Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Thin Agate

in #rocks7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit World! I haven't had any time to dream, so that explains the lack of a dream post. It's been a long 24 hours. So last night I started blogging around midnight and plugged away all night while binge watching Marvel's Daredevil. I normally don't watch TV but it's good to have something to watch. Next thing I knew it was morning and I had to run a few errands.

After that, instead of going to sleep like I should have, I went and picked up my buddy and went to the lake on an agate hunt in the snow! It's going to make for a great post! Speaking of posts, I have quite a few to catch up on but I am pretty sleep deprived. By the time I got home it was 4 PM and I got at best a 4 hour nap. Certainly didn't give me time to dream. Now I'm back at it, but there's no way I'm staying up all night again.


Lights Off

This agate took me by surprise. I didn't want to even use it at first. I felt it didn't have enough character but I went with it anyways. Still nice, it's also kind of thin. I don't normally find flat or thin agates, so it's always cool when I find them.

DSC_0294scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0243scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0278scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

It's always nice when they have this broken-glass texture. It gives them a unique natural polish that I do enjoy, but nothing compares to a good shiny agate.

DSC_0319scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0219scaled.JPG

Shine

It's funny how I started this segment looking forward to the way the agates glow and I spend more time getting lost into the bands after I've given it some shine. Adding oil gave this agate so much character for its size, that I ended up taking more pictures for this part of the post than the others. So much detail packed into a thin rock, so I've included some extra shots! Enjoy the show!

DSC_0325scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0328scaled.JPG

DSC_0332scaled.JPG
DSC_0338scaled.JPG

DSC_0404scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0394scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0405scaled.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0414scaled.JPG

Flashlight SettingsISO 200 35 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
Other SettingsISO 800 55 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Lens 2AF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 149 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality!

This round of pictures were taken with a mixture of my 18-55 mm lens and my new Micro 60mm lens that I just snagged up for about $400! I still get better or more desired results using the jewelers loupe with th 18-55mm though so I'll still be doing that. Using the micro lens with the jewelers loupe doesn't work well though. There's a mixture of distance between the object, lighting, and weight, but what I look forward to the most is getting nice macro shots in the field with it.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Steem On!


Sort:  

IMG_6302.JPG Its an ok one the size of 2 quarters

Thats a good one,i have one here that i am about to take a pic of , but i have to wait for the wife to wake up so i can use here phone camra.

That's a really nice one you found this time. Love all the different colors in the banding. An agate hunt is better than sleep any day lol... Good find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30