A Positive Post

As I write this, I am physically suffering the effects of 23 fractured bones. No, I didn't do anything fun to get this way, so I don't even have that.

But I am hopeful and optimistic. And in a lighter mood than the Doctors expect someone who cannot walk to be in!

Why?

Because I chose to live a happy life.

I wasn't always this way. I used to be pessimistic. As a teenager I felt the world owed me. Yeah, I was a bratty, snobby, entitled teen. I'm not proud of it but it is what it is and I will be honest.

I decided that is not how I wanted to live my life. Negativity attracts negativity and I was sick of being around people that brought me down. One day I just woke up and looked around and said Oh hell no, this isn't me. I was not aware of resources so I changed myself by myself.

If I can do it you can too!

Appreciate

I started focusing on the good and happy things. And taking a moment to actually acknowledge them. When you switch your mindset like that you start to notice more of the good, and before long you see the good everywhere, you begin to think the good thoughts before the negative ones, and you actually begin attracting more good things to your reality!

Be Kind

To others and yourself.

I know, it's harder than it sounds to be kind to yourself. We are our own worst critics. But the more you turn away from self judgement, the easier it gets.

Share the Happy!

The simple act of giving to someone in need is great therapy for the psyche. And it doesn't even have to be volunteering for a charity, although by helping those less fortunate you will appreciate what you have.

Stop by and have tea with your elderly neighbor. Her family is all moved away and she can't get out much- she is lonely. You will totally make her day by spending an hour with her! And your heart will feel so warm and filled, I promise you :)

Or give a few words of encouragement to the middle schooler you see practicing basketball every afternoon. School is hell and you know he gets a lot of shit from his peers- it's the nature of the teen herd mentality beast. Your encouraging words will stick with him, and truly mean a lot.

To you it may seem like a small gesture, but to someone else it will mean the world.

Surround Yourself With Happy!

It's hard not to be happy when you actively surround yourself with happy people and things! It actually takes great effort, lol.

Watch funny movies, read the positive, meaningful "news", play with a puppy. Just engage in the good and you'll leave little room for the bad.

Write it Down, Talk About it, Then Move on

Sometimes bad stuff happens. That's life. But don't hold onto it. You gotta let it go- negativity and stress breeds cancer. Get it out by talking about it, either to a trusted friend or therapist, then write it down. Write it all down. Then light the paper and visualize your stress and worry riding the smoke to the heavens and dissipating. You'll be amazed at how therapeutic this is.

Exercise

I know I know, we hear it all the time. Exercise is good for practically every aspect of life.

But it's true! Exercise brings oxygen to our cells- the less oxygen you have the faster you age.

Exercise releases the feel good chemicals in the body which give you a natural, healthy high. And when you look better and feel better your confidence soars- it's hard to feel negative after a brisk workout!

Smile

The act of smiling actually tricks the brain! Try it! Next time you're having a down day, smile at everyone. And I mean a real smile, not a sarcastic forced grin ;) Pretty soon you will feel happier, you can't not! It's a cool little trick that works every time.

Attitude is a decision. Life is just a series of events. If the journey is pleasant or not is absolutely your choice :)

Go forth and be happy today, you owe it to yourself :)

Images via Creative Commons and Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-house-image-0061

animated-arrow-image-0314 How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion
~
Reactions and Impressions of the Written Exchange
~
Finding Your Steemit Niche
~
Tips to Travel, Even if you Think it's too Expensive!
~
Perfection is Holding You Back
~
Steemit is Like Marriage, and Most Marriages Fail. Do This to Keep Your Blog (and Marriage) Alive!
~
The 11 Commandments for Relationships
~
Kittens House of Random
~
The Cancer in You Right Now
~
The Day Kitten Went on Strike
~
Reflections on 9-11 and the Meaning of Home
~
Which Side of the Window do You Choose to be on?

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Great positive post entry into this weeks #popcontest , thanks for sharing it with us all ! I liked the act of smiling and tricking the brain !! Haha this really does work , I tried it out. LOL! Good luck ! Upped and resteemed !!💕✌👍💕

Yea, it's a cool mind hack. It works on others, too! When one of my boys is bummed I'll smile constantly, lol- it's silly and it's contagious ;)

And it helps us both!

Thank you Karen!

Haha I love it !! Lol ! 😂😂😂❤

Good for you! You make some excellent points, the one I like most is "write it down, talk about it and move on" - there is so much power in the pen and writing something down can magically make you see sense in things and give you the power you need to move on. Good luck with your entry into this week's #popcontest - much love, @sweetpea

Thank you hun :) And wonderful meeting you!

23 fractured bones? I am so sorry to hear this. Are you OK? I like your post and try to be as positive and nice to people as possible. It's hard where I live as everyone is so unfriendly, but I try! I hope that you are OK?

Oh no, where do you live?

To be honest, it does suck. Being a single mom and active person in general, yea, it's not good. But, I am choosing to rise above and use my downtime to focus on Steemit, and my wonderful community of supportive and encouraging lovies- like you!

I could wallow, but I choose a more positive mindset. Complaining isn't going to do me any good :)

Thank you for your concern, hun, it is truly appreciated <3

Hi there! It sounds as if you are doing tremendously well given everything that has happened. Good for you! I have recently moved back to a small town in the middle of the UK to look after my mum who has cancer. Moving back from sunny Brazil, I had rather romantic notions of how nice people are here and how everything "works". Sadly, neither really seems to be the case, as there is a mismatch between what we expect from situations and people and how they really are . In reality, most people seem to be working all hours that God gives and then once home, close themselves into their secure houses and not have anything to do with anyone. Added to this, is a sense of fear, which is propagated by the media, turning passers by into criminals and where as people used to greet each other on the street, this also no longer seems to happen...

I am trying my hardest not be negative, but I have found it a little depressing, particularly as I don't know anyone in the area and had hoped that people might be a bit nicer. Anyway, I am doing my best to keep busy, making lots of wholesome food for my mum, foraging for fruit to cook pies and make jam and have started volunteering at a local charity...

Best of luck with things and keep in touch! x

Oh my. Ah, yes, those romantic images we conjure in the heart or our minds are usually never the reality. Shame.

It's sad to hear how closed off people have become. I fear for humanity.

This is why I believe so many people are attracted to Steemit- myself included. The feeling of community here, and the support and encouragement I witness and am part of, is truly extraordinary.

I agree! :)

Your right. Encouragement goes a long way. I agree, focusing on someone else instead of our selves does take us away from feeling downtrodden. Sometimes, a simple telephone call makes someone's day. I actually found myself smiling while reading your article. Well written! Thank you for taking the time to remind us that things could be worse and to enjoy the sweet taste of life everyday.

Exactly. A little goes a long way :)

Thank you!

Agree with your post!
Some of these advice really helped me in hard times :-)

it takes more muscles to smile than it does to not smile..
I'm saving energy.

Totally agree, happiness is a choice. Sometimes I don't make that choice, but it is good to have it.

We can't always make the right decision ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Holy guacamole, I hope you heal quickly!

Thank you for such a positive post ❤.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52