You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great Moments In History Began With Baby "Steps" | Dealing With Racism As An Adoptee

in #healthy-home6 years ago

I want to make sure my baby daughter feels loved and that affection and care demonstrations are normal and much needed. As I didn't have that while growing up, I feel unattached to my parents, with the believe that I have to figure out things by myself without asking for help because that's too emotional, or it's better not to be too emotional and passionate with the ones we love and with life! I think I've missed a lot that I don't want my daughter to miss... BTW, I really love your articles!

Sort:  

Thanks so much, @helgapn :) I understand what you mean about emotions ... since getting married I've learned that my emotions aren't shameful, but they show me that something is going on underneath. Burying my emotions just means I end up burying the deeper issue. Thankfully @ironmanmatt is very patient with me and lets me work it out with him.

Sadly, I think our generation is reacting to a lack of emotional understanding. Where feelings weren't acceptable before ... now they're everything. We act, love, and say things based on how we feel in the moment. Hopefully, as parents, we can raise children who aren't controlled by their feelings but understand them and have the courage to struggle through them.

It's a difficult balance and they will never be as we picture them! But we deserve a pad on the back for trying our best by even thinking about the subject. Past generations didn't give any importance to emotions. But as you said, let's hope our children don't overthink about emotions and get controlled by them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65