Impressions of the Third Grade: Collage Community Contest #1

in Collage4 years ago (edited)

classroominfinal7 progress.jpg

@georgeboya has created a Collage Community! I'm sending a call out to my Steemit friends--scientists, artists, naturalists, writers, philosophers--whatever the area of expertise. A collage doesn't require technical skill, just imagination. Not only is it fun to make, but putting one together is actually great for the brain.

The Contest

At the moment, there's a contest running in the Collage Community. The picture at the top of this page represents my entry into the contest.

My art efforts tend to be narratives. Even so, there's obvious symbolism in my picture. While the collage tells a story by itself, there's actually a true story behind it.

The Scream

When I thought of telling this particular story in my collage, the image of Edvard Munch's classic evocation of angst came to mind. His painting, The Scream, is said to be the second most famous in the world.

For the purposes of my collage, the central figure in Munch's painting was excerpted and inserted into the center foreground of my picture. Munch's angst-ridden figure represents my experience in the third grade.

This was not a good year for me, at least not the first half :)

Edvard Munch2-The-Scream.jpg

blank.jpg

A Mountain to Climb

When I entered the third grade, I couldn't read. My second grade teacher probably passed me on because she didn't want to get stuck with me for another ten months.

In November of third grade, my new teacher--a kind woman--wrote my mother a note and advised that I was "doing poorly". My collage shows just how "poorly" I was doing.

Every day was filled with humiliation. The consensus was growing among family and school staff that I was "slow". I certainly believed that to be true. Not only was I slow, but I bore the weight of another stigma--conspicuous poverty.

If you look at the details in my collage, you will notice that my classmates have milk snacks. I have none. They have lunchboxes. I have a paper bag. They have pencil cases. I have a pencil.

Being poor was inconvenient and taught me to be guarded about my private life, but the condition was not a source of palpable distress. It was more a gnawing, chronic embarrassment. The inability to read, however, inflicted acute pain. And every day that I failed to perform, salt was rubbed into the wound.

blank.jpg

Phonics

I can't remember precisely when my teacher decided to teach me phonics. I do remember, however, what happened when she did. Suddenly, words made sense. With this instruction, my teacher gave me a portable skill, one I could apply to any book I opened.

The revelation, the system, was my liberation. In very little time I outgrew the basic reader I'd been assigned at the beginning of the year, and graduated to a standard third grade reader. I flew through that. The teacher gave me a more advanced reader. By the end of the year, I was in a group by myself.

In a few months I had gone from the bottom of the class, to the very top.
blank.jpg

Life After Reading

When I reflect upon my education, sometimes, I think of the past in two phases: before reading and after reading. Painful as life before reading was, it was also instructive. I learned independence. It is natural for me to separate myself from consensus and to form my own judgments about people, and events.
blank.jpg

Life Goes On

After reading, life at home wasn't much different. My mother still struggled to find the resources to take care of the family. People still couldn't come to the house because it wasn't "fit for company".

Home

boots in the yard.jpg

As adolescence loomed, my mother decided we had to make a change. In October of my sixth grade we moved to New York City. My mother's family helped us settle into a Brooklyn apartment. Everything was new and strange to me. Intimidating. Then one day I discovered something I'd never seen before: a library.

Can you imagine what that meant to me?
blank.jpg

My Collage

All elements used are in the public domain. Once I settled upon the Munch painting as a central theme, the rest fell into place.
There were desks desks samll.jpg, and studentsstudents small.jpg, and a blackboard blackboard small.jpg, and a bag paper bag small.jpg, and a pencil pencil small.jpg, and lunchboxes lunchbox small.jpg, and pencil cases. pencil case small.jpg I needed a menacing teacher, so I used a silhouette teacher small.jpg, gave him a sinister head teacher head small.jpg and owl eyes owl eyes small.jpg. Letters on the board are supposed to be in Sanskrit (though I don't know) mantra small.jpg and om small.jpg

Editing was done with GIMP and Microsoft Paint. A couple of embellishments were added through Paint 3D.
blank.jpg

Evolution of the Piece

Here are some of the major steps the piece went through as it came to life--there were a lot more steps (and missteps):

process2.jpg

Thank you, @georgeboya

I think it's obvious I had great fun making this collage. Though my talents may be limited, my enthusiasm is boundless. I hope others will jump in and join the fun. Communities are the future of Steemit, I think, and proactive Steemians like @georgeboya provide the energy necessary for realization of that future.

Thank you for spending your time with me

fox and squirrel friendsgif.gif

Steem on!

Sort:  

Great you can do this. I can not. We all develop in a different way and that is why school is such a problem. If you do not fit into the level given you are labelled.

Hi @wakeupkitty,
Thank you for that great comment. It shows my collage and post communicated with readers. I was lucky. My label changed when I was a child. What if it hadn't? What a hard life that would have been.
Nothing fair about that.
Have a great day!

@agmoore2 Most suffer a lifetime under a false given label and in the Netherlands you get it at the age of 2-3 years old.

It is posdible to get rid of it, you proved it.
Happy day. 💕

Hi AG! You know how I study your collages before I read about them. Here are the things that came to my mind...What is with that mean looking teacher? Then my eyes went right to "the scream" and I thought, "uh oh, this is not going to be good." Then I saw the haves and have nots...more trouble. I then remembered how we discussed briefly about our 2nd and 3rd grades and how they were not good times for us. And then I thought, "This is about you AG!" What a terrific collage to convey what your life was like at that time. Thank goodness for the teacher that taught you phonics.
I also liked how you showed the process; very interesting and it shows just how much time and effort you put into this collage. I am even more impressed now! You go girl! : )

Hello @whatisnew :)

Thank you for 'reading' my collage.

When I taught high school (years ago) all my students had been diverted from mainstream classes because they couldn't take pressure. The school was for kids with severe emotional issues. I able to help them, because I could relate to their 'outsider' experience, and they knew it. So, it was good that I went through a couple of hard years. Gave me insight that was put to use eventually.

So nice of you to stop by and appreciate my 'art'. I may not be skilled, but I am expressive :))

Hugs from your friend,
AG

Von Herzen Dank für deine Geschichte! Ich verstehe jetzt deinen Hunger nach Büchern und Wissen. Ich verstehe, warum du immer eine Geschichte mit deinen Collagen verbindest - du "siehst" so viel mehr in Worten und Bildern als andere und es ist eine Sprache für dich. Deine persönliche Geschichte macht traurig. Sie zeigt aber auch, dass du sehr viel daraus gelernt hast für dich. Deine Unabhängigkeit zum Beispiel auch - nicht "nur" lesen und Collagen machen ;-) Great story - thank you so much! I wrote in german, as you want me to do... i hope you understand my words in the right way ;-) Heartspeech... Hugs for you my dear friend, Kadna

Liebe Kadna,

Du siehst mich. Du kennst mich. Als ich kleines Kind war, waren Bücher eine Mauer. Später wurden sie mein Weg zu Freiheit. Danke fur dein Verständnis.

Ich lese deine Deutsch seh gut!

Immer, zwischen uns, 'heartspeak'.

Umarmungen von Deine New Yorker Freund,
AG

😀💖🍀🙏🌞

:D The scream character is a nice addition to the classroom... great post ...

:)
Thank you!

Dear AG,
I have always liked your collages that you made for shaka's LMAC contest. But this work is very special because it tells your personal story.

I look at the picture and see the little girl who was told that it was "slow", I feel its pain of not being able to read and the shame of being poor. What a burden on the narrow shoulders!

But what luck you had teachers who gave you access to the fascinating world of words! And yes, I can imagine what it must have meant for you to see a library for the first time!

Thank you for the insight into your childhood and of course for this great collage, which once again shows your diverse talent.

With great respect and affection,
Anna

My dear Anna,
Such a thoughtful insightful comment. Thank you so much for visiting and for appreciating my collage.

You are right, I was lucky as a child. The third grade teacher was wonderful. Kind, gentle and smart. Just in time 😄

A personal narrative is kind of risky...reveals a lot. But at my age, what do I have to lose? 😂

I think art is wonderful...it expresses emotions viscerally, communicates in a way words do not. Which is one reason your blogs are always so stimulating. I don't think I've read one without following a lead on an idea that was sparked. Wait till you see my response to your comment today. A spark storm!

Empathy knows no borders, physical or intellectual. Our friendship is demonstration of that.

With regard and warm affection,
Your friend from across the sea,
AG

Dear AG,
After a busy day I finally get to respond to your inspiring comments.

A personal narrative is kind of risky...reveals a lot.

The story of your childhood has touched me. It has also put the image I had of your origin in place. I like to read personal things from others, but I am rather reluctant to reveal my own personal story. An imbalance, I know. But even in real life I don't 'wear my heart on my sleeve'.

You're right, art is something beautiful. Creatively expressed thoughts and feelings, a language that doesn't need words. I'm very happy that my posts invite you to reflect. Your thoughts are then again a source of inspiration for me. So the circle is complete. 🌷(I wonder where to the color of the emojis has disappeared. 🤔 Edit: It's back now!)

Now I have to take a quick look at your spark storm on my last blog ... 😃

See you soon! 🌼

sparks2jpg.jpg🌟sparks2jpg.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much. Greatly appreciated! I'll upvote tomorrow when my vote is worth something again :)

I really like the collage and the text, I really congratulate you, many do not surpass themselves, and do nothing to improve. I have not had any bad exercises in my childhood, I think I was blessed with my teachers.

Thank you so much for stopping by. And thank you for the kind words.
I'm glad you had a happy childhood. I think the few challenges I faced made me more thoughtful about other people. That's a good thing, so I guess the experience was a gift.
I was very lucky. Got a break. Not everybody does.
Happy New Year!

Happy new year my dear, many successes and blessings for this year ...

Unfortunately, children here in Venezuela do not enjoy a good childhood, hopefully they can overcome these adversities and get the positive.
Thank you, I saw your post and I managed to make my collage, I didn't know about the contest ... thank you very much

Dear @tormenta,
I am sorry about the children. I hope the adults in their world, (and I include leaders) straighten things out and give the children good lives.

So very happy you saw the collage contest. I think, in the future, if I see art contest I will post a notice on your blog, in case you haven't seen it. You are such a good artist!

Your friend, who is not so talented 😊,
AG

This is brilliant! I'd wager it speaks distinctly to many of us without a word being uttered.

I was afflicted with cauliflower ears which stuck out at right angles from my head and a mother who, when sufficiently inebriated, imagined herself a dressmaker and created my outlandish clothes. Needless to say, deirdyweirdy was regularly kicked from here to Christmas.

I intend to keep a copy of this to hand and should anyone enquire about my schooldays I will simply hand it to them and say not a single word.

Hi @deirdyweirdy,
Thank you! I love "The Scream". I look at it now and think, no words could express that. Glad you feel the same way.

Isn't nice to be an adult? :))

Your comrade in strange childhood experiences,
AG

Cauliflower ears!!! I'll bet you looked cute and just didn't know it. Outlandish clothes hand-sewn by your mother. If only grade school kids admired the originality of others rather than conformity. You would have been my favorite person--and @agmoore2, if she and I ever looked up from our books. I hardly ever did. I read on the school bus as it bounced over gravel roads. No wonder my eyesight went bad so early in life.

You all are awesome - your comments are as good as your blogs - I'm so glad to be in your company!

No Carol, believe me, I didn't. My mother worked for a time in a women's nylon overall factory and pinched a lot of cloth, like the pic below, which she made into clothes for me. Only when she was drunk though. When she was sober she realised she was no seamstress.

She pinched a lot of cloth...made into clothes...Only when she was drunk though. When she was sober she realised she was no seamstress.
You are a born storyteller!!!!
Your voice is so authentic, riveting, and memorable!!!!
And that house dress... oh Lord... I hope it was only the fabric, not the pattern, that she dressed you in....

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

What a most uplifting account my dear friend <3 I am always, always very interested in people's personal narratives. But even more so when those people have a special place in my heart.

I was mostly curious by how you depicted the teacher in the image to be a menacing one, while you described your real teacher as being kind. I suppose the depiction in your illustration goes beyond her, then. Perhaps it's a depiction of the entire (judgmental) system (?)

Incredible project! I wonder how it might have felt to revisit your ascent to the top of that mountain! And by the way, it was beautiful to read your first encounter and amazement with a library. To think that you went from having a delayed start with the world of words to being a passionate, captivating writer.

A climb to the very top indeed! ;)

Ps: I love that photo !

With growing respect and admiration,
Your friend in Portugal <3 :*

Dear Abigail 🌼

Thank you so much for visiting. You know I thought of you when I wrote this...so many psychological aspects to this narrative.

You are correct: The sinister teacher represents judgment, in general, the emotional impact of that from the school establishment. It was a sobering lesson, to see the transformation in people just because I could perform. Children are tender, vulnerable creatures. Teachers have such an influence. All children in their care, regardless of ability or skill level, deserve respect and regard. I think that's the message I tried to convey in my collage.

I'm so glad you liked the picture of my house. It may not have been 'fit for company' (we were in a panic if we heard tires on the driveway!), but I loved that house. And the dog...best in the world 😇

It may be cold in Portugal and New York, but you bring sunshine into my day with your visit.
All happiness, peace and health to you and your family,

Love,
AG

<3 :* :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66