🍅Something Deliciously Like Ratatouille (Vegan Gluten Free Low Carb)💚

Have you ever seen the movie about the little French, chef rat named Ratatouille?

Well, this isn't like the movie at all except that I love that flick, I love Paris and I dabble in French but these things aside, the dish I made was inspired by the dish whose name is the name of the rat in the movie (see where I'm going with this?!)

According to Wiki"ratatouille is a French Provençal stewed vegetable dish, originating in Nice, and sometimes referred to as ratatouille niçoise" and this dish is kind of like that but in my true fashion, not exactly!


ratitouille1edit.jpg


So now you have a cutie-pants movie to go watch and a new French inspired dish to admire and we haven't even begun!

I love traveling and if you're familiar with my blog, you know I explore all over the place but what I am doing most of my time is eating! That said, I get all kinds of inspiration when I'm on my journeys, interacting with different cultures and trying unique ingredients and dishes to the regions and communities!

I first had original Ratatouille in Paris and the way they present it is like a wheel of rainbow colors! It's not only delicious but it looks like a work of art so it stuck with me ever since.

This recipe isn't Ratatouille bit it's close and I hope you're going to love it!


What You Need:


  • 1 zucchini
  • ⅓ small acorn squash (steamed)
  • 1 large beefsteak tomato
  • ½ yellow onion (diced)
  • 3 garlic cloves (sliced or minced, up to you)
  • 2 sprigs of mint (leaves only)
  • ½ cup chives (minced)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • ½ tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 3 tbsp spicy "meat"see how to make it here (optional)

What To Do:


Note:
My oven living in the tropics is not very powerful so I steam my harder veggies beforehand like the squash in this recipe (it also helps to have it cook faster!)

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350'C
  2. With a sharp knife (or mandolin) cut the zucchini into 3 parts, cut each section into thin slices
  3. Oil a baking tray with olive oil
  4. Place one layer of zucchini slices evenly on the tray
  5. Cut acorn squash into thin slices, steam for 3-4 minutes
  6. Place each slice over top of the zucchini creating a second layer
  7. Slice tomato thinly width wise
  8. Place the slices on top of the squash, making your third layer
  9. Sprinkle the layers with chives, onion, mint leaves, salt, pepper and olive oil
  10. Optionally add on the “spicy meat”
  11. Bake until the tomatoes start to tenderize (about 20 minutes)

ratitouilleedit.jpg


Serve warm or cold! Makes 4 servings

Love,
Cece 😘
myAvatar.png
signature herat to heart.png

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately:
Not Your Plain Ol' Veggie Tray
Feel Good Crispy Kale Chips
"Meaty Lasagna"
Make Me Strong Super Spinach Salad
Stuffed Avocado Boats
Sugarless Super Snacks for Super Bowl Sunday
Mind Mapping Yourself Out of Limiting Beliefs
Game Time Greens
Winner Walnut Wraps
Cleansing Coconut Curry
Easy Veggie Zoodles
Triple Bakon Vegan, GF Burgers
Plantain Bakon

Sort:  

Looks like a real tasty feast indeed

It looks like something I have to try. I am vegan for some days and that's my final decision. It makes me feel better and happier :)
Keep up the good work :)

Oh great, lovely to hear that being vegan has helped you to feel better and happier. There are so many reasons for that which is why I am such a big promoter of the vegan lifestyle <3 I hope you'll be inspired by some of these recipes and get to try them! Sending you a big vegan hug!

Yes will definitely try many of them. Keep up the good work :)

Ratoutoille is such a classic... this looks like a nice spin! Tropical french casserole... it COULD be a new thang!

Ooooh, well I'm not sure this is tropical a part from it being made in the tropics but I like where your head is at @riverflows <3

You're killin' it with all those gorgeous looking preparations, good work!

$trdo!

Aww shucks thank you =D I'm just a HUGE fan of food and want people to see that healthy eating doesn't have to be so bad! ;) Thanks for the encouragement!

Congratulations @fenngen, you successfuly trended the post shared by @heart-to-heart!
@heart-to-heart will receive 1.21345088 TRDO & @fenngen will get 0.80896725 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Congratulations @heart-to-heart, your post successfully recieved 1.21345088 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@fenngen earned : 0.80896725 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27