Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Glowing Fossil

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

Another day another rock to share with my Steemit Community! Today is a little different. Today I present to you a fossil that I found on the shores of Lake Superior instead of an agate. This is to say that variety is good.


I also forgot to make a post about my new Micro Lens. I mentioned it in a previous rock post, but I never actually made a post about it, which I intended. Maybe I will later.

I also want to introduce to you my new account @rockhounds (some of you may have already received upvotes from it!) This account is dedicated to manually curate legit rockhounds and #rockhound posts! If you're a rock hound, this is for you! Hopefully I can gain some support with this so that the upvotes can be higher! There's already an account that didn't have the s, so I actually considered changing the tag I use to #rockhounds (adding the s). It's not important though! I'd love to get some input by fellow steemian rockhounds!


Lights Off

I was surprised that this one glowed, however; I wasn't too surprised. Upon observing it with the naked eye, I was able to tell right away that it was going to glow. This goes to show you that it's not just agates, quarts or gems that can glow. fossils and even petrified wood can as well! I found this out when I put a strong light to a friends slab of petrified wood. It was quite the discovery! I really do like making my rocks glow, but not all of them will.

DSC_0530scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0563scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0622scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0591scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

Didn't include a macro lens or a jeweler's loupe shot without the shine. There's a good chance that I won't do this moving forward because the shined up pictures look so much better. There's still a lot of potential for a cropped macro with the unscaled pictures. I still chose three pictures because there's so much detail in this rock, it was definitely needed. Looks like a piece of Chex Mix!

DSC_0626scaled.JPG

DSC_0637scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0643scaled.JPG

Shine

Shiney rocks, fossils and agates make for quite the eye candy. The more I take pictures of small rocks, the more I love macro photography. It is something I've always wanted to do and now I finally can! Throughout the post we have 35mm, 55mm, 60mm through a dedicated macro lens and a look through a 40X25mm using the 55mm lens. I never thought I'd be able to take these pictures! Dreams really do come true!

DSC_0651scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0670scaled.JPG

DSC_0673scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

This is the second rock that I used my new Macro lens on, and I put more focus on it this time around. I am thuroughly impressed by the level of detailed and increased zoom that it brings!

DSC_0736scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0758scaled.JPG

DSC_0764scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0778scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0681scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0699scaled.JPG

DSC_0709scaled.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0727scaled.JPG

Settings with Flashlight in frameISO 200 35 mm f/4.5 1/50 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55mm/60mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Macro LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Facts: I took a total of 276 pictures of this rock to bring you the best quality! It takes me about 30-45 minutes to take the pictures, another 30 or so minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20 or so minutes to make the post!

I am curious to know what kind of fossil this is. I looked it up and tried to find an identifier but I couldn't. However; I only looked for a brief moment because I was more focused on making the post. I would like to bring open discussions to the table when I share unique finds like this one as I am not a geologist so being able to identify some of these is quite impossible for me.

It also brings me to the idea that I want to categorize all the different types of minerals and rocks found on the shores of Lake Superior. Of course, all of this information is already out there, it would be fun for me to do my own studies on it!

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Thin Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Steem On!


Sort:  

Rock hounds unite! Use the #rockhound tag when you make your rock posts! [Manually curated by @bitfiend] I also curate #geology and #rocks for the coolest rock hounds on Steemit!

I have been finding lots of fossils lately. I like the one you posted. Not sure what it is though.

Be sure to post pictures! :)

I have up-voted all your posts. I am a BIG rock hound and have a store in Roswell NM. Check out my posts at Roswellrockman.

Thanks I appreciate that! I took a look! Very nice that you helped those students with the science project! You have a brick and mortar rockhound store? I'm interested!

Wooow amigo mil gracias por compartir esto tan beneficioso para nosotros, publicaciones como etas queremos a diario que nos dejen aprendizajes y sean creativas. Felicidades..Saludos

Gracias! Me alegro que te gusta!

A tu orden amigo, desde ya te seguire me caíste muy bien, te invito a pasar por mi blog para que me des tu opinión en mis últimos contenidos sera un gran gusto contar con tu apoyo. Saludos desde ya te seguiré.

Cool rocks and pictures! I love hunting rocks by lakes.

I really need to do some rock posts... Maybe somebody will be nice enough to tell me what my all of my rocks actually are since I've always collected and never bothered with research :D

Thanks! You should do rock posts! Make sure to help me populate the #rockhound tag! I mostly look for agates, fossils and any rocks with character. As I've learned what kind of rocks I can find on the shores, I've gained a bit of knowledge on what to look for such as jasper, amythest and different types of granite. There's a lot more though

@bitfiend Wow! This is so cool! I love agates and fossils, my family and I are definitely rockhounds (on the Oregon Coast). I didn't realize you could find agates and fossils on Lake Superior, that's really neat! I went there years ago but didn't get to spend as much time there as I wish I could have. It's a beautiful place. Looks like you found a gem! That's so great you are doing what you love. If you are interested, I did a post on beachcombing the Oregon Coast if you'd like to check it out. Take care!

Awesome comment and happy to see fellow rockhounds stopping by! My friend showed me his agates a couple of years ago and I was amazed that he found them on Lake Superior, so I've been hooked ever since! I used to rock hunt as a kid but growing up in the big city I never came across much and the hobby faded away til I moved here. Just went on my first agate hunt of the year a few days ago but I haven't gotten around to posting about it. Beach combing is my favorite thing to do during the summers and sometimes I spend as much as 5 + hours in a day on the shores.

@bitfiend Thank you for checking out my post! Rockhounding definitely does captivate you and keep you coming back for more! Yes, you can absolutely lose track of time and miles combing the shores!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29