My First Rockhounding Adventure of the Season + A Short Video with Glaciers

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

Glacierssnap.jpg

Glaciers on the Lake!


Hello Steemians! Just a few days ago I was able to go rockhounding for the first time this season. I found a good bundle of rocks that are worth sharing! There's a few that have a lot of unique characteristics, but I will only pick the best ones! I'd say I only found 2-3 agates that day, and we hit up our 3 favorite spots just to see what everything looked like!

It was probably the last really cold day that we will have this winter because it's been warming up ever since and the snow is melting pretty fast. While unexpected for this time of year, I was bummed because that means I won't get to see the ice caves this year, and we also found a cool area with glaciers that are probably gone now, but I was able to capture a short video that I am sharing with you today! It was really cold so we didn't stay long, but I am happy to have been able to capture something unexpected! I didn't expect to make a video at all, and this marks my first dtube video! Well, technically my second, but my first was a failed attempt. (Pretty sure it was too large) and I was never able to get the post up. Anyways, enjoy the video!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Destination 1 - Mouth of the Amnicon River

Our first destination was worthy! We found a few pockets of sand that gave us some rocks! We had to cross the frozen mouth of the amnicon river (which dumps into lake superior) just to get there. It wasn't much, but after 4 + months of dealing with winter and not being able to hunt for rocks, it was better than nothing! Once the ice melts, we won't be able to cross again unless we have a canoe (water is too cold) or summer when we can swim across! Even then, I wouldn't bring my camera, so this area is mostly untouched as only the daredevils risk crossing...

DSC_0231scaled.JPG
DSC_0232scaled.JPG

It was hard to take pictures with my gloves on and it was too cold to take pictures with my gloves off, so I only got a few pictures of the rocks I picked just before I picked them. At best, I think it'll help other rock hounds identify worthy rocks! This is something I plan to do all summer. Of course, sometimes I find them back to back and am unable to record everything all the time.

I want to buy an action cam for this. Even though my Nikon did an excellent job, I am not sure I want to bring it out for every adventure. My battery never seems to last long enough either so I'll definitely need to buy a second one.

Here are some of the rocks I found!

DSC_0236scaled.JPG

A nice Quartz!

DSC_0240scaled.JPG
DSC_0243scaled.JPG
DSC_0245scaled.JPG

I'm not sure what this is. A quartz? A hidden agate? I bet there's bands inside.

DSC_0254scaled.JPG
DSC_0256scaled.JPG

There it is. The agate I've been needing to find!

DSC_0258scaled.JPG
DSC_0264scaled.JPG
DSC_0267scaled.JPG
DSC_0268scaled.JPG

It wasn't long before we had checked all the sandy areas and the rocks only got smaller the further down we went. Since it was extremely cold anyways, we called it quits for this spot and were happy to have found some agates.

DSC_0284scaled.JPG
DSC_0285scaled.JPG

Now it was on to our second favorite spot to see what was going on with the ice while we warmed up in the car. Here's what I picked all together:

DSC_0004scaled.JPG

Destination 2 - Lake Shore Point

Our second destination gave us no sand and no rocks. It was all frozen with giant hills of ice formed 20 feet out past the shoreline plus another 50 or so feet. We walked to the first one but didn't go any further. It was extremely windy and cold and we were expecting a snow storm [which never came].The sun was already starting to go down, so we didn't stay very long. I took a lot of pictures of the scenery though! It was so windy we could lean against the wind! Here's a few!

DSC_0378scaled.JPG

DSC_0379scaled.JPG

DSC_0425scaled.JPG

Destination 3 - Mouth of the Middle River

We didn't expect much from our third spot when it comes to agates but we were curious how frozen it still was and boy were we surprised. As you can see from the video above, the glaciers made for quite the scene! The clouds and sunset made for some beautiful shots as well! I was skeptical about walking out there with my camera because I wouldn't want to lose it if I fell through the ice. After all, we weren't sure how thick it was, but seems like we were good. Once I saw how far out @honeybadger-1 was walking, I quickly started recording and decided to join him. It made for a great video and an even better post!

DSC_0487scaled.JPG

DSC_0492scaled.JPG

DSC_0494scaled.JPG

DSC_0495scaled.JPG

The following day we went to a beach called Agate Beach in Two Harbors, MN that was absolutely amazing and I found crazy agates and jasper there. The problem is that I left the house in a hurry because I had to pick up car parts and then go from there, so I forgot my camera. Here's a picture of all the agates and jasper I found on Agate Beach!

DSC_0008scaled.JPG

Have a great day and weekend Steemians! God Bless!

@bitfiend

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

Sort:  

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "geology".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

Thanks for the support I really appreciate it! being a member grant me an upvote only when I make a post about global sciences? I will consider.

Exactly, This post for example was in the field of geology, but if you are a member, the upvotes will become bigger.

That is a awesome video, I am such a dork. I did not know I sounded like that, it's just that my voice sounds weird,and i acted really dorky. There goes my acting career.

Yeah it's so cool! hahah... i laughed at that part. You can always act like a dork, then your career is saved.

Thanks bud, it's always good to know a friend has your back.

Hey, your adventure looked like a lot of fun. Wish I could get out of the city for once -.-
May I ask what you are hunting the agate for? Are you collecting or processing?

Thanks it always is fun when we get out there in the great outdoors. I primarily hunt them for collecting, and polishing them (I have a rock tumbler) but I would also like to process and learn to be a lapidary artist so I can make jewelry as well, but that's more of a long-term goal that may prove difficult to achieve. Thanks for stopping by!

I hope that, although longterm, you will be able to achieve your goals :D
Until then I am looking forward to see your coming adventures. Now with a little less ice :P

Thanks! We were out there again today -- still a lot of ice out there!

Loved your adventure video and photos! I would love to be up there to go on some of those hikes myself!! And I see you brought home lots. Looking forward to pics of them. :)

Thanks it was actually my first video edit. It was kind of easy but it took a long time! I look forward to posting pics as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67