Family Holidays in Wales 1964-65 (including Aberaeron and Aberystwyth)

in #dtube7 years ago


This is original unedited digitised cine film footage of my holidays in west Wales in 1964 and 1965.

It includes scenes from Aberaeron and Aberystwyth, as well as Aberarth Cemetery, the Vale of Rheidol Railway and Devils Bridge Fall.

There are also a number of scenes of my sisters and I playing on the beach and swimming in the sea. I believe this is New Quay. This is also probably where the boat ride set off from.

My mother came from this area, and the film includes several visits to various relatives on their farms in Ceredigion.

The film was Standard 8mm cine film without sound. We have added a basic soundtrack.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love watching old videos like this...there is a certain level of romanticism to them, they always tend to instill this weird desire in me to "return" to the simpler old days (even though I've never lived in those times lol). Thank you for sharing this with us!

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

It is strange for me watching this film as then it was a holiday destination. Now it is where I actually live!

What an absolutely amazing Production!!! Great work @pennsif, and aren't you the cutest damn thing I've ever seen in my life...Wow....

How incredible that your family had this footage! And what an honour you have done by making it into this movie. I'm super proud of you!! Really, brings tears to the eyes to watch these 'old times' my friend...!!

Thank you Lyndsay. It has been a surreal experience going through all these old movies. I hadn't watched them for 30+ years.

It is like having a reboot of a disused part of my brain. I am seeing things I thought I would never remember again. I have even found some footage of my childhood dog Scampie - he meant so much to me.

I am not sure whether to post more of this sort of material. Does it have general interest or is it just my personal self indulgence.

In my opinion, it's a really unique and well put together post idea. A way to honour your life as well. Here, forever on the Steem Blockchain.

Yes I very much like the idea of preserving memories on the blockchain.

A few months back I found two boxes of old photos and started a little series called "The Story of Me, and everyone I know" but it didn't get any traction so I parked it at the time. Maybe worth reviving.

With the home movies I am wondering whether to try a voice-over narration rather than the copyright free music overlay. The narration would help me record more of the memories.

YESSSS that's a great idea to narrate!! I would LOVE to hear your voice too amongst the other plusses.

I definitely remember your "Story of Me" that's when I first met you!!

I put the next two films up without narration, but I narrated them live on the radio show last Saturday. I'm going to try putting a narration voice over straight on the next one.

incredible. it looks so pristine, and isolated. and how far we have come in 50 some off years of technology. historical gem

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Well, a 50 year old home movie is worth a million words and more.

These days we take video footage for granted. But in the 1960s every minute of homemovie footage was precious.

I have just received over 8GB of digitised family film like this from the 1960s and 1970s. A fantastic resource bursting with memories and historical aspiration.

Aberaron! I had an Aunty who lived there. Theres a massive rock on a beach there.

It has changed quite a bit since this movie. Famous for its honey ice cream now at The Hive on the Quay.

Love it!!!

Watching the video I can feel some nostalgia, even though I was born about 10 years later. I think it's because it reminds me a bit of Madeira, where I spent part of my childhood at the beginning of the 80s.

Thanks for sharing it with us

Update: It looks pretty good for a video that is over 50 years old

I am hoping I can improve the quality of the film a bit further as I learn better techniques.

absolutely impressed with the quality

Thank you. It is a pity about the annoying hair in the bottom of right at the beginning...

It's lovely to have old footages, must be precious to you!

Thank you, yes they are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68