Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Agate in a Jasper?

in #geology6 years ago

Are you a #rockhound? Use the tag and help me build a place for rockhounds to share their findings!


It's been a struggle keeping up with posts and my regular workout routine. That and my business has been picking up so I've been a little busier. One of my best customers just so happens to be pretty wealthy and we picked him up at a warehouse he just bought. It was an old fishing warehouse way back in the day. It had a lot of secret rooms and even a fully insulated, soundproofed, dexter murder scene looking torture room in the basement. It was a very picturesque and creepy old 4 story warehouse building. This made me realize that I need to wear my camera on me at all times...what awesome pictures I missed out on! It tells me there's a story to tell around every corner! With such a busy life style, sometimes my regular life consumes me and I am forced to neglect my posts. I never give up though!


Lights Off

I believe that this is a Lake Superior Jasper. I have quite a few and big ones too! This Jasper is one of the most awesome Jasper's I've ever found. In fact, I didn't find it. @honeybadger-1 did the day we went to agate beach. This was our second agate hunt of the season, but I forgot my camera because I had other errands to run before we went. Also missed out on the most amazing sunset, but there will be other days. For now, let us enjoy the jasper!

DSC_0002scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0038scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

There isn't much detail in the glow for this one, but that's the thing -- it's not supposed to! I've never seen a jasper like this. That's what makes it so unique!

DSC_0076scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0059scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!

No Shine

Just a dull jasper and I don't have a picture as I picked it since I forgot my camera that day, I've also included a picture of all the jasper I found that day. (First shown on my First Rockhounding trip of the season post. There was a lot more to be found too! I plan on going back to agate beach very soon to get more. I normally don't find that much jasper at the other beaches I frequent. You can see that the jaspers are on the right while the agates I found that day are on the left!

DSC_0101scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!

Shine

The most important part of this post -- Not only do you get to see the detail of the rock itself, but the agatized quartz or whatever is actually inside. All I know is that I see bands. Beautiful white bands...inside what appears to be a Jasper. I have never actually seen one of these so up close before so it's quite a treat. I noticed another jasper in the bunch that has a lot of character too. I want to share it. The problem is that it doesn't glow at all, so I must think of how I want to showcase it for the first picture (which makes it the thumbnail).

DSC_0106scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0112scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0170scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0186scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0206scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0116scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0157scaled.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0163scaled.JPG

Settings with Flashlight in frameISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55mm/60mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Macro LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Facts: I took a total of 69 pictures of this rock to bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 30 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

I really struggled with the glowing section of this rock. Reality is, I've never seen a jasper glow, so it was pretty rare. Lighting is an important part of these pictures, so I have to recreate the same lighting every time I take them. It's getting easier now as I've pretty much memorized what settings I want but every rock glows differently so it requires minor tweaking. Also, with the Jasper being so dark, it made it a lot more difficult to get any detail during the lights-on portion.

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rocks & Gems

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Quartz or Agate?
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Clear Quartz
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - First Agate of the Season

Older than 7 Days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - So Much Character
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Glowing Fossil
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Thin Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Steem On!


Sort:  

wow. a very beautiful rock, lucky you can get it

Thanks I do indeed feel very lucky to have access to the rocks. I hope to be able to send these to willing steemian recipients in the future.

You are welcome. hopefully quickly realized a friend.

Wooow amigo esta hermosa eres muy afortunado,saludos.

cool..... i went out today for some hunting... !! i tagged rockhound so you will find it there, it was a very good day...
20180324_133153 [Desktop Resolutie].jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70