Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - So Much Character

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

Another day for this #rockhound to share an agate with you!


It's been a long night and is turning into an even longer morning! I still haven't gone to bed! It was a busy saturday night and calls came in steadily, and then at 2:30am I realized that it was daylight savings time and it was really 3:30am. This effectively caused me to lose an entire hour! So it's now 10am (supposed to be 9) and I have to adjust to the new time change.

This means that spring is basically here! It snowed a little bit this morning and is barely snowing now, so it's not quite spring for us yet, but spring is officially here in 9 days! (March 20th). This means the meltdown is coming, I must renew my fishing license, and get ready to start spending days outside fishing and rock hunting!

In other amazing news, if you haven't noticed, my previous agate post was curated by curie! I can't believe it! Thank you curie! I am honored that this is the second time curie has upvoted me since I started on steemit! I can't wait to power those earnings up!


Lights Off

Today's agate has character all around. It glows, it glows differently from two angles, it shines without shine and it shines even more with shine! I think I am definitely sharing more pictures with this one because it has so much character!

DSC_0546scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0556scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0563scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

I have a hard time deciding which lens I like to use the most. It really ads a close, closer and closest effect with the three subcategories! I like it!

DSC_0598scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0622scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

DSC_0577scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0587scaled.JPG

No Shine

Even without shine, this thing screams at me with color and detail. The more I looked at it the more I wanted to get it oiled up for a better look! I hadn't even looked at it through the jewelers loupe yet, I seem to enjoy going in mostly blind. I observe it, but nothing compares to a close-up!

DSC_0636scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0651scaled.JPG

Shine

Once again, as awesome as the agates look when they glow, I feel that the shine takes the cake every time This agate is small. To be honest, I wasn't so sure about it. I felt like I was wasting me time and I'd end up deleting the pictures because I want to bring you amazing agates, not just any agate. There are a lot of agates that I toss in the throwaway pile for tumbling, in hopes that I can make it beautiful. This one completely stunned me the closer I got.

DSC_0655scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0664scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0680scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

The closer I got, the more amazing detail I got. The yellow part of the agate is filled with hundreds of tiny little bands. They were hard to capture with the loupe! There are bands everywhere! Take a look!

DSC_0765scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0784scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0799scaled.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0685scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0698scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0715scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0746scaled.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0814scaled.JPG

Settings with Flashlight in frameISO 200 35 mm f/4.5 1/50 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55mm/60mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Macro LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Facts: I took a total of 287 pictures of this rock to bring you the best quality! It akes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 30 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

I am pretty amazed by the level of detail I am able to capture with the macro lens, so I am thoroughly satisfied with my purchase! For the most part, the settings of my shots haven't changed much, however; I seem to struggle to get the effect I want when the flashlight is in the frame. I did put new batteries in it, so that may have been the difference. More light changed it just enough to make a difference.

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Glowing Fossil
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Thin Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Steem On!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44