Bringing Home The TwinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

"I'm going to meet my daughters for the first time!" The thought was both terrifying and exciting. With all the activity of the past few days - from first learning about the twins to making arrangements to bring them home - I hadn't had much time to process everything. Waiting to board my flight, I started to take it all in:

  • Matt and I were going to be apart for the next two weeks, the longest time in our 3.5 years of marriage.
  • I’d be bringing the girls back to a place we’d just to moved into ourselves.
  • I didn’t have anything prepared for them.
  • We still weren't sure how much ongoing medical care our girls would need as preemies.
  • I was in the middle of a job transition (thankfully one that allowed me to work from home).
  • Not to mention all the legal issues we'd need to tackle in order to adopt the girls and get their US citizenship.

We were becoming parents overnight ... and parents of twins nonetheless! But the thing that overrode all my fears was the thrill of knowing I was about to meet our girls.

Take off 

I remember that day vividly. Probably because it was one of those rare moments when you get to know ahead of time that your life is about to change forever. Nothing could’ve prepared me for how drastic some of those changes would be, but I still knew we were entering a new phase in our lives.

We woke up early and caught an Uber to the airport. Matt flew out of a different terminal to the US, and it was so hard to say goodbye.

During the flight, I tried to sleep, telling myself to stay calm. After we landed, I forced myself to slow down, grab a coffee, and take in the moment. The first stop was the hospital where I needed to pay the final medical bill. As I arrived, I realized that I hadn’t even thought to call our credit card company and notify them. I prayed that the charge would go through even though it was a large amount coming from a different city. A sigh of relief as they passed me the receipt for my signature.

Meeting the twins for the first time

At last, I was on my way to see the girls.

We’d only seen one picture of them, sent to us the night before.

But nothing could prepare me for how tiny they were in person. They fit perfectly on my forearm (and I don't have very long arms). All the anxiety I'd felt melted away as I held them.

We’d picked out names the day before, but we waited to make it official until we could be sure they fit. During one of Matt’s layovers, I sent him pictures and we agreed that the eldest would be "A" (on the right) and the youngest would be "E" (on the left).

All day I sat watching the girls, holding them, talking to them. That night I stayed at the caretaker's with the twins. And the next night we stayed with friends of a friend. They were a wonderful couple and took great care of us.

Even though the girls slept most of the time and rarely opened their eyes, I started to learn their personalities. When she was stressed or surrounded by a lot of activity, "A" would stay asleep and sometimes she wouldn’t even finish a bottle. In the same situation, "E" drank hungrily, but soon I realized she was just trying to keep herself awake. She wanted to know what was happening around her. Once it got quiet, she’d settle down and sleep.

Homeward bound

On Thursday, a friend (who I’d actually only met once) graciously drove down to pick us up. For their first long car ride, the girls were amazing. They only cried a little when they were hungry but slept the rest of the ride.

Six hours later, and we were finally HOME! A whole new adventure awaited us...

Sort:  

Oh they are so cute! Wow! Twins!
You are so lucky!
Sorry that they have been sick... Are they all better now?
Can't wait to hear more!

Thanks, homescoolkids! They are much better! We all got the flu that was going around. And thanks for the encouragement ... I'll definitely be writing more :)

Oh Helen! I am so happy you have continued sharing this moving story with us!
I really can't imagine taking on two babies alone without my hubby there. You did it. They needed you and you stepped up and cared for them! This whole story just makes me so happy!

I truly hope you continue sharing it all with us!

<3 and \HUGS/

Awww, thanks :) I definitely will! Looking back, I can see why people thought we were crazy :P but there was never any doubt in our minds that it was the right thing to do ... and now we are so blessed to have these girls in our lives!

Wonderful, just wonderful!

Your daughters will be very beautiful like you. All the best for your children^^

Awww, thank you so much! They are 8 months now and very beautiful. I plan to write more about their story, so please come back for latest pictures!

It’s a great idea @helenoftroy :)

@helenoftroy, that was one of the hardest times in my life. Being apart from me wife and our new baby girls I had not met!

Awww! This so sweet. I would love to have twins too, they are so adorable. please, don't worry, everything will fall in place

Thank you! :)

Hi Helen. Nice to see you here. I am a mother, too. We can share each other the things about raising the children. :)

Yes, that would be nice! Thank you! :)

Congrats and best wishes you your lovely family.

How beautiful!

Just in case people didnt catch the beginning... you may want to post the url or links to the earlier posts about the Twins... maybe at the beginning... maybe at the end of your next post (or even edited into this one too).

Take care!

Thank you! The hyperlinks are at the beginning, but next post I'll make it more clear that there are previous posts in the series :) Just experimenting to see what works best ... if you can let me know what you think about how I format it in the next one, that would be great! I should be posting in the next day or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41