What It Takes To Be The Superdad of Twin Babies

in #life6 years ago

The reason for writing


Sharing this story about how our lives changed overnight and how the twins came to be with us has brought back a lot of memories. To catch up from the beginning, you can read these posts here: Intro, Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, and Part 8.

Writing this all out has also reminded me how much Matt and I have grown through the process. While this is the "twin blog" it's really more our story of being parents and what we're learning about raising two beautiful girls.


The man of the hour


I want to dedicate this post to the one who I couldn't be doing this without. Since we've been married, our lives have been in 5th gear. Not necessarily in any kind of thrilling way, more like the feeling that if you stop, life is going to run you over. Matt has had to go through a lot since our marriage ... and I think most of the drama has been from my side. Not only has he stuck it out with me, he's guided me and encouraged me. I know I'm a stronger, wiser person because of him.

Being a dad

Fatherhood is daunting in and of itself. Becoming a father overnight (and then being away for the first two weeks) even more so. When Matt got home, he jumped right in. I've already mentioned how he stayed up with the girls that first night so I could get some sleep. He learned how to make bottles, wear a Mobi wrap, and do the laundry.

 

The lessons came at him, fast and furious. At the time, I didn't appreciate how much he was learning under the intensity of it all. We were both trying to survive, care for twins, work our jobs, and adjust to the responsibilities of parenthood. But I know the struggle was harder for Matt. I had a lot of practice in the child-care department while most everything was brand new to him.

A different guy


Our shortcomings were really evident in the first few weeks of becoming parents. Some things were surprising and others we had overlooked when it was just the two of us. But with two little people needing our attention, we realized we had to deal with our shortcomings whether we wanted to or not.

Six months later and I can say that Matt is more self-sacrificing and perceptive than he used to be. He stays up late to wash dishes and bottles. He vacuums and takes care of the laundry. He plays with the girls and is getting better at figuring out why they're upset. There are even a few meals he's learned to make!

Looking after the family


I know he doesn't think anything of it, but I appreciate him most when he's looking after us as a family. We don't own a car, so we call a Grab or an Uber to pick us up. After we put the babies in the car, Matt folds up our gear and loads it into the trunk. Then he does it all in reverse when we arrive.

He's always got an eye on our surroundings and I know the girls and I are safe with him.

Being a dad is hard work.

Happy anniversary @ironmanmatt! I love you!
Thanks for being a wonderful husband and a terrific father!


And thanks to those who are faithfully following the twin blog! Please note that I'll be posting these an hour earlier. I hope this allows you to check back at that optimal time (20-25 minutes after the post) so you can cash in for the best curation rewards!

If you're interested in reading the beginning of our story:

Sort:  

Kids help a man to be a real man :)

Congratulations @helenoftroy, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 20

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Hey Helen! Good on you guys for keeping up with such good quality blogging. Best Blessings to your family!! I am interested to read more. 💙💚💜

Thanks for the encouraging comment @yogajill! Looking forward to hearing from you on future posts!

You just planted 0.57 tree(s)!


Thanks to @helenoftroy

We have planted already 3897.92 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20745.00
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63