Surprise, We Have Twins! The Story Behind Why I Fell Off The Face Of Planet Steemit...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

July 2017 - I'd finally started to get the hang of Steemit. Well, at least feeling like I could wade around in the shallow end. When suddenly, we got a call out of the blue, asking us if we wanted to adopt twin girls!

Our whole lives changed overnight. I'll share more about that later, but if you can imagine having two, two-month-old, preemies enter your life in a matter of 48 hours, I'm sure you can understand why I suddenly vanished off the face of planet Steemit. We had just moved into a new apartment, so I found myself unpacking, cleaning, and trying to create a routine, on top of caring for our two little ones and keeping up with my almost full-time job. It was (and still is) a bit hectic.

But here's why I want to get back into Steemit. I want to do a better job keeping track of our little girls' milestones, sharing our struggles, offering tips, and recording our major life events.

Why Steemit?

  1. The Steemit community is so supportive! If you want to like something you do, but you don't feel the need to leave trails of criticism and scorn behind you if you don't. And right now, I don't think I can handle too much scorn. :P
  2. I'm hoping that writing here will keep me accountable.
  3. We need to raise a lot of money for the adoption expenses. Thankfully the costs aren't as high as if we were living in the States, but all the money we had in savings went towards the girls' medical expenses. I know Steemit won't increase our finances overnight, but eventually, I hope it'll help us pay off any debts we end up accruing.

The challenging part for me is that I realize Steemit is reader-led. Writing about how cute my babies are might be appealing to me, but how do I engage the Steemit audience? Well, for starters, by asking you! :)

So please, let me know in the comments what would keep you coming back to read the updates and what warrants an upvote in your book!

Sort:  

Excited to read how you write about the adventure of being a mommy of two out of no where!

Keep it up @helenoftroy!

You may want to know that the photos you upload through Steemit are not on the block chain... Only hosted by Steemit. They can go away.

Congratulations! Wow! Instant twins!!

Such a beautiful way of capturing their milestones, looking forward to read the rest of your posts about your children:)

Thanks for coming back to read this @brittlise and for following us on our journey! 😃

btw, if you vote on a post older than 7 days, the payout has already been given, so your vote won’t count as a reward or be rewarded. You’ll also use up your voting power. However, it is appreciated as it shows you came back and liked the content. Just wanted give you a heads up in case you didn’t know 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48