Apartment Hunting With The Twins

in #healthy-home6 years ago

On Friday we went apartment hunting. As you may recall, if you've been following our journey since the beginning, we just moved into our current apartment when we got the call asking us to care for twin girls in need of a home. Here they are 9 months later...

{Squish} & {Squirt}

We are so thankful to be adopting these beautiful girls! Our lives have changed in many ways, but we couldn't imagine it without them.

Why we're moving

As much as we love our apartment, we originally moved here thinking we'd need to be at this location for other jobs that we had at the time.

Those jobs ended up being shorter-term than we expected. And with our current work situation (@ironmanmatt is still applying for positions), we need to downsize and move someplace where we don't have to pay as much for transportation.

We currently live on a little hill, which means more greenery and quiet, but also means we can't walk to anywhere nearby.

We did attempt walking to a local "mamak" (or cafeteria) at the bottom of our hill but it was a long hike back up.

Apartment hunting

So on Friday, we visited an apartment complex in a nice (and not too expensive) neighborhood.

{Squirt inspecting a potential apartment}
{a hot day for apartment hunting}

This week we plan on visiting another complex and then hopefully we can make our decision.

Gearing up for "the purge"


Wherever we end up, we'll probably be cutting our square footage in half! I'm already making the mental checklist of what to keep and what to sell/give away. We've done the "purge" so many times since we've been married, that it's really not intimidating like it used to be.

I know we don't have much for ourselves, but we have been given a lot of baby things. I will have to go through it and see what needs to be given back and what we can pass on.

Work's been ramping up (for me ... which was not part of the plan LOL) ... so we'll see how these next few weeks turn out!

The new apartment checklist

We have a checklist of all the things that have bothered us about past apartments that we wish we would've checked first ... but we always seem to find new things to look out for with each place we move into!

How about you? Anything you've loved or hated about past dwellings that we should be on the lookout for too?


Thanks for joining us on this wild ride!

If you're interested in reading the rest of our story:


Want help editing your posts? Get HastyMarkup an app by @odrau
Sort:  

Oh no! You have to move again.

I hope it is not too stressful for you or the twins!

I hope the new place is just wonderful for you!

Squirt and Squish are just SOOOOOO cute!!

Thank you @homescoolkidz! Moving is a bummer, but hopefully it means we can take the girls out more often and go for more walks. Stay tuned for a moving day post LOL ;)

I still remember the the sweat pouring from every inch of my body. Tropical weather meets a closed apartment with no a/c on. One of the closest thing to torture I have ever willing consented to doing.

So on that note.... Be sure there is very good airflow....or an a/c or dehumodifier, or mold could end up being a big problem as you wash and dry lots of baby things.

Yes! Mold is one of the biggest problems here. We lived in an “older” apartment (2004 is old here) and it had water leaks. We didn’t know there was one in the vacant apartment next to us, until we started to see mold on the wall. I have severe allergies to mold ... we finally figured out why I was feeling sick every day!

When we pick a place, they’ll turn on the electric and then we’ll have AC, but viewing is tortuous when the place is unoccupied!

Lots of baby laundry ... One thing I will definitely miss is our extra-large wash machine that came with the place!

When I was apartment hunting (downtown Chicago) I made sure to find out how well I could hear things from outside the apartment while standing in it, I am pretty sensitive to noise so hearing people walking above or talking from the apartments next door would drive me insane!

Oh, I know what you mean! Our first apartment had paper-thin walls. And here, we viewed it during a quiet time of day, I think. On the weekends it can get pretty loud ... it didn’t help that they started construction next door a week after we moved in!

Haven't seen your post in a while. Hope the new is better than the old.

Well, you probably didn’t miss much ;) my last post was a bit all over the place with Squish on my lap.

There will be adjustments but I think benefits as well. Less to clean, for one! :D

Hey Helen. I have started a community that supports the gaming community here on Twitch. It is invite only community of people I think make good content. You do not make gaming content, but I would still like to invite you to join. Bascially I am forming a curation trail that only supports our members. Please check out the discord and let me know if you join!: https://discord.gg/tNAVhg (this link expires in 24hrs)

I'm sorry, the girls have been sick, so I missed this message and the link has expired. Can you resend another one?

I've totally missed out all your posts. :( I think by the time before I even get to your posts on my feed, I'm already snoring beside our girl. Now I just need to go to your profile so I would not miss your post. How's the apartment hunting?

That happens to me too! Steemify has helped a lot because it notifies me when people I've added to the app write a new post, comment, etc.

I just posted an update ... and it looks like we found a new place! :)

Steemify sounds cool! Will check it out :) thank you

Yey! You found a place?! Can't wait to see it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43