You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impressions of the Third Grade: Collage Community Contest #1

in Collage4 years ago

This is brilliant! I'd wager it speaks distinctly to many of us without a word being uttered.

I was afflicted with cauliflower ears which stuck out at right angles from my head and a mother who, when sufficiently inebriated, imagined herself a dressmaker and created my outlandish clothes. Needless to say, deirdyweirdy was regularly kicked from here to Christmas.

I intend to keep a copy of this to hand and should anyone enquire about my schooldays I will simply hand it to them and say not a single word.

Sort:  

Hi @deirdyweirdy,
Thank you! I love "The Scream". I look at it now and think, no words could express that. Glad you feel the same way.

Isn't nice to be an adult? :))

Your comrade in strange childhood experiences,
AG

Cauliflower ears!!! I'll bet you looked cute and just didn't know it. Outlandish clothes hand-sewn by your mother. If only grade school kids admired the originality of others rather than conformity. You would have been my favorite person--and @agmoore2, if she and I ever looked up from our books. I hardly ever did. I read on the school bus as it bounced over gravel roads. No wonder my eyesight went bad so early in life.

You all are awesome - your comments are as good as your blogs - I'm so glad to be in your company!

No Carol, believe me, I didn't. My mother worked for a time in a women's nylon overall factory and pinched a lot of cloth, like the pic below, which she made into clothes for me. Only when she was drunk though. When she was sober she realised she was no seamstress.

She pinched a lot of cloth...made into clothes...Only when she was drunk though. When she was sober she realised she was no seamstress.
You are a born storyteller!!!!
Your voice is so authentic, riveting, and memorable!!!!
And that house dress... oh Lord... I hope it was only the fabric, not the pattern, that she dressed you in....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60