Great Moments In History Began With Baby "Steps" | Dealing With Racism As An Adoptee

in #healthy-home6 years ago

It's amazing to watch our kids grow and learn to do things we didn't even have to teach them! Squirt has mastered the army crawl. She saw me drinking from a glass and made her way over to see what I had. I've never seen her move so fast!

Matt and I tried to imitate crawling for them months ago. We helped them scoot their legs and pull with their arms. But to no avail. They just weren't ready to crawl. Suddenly, they're doing it all on their own!

It's a good reminder that our kids will pick up things whether we intend for them to or not. While we can easily see some of the things they're learning, others will be harder to identify.

One of the first lessons I remember learning

When I was 6, my parents took my sister and me back to the country where I was born. We stayed for about 3 weeks with friends. During that time, we visited a kindergarten, went shopping, saw the sites and mostly tried to do things like the locals.

Looking back, six is a young age, but I remember that visit clearly. It was the first time I realized I looked different from my sister. She has blonde hair and blue eyes. In the humidity, her hair curls. So at 5 years old, she could've been a double for Shirley Temple.

You'd think that the difference between us was obvious, but we grew up together, did everything together, and for many years we were each others' best friends. Though I knew we weren't the same, I didn't realize that people saw us differently until that trip.

Almost as soon as we arrived, old ladies were asking to take pictures with my sister. Half-asking, half-assuming, the ladies would grab my sister and pull her in for a picture. Used to doing everything with her, I moved in alongside only to have them shoo me away.

I never asked my parents about it. Instead, my six-year-old self figured out that I wasn't welcome in my birth country. Whether it was because they knew I didn't grow up there or because I didn't look like my sister, I understood that I was being rejected for the second time.

What our children are learning

Watching Squirt and thinking back on my past, I'm realizing how important it is to think about the things our children are learning because of us and without us. Not only are they picking up the things we say and do, they're also making inferences about the world as they see it.

As their mother, I want to do my best to equip my daughters to communicate what they're experiencing and what they're learning. That doesn't mean putting words in their mouths or defining it for them. Instead, I hope I can provide a safe place for them to talk about their thoughts. To give them time to work out what they think is happening ... and be patient when it doesn't come out in a way I understand or in the way they want it to.

As an adoptee, their world will look different from many of their peers.

People say the darnedest things ... to adoptees

All of us have to learn how to respond to what people say to us and about us. While most things we can prepare our children for, one thing my parents didn't have help with and couldn't prepare me for, were the things people say to and about adoptees.

"Oh, are you an exchange student?"
"Do you know your mom?" (Yes ... this is my mom ...)
"Where are you from? (I'm from here) ... No, I mean, where are you from?" (Ummm... outer space?)
"What are you?"
"I bet you like Asian food."

Most of these comments aren't intended to be hurtful, but as a kid, they're a reminder that because you look different, people want to ask questions. Most of the time, they're curious. And it's an opportunity to be a trainer, to educate them what it's like to be an adoptee.

Then there are those who don't really want to hear my response. At first that was hard to understand. I felt like I must be giving them the wrong answer. But as I got older, I realized that my response just didn't fit inside their worldview.

There are a lot more resources now for adoptive parents to walk through these situations with their children. But even then, there will still be things our children learn without us.

Painful lessons

For example, I don't think anything could've prepared me for some of the more hurtful comments I got when I was older.

In college, I was told by my Asian-American supervisor during a "racial awareness" breakout session that he "hated adoptees" because they could hide behind their white identities.

In a country where I was working as a teacher, I was chased down by a truck and thrown money at because in that culture, "all" Asians were there as prostitutes.

In some places I've lived, it's also shameful for me to share that I was adopted. Rather than seeing the good, they focus on the fact that it means I was unwanted and "had" to grow up in a different culture.

Looking back, it's easy to identify the bad worldviews, insecurities, and misconceptions that led to those situations. However, in the moment, it's easy to feel scared or confused. Sometimes, I've even spent weeks afterward trying to figure out what I'd done wrong or what I could've done differently.

Memories brought on by the present


That may seem like a lot to contemplate just because Squirt is becoming mobile. But her "one crawl" for baby-kind wasn't the only reason for my "giant leap" into the past.

Racial issues still overtake us today. And not just for being adopted ... as of late, we've been in the crossfires of a "discussion" over "interracial" marriage. We didn't go looking for the argument, but we find ourselves in it. I've been feeling a bit battered, but thankful that this is another issue we can walk through and hopefully prepare our girls for (though the best result of the discussion would be to make it a non-issue by the time the girls are grown.)

What's something from your past that you made sure (or want to make sure) to teach your children?

If you're interested in reading the rest of our story:


Want help editing your posts? Get HastyMarkup an app by @odrau
Sort:  

This post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval!

Caring for two beautiful children in this broken and fallen world is tough. Doing it with a smile and tough skin is the best way I think. And we reading your stories can feel the warmth of your smile and the toughness you and 'ironman' matt must experience it. You are not alone! Know that you have many friends that support and encourage you in this #healthy-home journey!!

Peace

Wow, @healthy-home! That’s so encouraging! When I decided to write about the twins here, I really wasn’t expecting to find the support that I have. Thanks for making this journey with us!

I want to make sure my baby daughter feels loved and that affection and care demonstrations are normal and much needed. As I didn't have that while growing up, I feel unattached to my parents, with the believe that I have to figure out things by myself without asking for help because that's too emotional, or it's better not to be too emotional and passionate with the ones we love and with life! I think I've missed a lot that I don't want my daughter to miss... BTW, I really love your articles!

Thanks so much, @helgapn :) I understand what you mean about emotions ... since getting married I've learned that my emotions aren't shameful, but they show me that something is going on underneath. Burying my emotions just means I end up burying the deeper issue. Thankfully @ironmanmatt is very patient with me and lets me work it out with him.

Sadly, I think our generation is reacting to a lack of emotional understanding. Where feelings weren't acceptable before ... now they're everything. We act, love, and say things based on how we feel in the moment. Hopefully, as parents, we can raise children who aren't controlled by their feelings but understand them and have the courage to struggle through them.

It's a difficult balance and they will never be as we picture them! But we deserve a pad on the back for trying our best by even thinking about the subject. Past generations didn't give any importance to emotions. But as you said, let's hope our children don't overthink about emotions and get controlled by them.

People can be tactless sometimes

Yes :( It’s not so hard if they realize it ... it’s when they don’t want to understand that it’s tough.

The racism thing is a big concern for us too. We hope to bring them up with enough to let it slide but it's sad that they and we have to endure it. Although to quote a song from one of my fav musicals "Avenue Q", "Everybody's a little racist sometime". That show is hilarious. Have you seen it?

I haven’t ... I’ll have to look it up! But I agree with that sentiment ... we all make judgments based on what we see. We just shouldn’t always act on them 😂

The tough part is that it’s so unexpected! I have friends who practice ahead of time. Thankfully, Matt’s used to it because of the comments I get.

As a side note, your son will definitely be watching how you handle those comments to figure out how he should respond. I remember my mom would get angry. My dad usually had some funny comment prepared (“doesn’t she look just like me?”) It wasn’t until I was out on my own that I realized I preferred being a “trainer” and tried to help people understand. Usually I’ll answer their questions with straightforward responses ... until it becomes a conversation where they’re just trying to get me to answer with the response they want to hear (like, “yes, I wish I hadn’t been adopted.” Or “I still feel connected with my culture.”)

I hadn't realised that you were adopted yourself. Its wonderful that you have two little ones of your own now. I think I will be straightforward, my hubby probably wittier lol. :)

I feel for you!

People really are stupid sometimes. Naturally. Our brains are so silly. And despite (or inspite of) our amazing internet information resources, I think it sometimes becomes an excuse for our brains to simplify, categorize and assume. And there is no perfect answer. There will always be stupid people. More often than we'd like.....it will be ourselves.

What can be done? Just do our best. And trying again when our best isnt our best. Trying to be as patient and kind and educational to others when their stupid is harming us and the ones we love.

Wow. You really opened some interesting and amazing worm cans here.

Thank you so much for your candor and wit and for sharing your story!

Oh....I think it is about time for a twin 'soldier crawl' .GIF. If you like. There are apps that make them easy to make.

XD

Peace!

So true!

I know that it’s usually harder for Matt because he cares about me so much. And he knows those comments can really hurt me ... or at least raise up hurtful memories.

Sometimes I probably share TMI, but it was my friend who really inspired me ... her openness, especially about her own shortcomings and life lessons, taught me a lot. I always thought, I wish I could be like that and not have to hide. Over time, I realized I could because of God’s grace in my life!

I will definitely look up an app ... that sounds like waaaayyy too much fun! Thanks so much for the idea! 😃

GIF Maker-GIF Editor is the app on my android phone.

Have fun!! :-)

The first time I encountered your post, I read on your previous ones because as I said back then, I admire you for adopting two wonderful angels in your life. I still do admire you: now more than ever. I don't want to take pity on what you have been thru when you were young (and even until now) but I just want to salute you (yet again) for the courage you keep showing up. The things and emotions you felt when you felt like an outcast will not be the same with the girls now because with them, it will be a different story because you are now a mom to them. But don't worry, with your love and guidance a faith above, it will be alright.

Thanks so much @filnette! I’m so excited (and nervous) to walk with them through their own experiences! And I’m thankful for the support and encouragement here to keep being courageous! <3

It's wonderful you're willing to share these things about your childhood and your life now. It is very unfortunate you have to endure these comments, but I think we can all learn from stories like yours. People don't often reflect on what they say to other people, we need to think about the affect of our actions on others. Thank you again for sharing, you are a wonderful role model for your girls!

whatever happens, both of u did a great job. Just show your love and passion, your baby would feel it.
Some tips I often use to teach my child how to show the love are:

  • skin to skin contact
  • imagine the doll as a person and take care of it softly
  • show the love to others around
  • focus on details and tell her about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90