Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

in #rocks6 years ago

I am looking forward to sharing more rock photo's with you all this month. I'll tell you why in a later post! Today's featured rock is a Quartz Crystal that has some crazy colorful designs inside. I am not sure how this type of crystal gets formed but we have a lot of these. In most cases, I find more quartz crystal laying around when I go rock hunting than I do anything else.

I seem to be exceptionally well at finding them. Seems every other rock I grab is a quartz. Some times, these aren't quartz at all but a very unique agate. Of course, not this one, but I have had a friend find one before.


Lights Off

I don't particularly like the way this quartz glows. It's so dirty looking. That's only because it's got so much character! The more bland quartz glow like a light bulb.

DSC_0531scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0544scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0567scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

With the lights on, this thing is boring and dull. It is easy to find a rock with amazing character when its wet, and is even easier to over look a nice rock because it's dry. In this case, I wouldn't be quick to grab this one. However; as I said, there is so much quartz crystal around here that I find it hard not to grab a few as I go along.

DSC_0595scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Shine

Add a little bit of oil, and everything changes for this one. So much character and depth, when you get it when and make it shine, it's like your eyes get lost inside. 3-D swirls and pockets with different colors. I have a lot of these, and it is quite a treat even for me to get such close-up shots of what's going on inside this rock!

DSC_0604scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0639scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0615scaled.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0645scaled.JPG

Flashlight SettingsISO 200 35 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
Other SettingsISO 800 55 mm f/5.4 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 236 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality!

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

Sort:  

Wow! What a difference with the light and with the oil! Looking forward to more of you posts!!

That's what I thought too! I wanted to really showcase what the oil does, so I picked the foggiest dullest quartz in my pile. Made for great results! Thank you!

The shots through the jewelers loop brings a whole new world out of it. You got some serious camera skills.

Thanks it's not exactly easy holding the camera and the loupe still. Many times I get frustrated as I take more blurry and unusable shots with the loupe than any of the other shots. I was looking at some of the rock posts I made before I got a new camera and having the camera has added to the work, but certainly added quality to my posts as well.

I can imagine it's quite the challenge. Looks great from my end.

That is good to hear thanks! I think they look good but what matters more to me is that others agree.

I call it "the money shot" when I finally get a decent shot. It's cool how you break everything down too. The # of photo's and such...

Yeah sometimes there's no telling if I got it or not til I check out the results later. That's one thing I learned right away about photography. You'll take hundreds and only use a handful.

Definitely something you have to enjoy doing... Lol

You might want to try the #geology tag next time. Might get a bit more exposure.

I noticed you used that tag in your post , I'll be sure to try it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:05:26
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 278.99/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68