🤩I Just Invented Fat Squoodles for Your Squoodling Pleasure!🤩 (Vegan/Gluten Free/Low Carb/Keto)

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

WT* is a SQUOODLE?!

Oh you know it's ON when I'm making up words now ya'll!😉


thai chayote edit (1).jpg


I'm playing this game with myself where I have drastically reduced my sugars (therefore carbs) and many other mischievous foods for this period of time in my life.

That said, being as obsessed with food as I am, I keep missing/craving certain things! For example, I really wanted some fat, chunky noodles to sink my teeth into... but rice is a sugary fiesta (if you don't know, now you know) and gluten is out of the question pour moi, sooooo, (being one who doesn't say no to a challenge) I present unto you-- THE SQUOODLE!

I needed a carrier (that's kind of all noodles are anyway) and was feeling underwhelmed by my zucchini in the fridge when this little beauty caught my eye and demanded to be in the spot light so here we are-- chayote squash!

Only 4.5 grams of carbs for 100 grams of this green machine that's also known for its anti-aging properties from its high percentage of Vitamin C and folate. What's not to love?

PS... I heard that there is a small town in Colombia who somehow used this squash to preserve their skin in mummies so if you're looking for a way to keep that skin looking fresh, maybe chow down on this more often!


chayote.jpg
This is a chayote squash-- you'll need to boil it and then peel it before we move forward.

Why boil first? Some chayote has a latex like white goop that comes out when you take its skin off but boiling first gets rid of that mess! (I learned this the hard way years ago when I was first introduced to it in Central America and didn't understand enough Spanish to prevent the very sticky situation that came to be!)


Thai-licious Fat SQUOODLES!


What You Need:


  • ½ red onion
  • ½ yellow onion
  • ⅓ red bell pepper
  • 2-3 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger (minced)
  • 2 chayote squash (boiled and peeled like we talked about)
  • ½ cup almond butter
  • ½ cup coconut aminos
  • 1 tbsp sweetener of choice (I used mesquite but stevia or monk fruit are other great low glycemic options)
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp ginger powder (extra optional)
  • 1 tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

What To Do:


  1. Slice the boiled and peeled chayote into long, thick noodle like pieces
    (In case you missed this above: with chayote, if you boil it before peeling it, the sticky glue-like substance under the skin won't stick to you as it would otherwise)

  2. In a skillet, pour the coconut oil on medium heat and add the onion, garlic, ginger and bell pepper. Let mix together for a couple of minutes.

  3. Add in the sliced chayote squash

  4. In a bowl mix lime juice, almond butter, coconut aminos, ginger powder, sweetener, salt and cayenne together

  5. Pour the mixture over the chayote and mix evenly together

  6. Turn the heat to low and let the flavors combine together for a few minutes, keeping an eye on the mixture and continuing to stir (the almond butter can stick to the bottom of the pan if you leave it too long!)

  7. Finally, when everything is all hot and bothered (remember the chayote was already cooked) take it out and serve with a slice of lime and some sesame and chili pepper


thai chatoye 2 edit.jpg


Now you know what a squoodle is! 😉

Love and light ✨
Cece 😘🧙
myAvatar.png
signature herat to heart.png

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately:
Handheld Avos
Pumpkin Spice "Latte" Nibbles
Jicama Hash Mash Bash
Rad Rainbow Coleslaw! (Rainbows are ALWAYS DELICIOUS!)
Something Like Ratatouille
Not Your Plain Ol' Veggie Tray
Feel Good Crispy Kale Chips
"Meaty Lasagna"
Make Me Strong Super Spinach Salad
Stuffed Avocado Boats
Sugarless Super Snacks for Super Bowl Sunday
Mind Mapping Yourself Out of Limiting Beliefs
Game Time Greens
Winner Walnut Wraps
Cleansing Coconut Curry
Easy Veggie Zoodles
Triple Bakon Vegan, GF Burgers
Plantain Bakon

Sort:  

This looks like an amazing lunch treat indeed

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine - M-m-m-m! that looks delicious and it's nutritious! I'm going to give it a try if I can find some chayote squash. I've been doing the zoodles but now I 'll try squoodles! Thanks for sharing!

curation.png
If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord.

weelotus.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66