How To Prevent S.A.D.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

fall.gif

The days are beginning to shorten as we move into fall and winter. Many of us suffer the "Winter Blues," or Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD- appropriate name, aye?) to varying degrees. But it is preventable and treatable! Read on for simple tips to avoid the cold weather funk.

SAD affects millions worldwide. Symptoms usually begin in late fall and continue through until spring, and can include:

Contrary to what the sunscreen companies will have you believe, we need sunlight! Just as all living things, we need sunlight to grow and be healthy and function at 100%. As you get less sun due to short winter days, your body goes into a "hibernation mode" like bears. So take advantage of any sunny days you can. When this is not an option, try one or more of the following.

Exercise

Drag your butt off that couch and get moving! Yeah, I said it! Exercise helps alleviate the symptoms of SAD. Put on some energetic music to help get your blood pumping. Yes, it'll be a bit of an effort to start, however I promise you within minutes you will begin to feel better!

Light Therapy

The best light is the natural sun. Here we find rescue kitten Marley soaking up his vitamin D through the only patch of sunlight he could find.

marley.JPG

Cats are pretty smart creatures, they know sunlight is rejuvenating and healthy, that's why you'll catch your kitten taking advantage of any ray that comes in through the window, no matter how small!

But during those day when the sunlight just doesn't shine through the cloud cover, have one of these handy.

This alarm clock is pretty cool, and actually naturally awakens you with full spectrum lighting, just as we humans were intended to awaken with the sun.

You can also purchase full spectrum light bulbs to place in your lamps to mimic the suns rays and give you the nutrients you need. Basically faking the sun to avoid the depression of SAD ;)

Get Your Vitamins!

Without the sun producing our natural vitamin D, we have to supplement our bodies with this necessary nutrient. Take a trusted multivitamin, or better yet- get it naturally from the foods you eat:

Hang Out

Hang out with your friends to boost your mood and support each other through the cold winter days.

Cuddle

It's cold- perfect excuse for sharing a blanket and cuddling in front of the telly with your significant other. Touch is proven to release the body's feel good chemicals and naturally boost mood. Why do you think more babies are born in the summer- 9 months after the cold spell ;)

Did I miss any? Share your favorite tips to bust winter depression in the comments!

Images via Pixabay, Creative Commons, and Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-season-image-0007

animated-arrow-image-0314 How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion
~
Reactions and Impressions of the Written Exchange
~
Finding Your Steemit Niche
~
Tips to Travel, Even if you Think it's too Expensive!
~
A Positive Post
~
Steemit is Like Marriage, and Most Marriages Fail. Do This to Keep Your Blog (and Marriage) Alive!
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
The Day Kitten Went on Strike
~
Reflections on 9-11 and the Meaning of Home
~
Which Side of the Window do You Choose to be on?

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing!

I am happy that you enjoyed it :)

I've definitely experienced this in the past year or two as I've been exercising a lot less than I was in years past. Fall, Winter and Spring used to be marathon training seasons for me but I haven't run but one half marathon in the past 20 months.

Last winter I got very depressed and had most of the symptoms you've listed above. I knew I needed to start exercising more but I just couldn't snap out of it and I resorted to other means of trying to be happy which weren't so healthy.

But now that the weather where I live is cooling off I've started running 3 miles / day on my lunch breaks and I've had more energy and been a little bit happier in general. It doesn't take but a couple of weeks of consistent exercise to notice a big difference.

I've always taken vitamins and eaten pretty healthy but running is the key to me not being depressed. Especially in the winter time.

In parts of Alaska, alcohol is not sold Mid winter. With the "day" in the northernmost parts looking more like a couple hours of dusk, suicide and alcohol poisoning became high. So they outlawed it.

Good you recognized it, and took the necessary steps! Well done :)

Are the days there ever so bad that you cannot run? If so, what do you do then?

There are never days when I physically can't run...but my brain is what prevents me from running some days. It can always find an excuse not to.

On the days when I've planned on running (3-4 days per week) when I don't feel like it sometimes I go home after work and drink and think about how much I hate my job lol...or sit around and watch TV and zone out. Not healthy ways of dealing with stress at all.

I'm trying to break myself of this habit by making detailed plans for every day of the week. That's how I usually manage to stick to it.

Well, I was thinking inclement weather. No matter where you are there can be a bad day ;)

I'm guilty of veg days too. Sometimes they are necessary. But if you find yourself taking too many of them, then you gotta reevaluate, lol.

The detailed planning is a great idea.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Those are some great tips to beat S.A.D.It's mostly sunny days in my neck of the woods, nobody even knows what S.A.D is.Our winter in Nairobi is in June and July where the weather gets a little chilly but no snow at all. After this the weather is lovely all year long :)

Thank you!

It sounds absolutely lovely where you are!

Yeah, it is lovely...the only thing that I don't like is the rain. sometimes it rains heavily with thunder n lightning.

I am the opposite, rain recharges me. My absolute favorite smell on the planet is the smell of rain. And thunderstorms energize me- I love thunder!

What gets me is those grey days, one moving into another...

@arbitrarykitten Excellent Tale. Awesome you ended up in the position to hustle your way out of your respective condition.

Thanks. I hope this helps others :)

Congratulations @arbitrarykitten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice one I will look into these option the lightbulbs sound great. And the cuddles haha better get dating :)

Ha! Yea, that does help ;)

Out of practice, quite fun doing all again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54