Personal Mentoring Statement from @pennsif : now accepting up to 5 minnows who would like a mentor to help them on their steemit journey

in #mentoring7 years ago

To help move forward some form of mentoring system for newcomers to steemit I posted a couple of days ago about the idea of Personal Mentoring Statements.

This is where more experienced steemians who are willing to become mentors post a Personal Mentoring Statement outlining what they can offer.


The idea appears to have been well received so here is my Personal Mentoring Statement to get the ball rolling.



Personal Mentoring Statement for @pennsif

Who am I

  • I am in my 50's and male. I am married with 3 teenage children.

  • I live on a smallholding / homestead in rural west Wales in the UK.

  • I run a web development agency that gives me the flexibility to spend quite a bit of time on steemit.

  • I am in the UK, currently UTC, timezone.

My experience on steemit

  • I joined steemit in mid June 2017.

  • I have been active on the platform continuously since them, posting on average 6 times a week.

  • I have been most active in the Homesteaders and Preppers community. As part of that I regularly publish the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit - now on version 11 with almost 300 members.

  • I have also got involved in supporting a number of charities on steemit both directly and through my A Dollar A Day giving project. The main charities I currently support include @schoolforsdg4, @youarehope, @papilloncharity and @tarc.

  • I have recently started co-hosting a 1960s show on MSP Waves Radio, and will be launching my own Alternative Lifestyle Show at the beginning of 2018.

  • Another area of interest is steem and business. I have started publishing a list of Businesses accepting payment in steem.

  • Finally I am coordinating the first meetup of steemians in Wales.

  • My main goals on steemit are to continue to power up to reach Dolphin status as soon as possible and to continue developing the projects I am involved in. I am also very keen to improve the low retention rate on steemit. This mentoring protect is one part of helping that.

What I can offer as a mentor

  • I have a good range of experience on steemit that I can offer to help newcomers have a smoother and more fulfilling journey on the platform.

  • I am available on steemit on most days from around 10am to midnight UTC - and often beyond. I am therefore most suitable for mentees in Europe and Africa but I would still have considerable time overlap with people anywhere in the world.

  • I have a growing network of connections on steemit so I usually know someone who knows someone to help out with most queries and situations.

  • I have good skill levels in post presentation, including writing, formatting and image manipulation.

  • I have growing voting power (currently well over 4000SP) that allows me to give useful upvotes as and when needed.

Type of mentee that I can best work with

  • I can particularly help new steemians interested in the areas of homesteading, prepping and alternative lifestyles. I am also happy to mentor anyone with any interests if they are based in Wales.

  • As mentioned above timezones are not too much of an issue, but steemians in Europe and Africa will be most closely matched to my online availability.

  • I am mainly based around written posts, I don't so far have experience of video posting. I also have less knowledge of the music and art areas of activity on steemit.

  • Although I have some Spanish, I will only be able to mentor in English.



I currently have capacity to take on up to 5 mentees. I would look for them to have a reputation of below 45 and to have been active on the platform for two months or less.

I expect to work with the mentees to help them become well established on the platform and to reach a reputation of 55 or thereabouts.

I will be looking for people that can commit to posting at least 3 times a week.

The main means of communication for the mentoring will be via Discord.


If you are looking for a mentor and you think we might be able to work well together please put a comment below with your brief details. Please also include a note of what you are looking for in terms of mentoring and why you think I will be suitable to help you.

I will respond to you in the comment and if we want to take it forward we can connect in Discord and discuss in more detail.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[ graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

This sounds like a great initiative man, I may end up following suit, I love this idea.

Thanks @phelimint. Let me know when you put up a mentoring statement. When there are a few I will put out a post promoting them altogether.

I need a tadpole mentor

Are you looking for a mentor?

I have added you to the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit - hope that is okay?

I could use all the help you got!

Hi Micheal, message me in Discord and we can have a chat.

Wonderful initiative and great that you are able and willing to pave the way!

Thank you. I am interested to see if this idea gets picked up by others...

Hi @ pennsif you are being paged by @mother2chicks. @aunt-deb is the culprit. 🐓🐓

Hello, how can I help you? I'm in Discord at the moment. Just tag me there or DM me.

Nothing urgent. Just when you get back to your post. 🐓🐓

I have not recieved any steem for votes and posts. Does the payments happen weekly? I need help. Please pick me. :)

again.... fantastic! I joined before you and my reputation is 57 ... so I would not at meet the requirements to be a mentee.... though I would LOVE to learn more from you! So many of us come here and go through the "phases" that you mentioned in your "I believe in Steem" article. (I was laughing out loud when I read your phases because I hit every single one of them!!!) I do believe that I've reached the... aha! stage.... however,I somehow progressed quickly without really understanding the basics of steemit. I would think I had grasped it... only to lose it once again. (which is really fine if all you want to do is come here and enjoy! But I would love to expose more people to steemit and show them the absolute thrill of it! The problem is - when they ask a question you can't really answer - you've lost them! They think its a hoax, or a waste of time, and they move onto the next conversation.) So... my interest would be in a real mentoring about the nuts and bolts of steemit. (and pleeeeeeeeeease do not tell me to read the white paper. LOL my eyes glaze over after three sentences. I like interaction and question and answers and the ebb and flow of a conversation!) Would you ever be interested in having a mentee for that? I'm not talking about every detail of steemit. I'm really talking about a diluted version of how it works that is easy to understand and easy to relate to the common person! :) I have asked several people the difference between steem dollars, steem and steem power and i STILL don't have a clue what they're trying to tell me! And I also don't really understand the concept of powering up??? but i would LOVE to know more! Care to help? :)

Hello @pennif I read your article and I am interested to it. I need more help to understand. thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59