🥓Mind Blowing Triple Bakon Peace Burgers That Are Vegan + Gluten Free! 🥓

in #vegan5 years ago

Somebody order a delicious triple 🥓🥓🥓 burger? I did!


burger jan 2020.jpg


A couple of days ago, my friend who recently decided to go vegan messaged me to ask me about the Beyond Meat Burger. I wrote an article about it a long time ago when it was first making headways on the scene and at that point, I hadn't tried it yet. At this point, I have had it in many countries in many different recipes but the question was "what do I think of it?"


beyond meat.jpg

Here's an example of a Beyond Meat Burger in Lisbon


My answer was that I preferred to make my own over any store bought brands but that I am happy that there are alternatives so accessible for people who might not have the time or practice to make their own.

He wanted to know what I make my patties out of and as I started listing off all the different ingredients I use I realized, I could go make some out of what was already in my fridge and so, the Pea-ce burgers began!

What's in here?


peace burgers patty.jpg

I purposely make my outside layer a bit crispy but less time in the oven relieves that if it's not how you like yours!


  • Chickpeas
  • Peas
  • Kale
  • Broccoli
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Seasoning
    Note: soaking nuts, seeds, lentils and legumes helps them become more digestible and therefore, I always recommend to do so before using them!

It's been my mission in life for years to take foods that we know and love (comfort foods if you will) and make them healthier, plant based and at least as delicious if not more delicious than their original counterparts!

So, let's make these Peace Burgers together, shall we?


What You Need:


  • Equal parts cooked green peas and cooked chickpeas (this will of course depend on how much you want to make. I used about 2 cups of each for 8 patties!)
  • 1 cup+ gluten-free flour (I used cassava)
  • ½ yellow onion (cut into slices)
  • 1 stem of broccoli (cut into pieces)
  • 1 cup steamed kale leaves
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 4-5 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

What to Do:


  • Blend all of the above ingredients (except the onion and broccoli) together until you get a mixture that holds together but doesn’t stick to your hands (just keep adding flour until it gets to be that way as some of your ingredients might retain extra moisture.)
  • Add in the onion and broccoli last so they stay in chunks
  • Form into balls in your hands and flatten them down into patties (spread some flour on your hands to help with this)
  • Place the patties (flat disks) onto an oiled baking tray
  • Bake at 350’C for about 15 minutes on each side (or until it’s a bit crunchy on the outside but cooked all the way through the center!)
  • Alternatively you could BBQ or fry them -- totally up to you but baking requires less oil than frying!

What to Serve

Top with anything you like!

I served mine with tempeh bakon, my delicious homemade queso cheese, two different types of mushroom bakon, mustard, homemade ketchup, pickles, jalapenos on top of radicchio leaves (delicious gluten free bun!)


peace burgers.jpg


If you like where this post came from, check out my latest post on how to make Plantain Bakon-- it sure would be great on these Peace Burgers!

All of my food is vegan, organic, locally purchased (wherever possible), plant-based, gluten-free and refined sugar free!

I believe food should be our medicine (and it should taste great too!)

Sending plant based love as always,

Love,
Cece 😘
signature herat to heart.png

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately:
You Should Go and Trust Yourself!
The Art of Saying No!
How to Make the Best Birthday Tacos!
Are You Accidentally Sabotaging Yourself?
Empath Survival Techniques
signature_1.gif

Sort:  

I love these plant-based burgers indeed - yumyumyum

Plant based burgers are the best! :)

I really like your healthy meal combos

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thank you @appreciator :) I'm happy to hear you appreciate it! I have a bunch of recipes I am trying to get on here! I added a photo of the burger over on your post since it had a photo of snow under and I thought it didn't look as delicious ;)

Did you say Foodie? Foodie is in town!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated by @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on https://foodiesunite.net and claim your tokens.

foodiesunite_small.png

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Aww thank you so much @theluvbug! It warms my heart to see my food being appreciated by the community! It's my absolute passion to bring healthy, delicious foods to the forefront! Sending you lots of gratitude! xx
Cece

That looks pretty good id love to be one of tbe taste testers and for sure home made is always better!

There has been pretty bad press about the beyond meat goodies so i wonder how people are dealing with all the conflicting information!

Id rather stay Away ro be safe! Ive had vegan junkfood twice and both times was pretty tastey

Haha I agree with you, I am the officially taste tester, it's kind of my favorite part of the job and scores me some brownie points with friends and family for sure ;)

Well, Beyond Meat wanted to taste exactly like meat so, it makes some concessions to achieve that. That said, it does taste like meat so it accomplishes it's goal and that helps people move into the idea of cutting down on animal cruelty/abuse and environmental destruction caused by animal agriculture so for that, I'm grateful. It's really meant to be a transitionary option so, I think in small doses it's a better alternative to meat but I recommend making your own or finding other options.

Vegan junk food can be unreal! Seriously I have had some incredible (both self made and purchased) vegan comfort/junk food that would knock the hats off of anything I'd had before!

Upvoted vegan. Curiously just yesterday a friend sent me a pic of something called "vacon" - a vegan bacon product, in the UK. We've had veggie burgers, as they are called here in South Africa, for several years already, with soya patties and sausage-shaped items too, even chicken schnitzel ...all soya, which isn't great of course but at least it's veg. Making your own with great ingredients is preferable. Well done.

Why thank you! Yes, everything I ever post is all vegan, it's very important to me! I take it you're vegan too? :)

You know, soy isn't necessary bad despite its bad rap (and imo, is always a better alternative to meat/animal products). It's just misunderstood and a non-gmo source carries a lot of benefits actually check this article from PCRM out.

It's more all the other stuff they stick in there with it that is the problem which is why I always prefer to make my own.

It's exciting for me to hear that South Africa has these options, I haven't been there yet but happy to know I'll be able to find some yummy food when I do make it!

Random but I'm curious, have you heard of Rodrigez? I just watched a film about him and it was based mostly in South Africa where he was very famous. :)

Recently made some veggie burgers, not using beyond meat, and they turned out great. Not sure you need an actual meat substitute to make a great veggie burger. I do want to try it but seem to be simmering down from a popularity standpoint and becoming harder to find now, in my area, that is.

It's not available at all where I am either but I've found it while traveling in some bigger cities! People who were really used to that flavor and texture love these when transitioning to less meat and dairy products but I agree with you, they're not technically necessary, just help!

I make all of my patties from scratch without meat substitutes or pre-bought ingredients but, some of the more fancy ones have a fake/meat like feature to them to draw interested but weary people in ;)

That looks really good! :D

It absolutely was! Have you ever tried a vegan burger before?

I tried the beyond burger from two monkeys its amazing!
I also eat some Cripsy No Chicken Chicken from Max Burgers :D

I haven't even heard of the No Chicken Chicken, I'm going to have to search it! :)

Well. Its from a swedish fast food restaurant called Max Burgers, you can almost veganize all of their burgers its insane :D
We have then in Denmark aswell :D

That's amazing! Will have to check them out sometime when I am over that way! Thanks for the tip ;)

You are welcome :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36