it's own for years. Hubby and I swear they thrive on neglect - once well established. Go for it!

This collection is the first I've looked at so far & it's a great start. I need to go through my leftovers from last year next. More buckets...!!

Would love to see what you find on flats. Have never used them, but they look helpful.

The cold showed up early this year and overstayed it's welcome. More on the way, but this break from the frigid stuff was most welcome! Hopefully the damage isn't bad as first appears.

MORE BUCKETS!! That should be our mantra! lol

Count me in! LOL!

You received all these goodies by mail just like that?? Happy growing!

You have good steem friends there auntie :)

I was lucky and won a contest back in December. The seed packets were the Prize. Lots of great folks around these parts!

I'm familiar with Annies seeds, I order from them every year.
I think you'll like the straight 8 cucumbers, they are a good lunch or pickling cucumber. That melon should be in interesting plant to grow.

That's good to know about Annie's. I'll have to see about a catalog, then!

I was wondering if the cukes would be pickle-worthy. I like bread n butter & hubby likes garlic dill. Sounds like these would work well for both.

I agree on the melon. I may try to do something like you had with your watermelon last year. I like the idea of keeping them off the ground.

That is an awesome goody bag.

It is! I said a few salty words when the camera didn't work, because it meant I had to wait another day to peek. It was definitely worth the wait!

Looks like a nice variety. Sunflowers are fun to grow. I grew some small ones in colored baskets one year. Very pretty.

I agree. With the winds we get sometimes, the dwarf will probably fare better than the really tall ones. Neat idea with the basket. I'll bet it was really cute!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99