You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impressions of the Third Grade: Collage Community Contest #1

in Collage4 years ago

Dear AG,
I have always liked your collages that you made for shaka's LMAC contest. But this work is very special because it tells your personal story.

I look at the picture and see the little girl who was told that it was "slow", I feel its pain of not being able to read and the shame of being poor. What a burden on the narrow shoulders!

But what luck you had teachers who gave you access to the fascinating world of words! And yes, I can imagine what it must have meant for you to see a library for the first time!

Thank you for the insight into your childhood and of course for this great collage, which once again shows your diverse talent.

With great respect and affection,
Anna

Sort:  

My dear Anna,
Such a thoughtful insightful comment. Thank you so much for visiting and for appreciating my collage.

You are right, I was lucky as a child. The third grade teacher was wonderful. Kind, gentle and smart. Just in time 😄

A personal narrative is kind of risky...reveals a lot. But at my age, what do I have to lose? 😂

I think art is wonderful...it expresses emotions viscerally, communicates in a way words do not. Which is one reason your blogs are always so stimulating. I don't think I've read one without following a lead on an idea that was sparked. Wait till you see my response to your comment today. A spark storm!

Empathy knows no borders, physical or intellectual. Our friendship is demonstration of that.

With regard and warm affection,
Your friend from across the sea,
AG

Dear AG,
After a busy day I finally get to respond to your inspiring comments.

A personal narrative is kind of risky...reveals a lot.

The story of your childhood has touched me. It has also put the image I had of your origin in place. I like to read personal things from others, but I am rather reluctant to reveal my own personal story. An imbalance, I know. But even in real life I don't 'wear my heart on my sleeve'.

You're right, art is something beautiful. Creatively expressed thoughts and feelings, a language that doesn't need words. I'm very happy that my posts invite you to reflect. Your thoughts are then again a source of inspiration for me. So the circle is complete. 🌷(I wonder where to the color of the emojis has disappeared. 🤔 Edit: It's back now!)

Now I have to take a quick look at your spark storm on my last blog ... 😃

See you soon! 🌼

sparks2jpg.jpg🌟sparks2jpg.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85