🥗Popeye's Make Me Strong Spinach Super Salad🥗 (Not Boring! Vegan! Gluten Free! Low Carb! Keto!)💚

in Natural Medicine5 years ago (edited)

Ever wonder why Popeye was eating so much spinach? This stuff is a strengthening powerhouse!


spectacular spinach salad edit.jpg


I decided on my birthday to do a bit of a low carb/sugar cleanse (I'm not talking white sugar laden candy, sugars are in most of the foods we eat from breads to fruits to well, you name it!) As you might know, I actually eat a lot of fruit so, what was I going to do?

Food is my art and I just can't be having any boring or tasteless food!

I was feeling rather hungry as I removed a lot of the carbs I usually rely on and so, I ordered 2 kgs of organic spinach from a local farmer and picked up all of this little boy's basket of avos.

I figured if it worked for Popeye, it must be good enough for me but no wayyy was I going to just eat spinach on its own. (See above about boring not being allowed here!)

So, spinach and avos it is everybody!

In my last post where we made stuffed avocado boats, I told you about the benefits of avos so now let's take a look at spinach!

Spinach:

Spinach is one of the richest veggies in Vitamin K (bone health)! It's also packed with vitamin A, vitamin C, folate, manganese, magnesium, iron, calcium and vitamin B2.

Nutritional composition of 100 grams of spinach:

  • 3.6 grams of carbs
  • 23 calories
  • 2.9 grams protein
  • 0.4 grams sugars
  • 2.2 grams fiber
  • 0.4 grams fat
    Which makes it perfect for anyone on a low carb, candida or keto diet!

What You Need:


  • A lot of spinach (I can't even give you an amount, just use a lot!) 💚
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes
  • ½ cucumber
  • ½ red bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • Sesame garlic sauce (or your favorite dressing that does not contain sugar😉)
  • Juice of 1 lime

What To Do:


  1. Wash the spinach leaves and dry them (either with a clean cloth or a salad spinner)

  2. Cut the onion, cucumber, bell pepper and cherry tomatoes and set them aside
    Pro tip: using a serrated knife to cut the tomatoes from side to side makes it a lot easier to cut through their skin and avoid cutting yourself!

  3. Cut the avocado in half, remove the pit then cut from side to side making a tic-tac-toe type of design in the fruit (cut 2 to 4 lines horizontally and the same amount of lines vertically) then use a spoon to scoop it all out. Put it in with the veggies.

  4. If you have store bought tahini just take a big spoonful and put it in a bowl (if you’re like me and get to make it from scratch, well see another post all about that)

  5. I used a homemade dressing that’s sesame, ginger, garlic and olive oil. Mix the tahini in with this and pour in the lime juice. Mix it all together.

  6. Now in the big bowl mix everything together and top with hemp seeds!


spinach salad 2 edit.jpg


Love,
Cece 😘
myAvatar.png
signature herat to heart.png

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately:
[Stuffed Avocado Boats])https://steemit.com/hive-177682/@heart-to-heart/stuffed-avo-boats-come-on-board-vegan-gluten-free-keto-paleo-low-carb)
Sugarless Super Snacks for Super Bowl Sunday
Mind Mapping Yourself Out of Limiting Beliefs
Game Time Greens
Winner Walnut Wraps
Cleansing Coconut Curry
Easy Veggie Zoodles
Triple Bakon Vegan, GF Burgers
Plantain Bakon
You Should Go and Trust Yourself!
The Art of Saying No!
How to Make the Best Birthday Tacos!
Are You Accidentally Sabotaging Yourself?
Empath Survival Techniques
signature_1.gif

Sort:  

This looks amazingly delish - simply a great lunch or dinner treat indeed

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine - lovely looking, delicious and nutritious salad - thanks for sharing!

curation.png If you like what we do, consider delegation or following our curation trail on Steemauto. All are welcome to join us on Discord. weelotus.png
Did you know we're running an 'Art is Healing' challenge this week on Steem? It's due February 8th and you can win up to 100 Steem plus tokens. Read more [here](https://www.naturalmedicine.io/hive-120078/@naturalmedicine/win-100-steem-art-is-healing-challenge-plus-win-lotus-tokens

Hey @porters thank you so much for the vote of confidence ;) I think salads get a bad rap so, I'm out to change that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36