"Bakon" Wraps for Fruit & Veggies Monday 🌱

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday4 years ago (edited)

Life without 🥓? Forget about it!

One of the things I hear MOST in my field is "what about the bacon though?"

Oh I hear you my friends!

We've been sold a hard game about that crispy, fatty, salty experience that once was just a biproduct of the meat industry and it stuck to us like glue.

So, we're obsessed with 🥓 but the evidence is coming out with increasingly more attention that it's very much so... not healthy for us. What do we do then?

✨We create alternatives that have taste, flavor and texture but that don't risk our health! ✨

One of the biggest misconceptions about _"vegan"_food or "plant based" food is that it requires you to give up something!

I like to see it as switching it up and actually, gaining my health and wellness in many ways for the trade, seems like a win to me!

Without further ado then, I present to you...

The plantain "Bakon"!

What's really cool about this is that you can slice the plantain as thinly as you want (more thin means more crisp and more thick means more chewy!)


What you need!

  • Liquid smoke (optional but makes it so much more smokey and delicious!)
  • Smoked paprika
  • Garlic powder
  • Coconut oil
  • Bragg's liquid aminos
  • Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • Mesquite (optional)
  • Ripe plantains

How to make the Bakon?

How much you're making plays a big role in the ingredients so I'm going to tell you what you need to make it and walk you through the process so you know how to adapt for how much you're making!

  • Take some ripe plantain (feel the outside of the peel and see if you can gently push on it, if you can push into the peel without much force and the skin is yellow even in areas black, it's good!)
  • Remove all of the peels and cut the tips of both ends off and discard
  • Either by hand or with a mandolin, slice the plantains lengthwise to your desired thickness (I made mine a bit thick to have a chewy consistency but it's up to you!)
  • In a big mixing bowl (I like to use stainless steel) place all of your slices
  • Cover them with your ingredients above (everything needs to be coated and you only need a little bit of mesquite and liquid smoke to set this off!)

Example:
I used about 10 skinny plantains and I used:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic & paprika spices (each)
  • 1/2 tbsp liquid smoke
  • 1 tbsp liquid aminos
  • 1 tbsp mesquite powder
  • 1 tsp salt

You can serve it however you like, I placed mine on some coconut wraps with some guac, salsa recipe for those here! and my homemade queso.
But again, you can not go wrong with these guys! I will say, the thinner and crispier they are maybe the more versatile they are but I find them delicious even just to munch on by themselves!


This recipe is shared on #fruitsandveggiesmonday as part of @lenasveganliving initiative to share plant based love here on the blockchain! 💚🌱

Enjoy this recipe!

Plant based love,
Cece 😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This plant-based feast looks amazingly tasty indeed


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared! It means a lot to me to have as many people as possible be able to see what plant food can be! :) I appreciate your support!

This is excellent. I actually prefer rice over bacon. But this looks delicious.

I am so happy you came to join us Sweetie! I absolutely love this idea and I am definitely going to try!!! 😍

01.jpg

Woohoo! Save the piggies, eat the plantains instead! It's funny, that's one thing that I never really noticed missing, but I am not opposed to trying out some yummy plants full of that umami flavor!

Good choice for plaintain bakon..well noted 😊😘

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30