Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Clear Quartz

in #rocks7 years ago

Another gem to share with every #rockhound


I love the new segment I've started where I will provide a picture of the rock just before I picked it up. I may have a few other ideas lined up for the #rockhound tag as well! The more rockhounds I run into the harder it becomes for this minnow to curate so please show your support! Show me your rocks!


Lights Off

I was remarkably surprised by the results of this little quartz. I think it would make an awesome charm for a necklace just as it is. A little polishing and it's ready to go, as it's mostly already naturally tumbled. It's rocks like this one that give me the idea to drill a tiny little hole and stuff a mini LED light into the gem complete with some kind of switch just to make it glow. It's like a little light bulb!

DSC_0002scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0021scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

Some closer detail with the macro lens, I can't get over how this quartz just pops out. The design within is pretty cool too. I wonder what this is as there are a lot of quartz with designs like this.

DSC_0071scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

I faught to get some detail with the jewelers loupe this time around. It wasn't exactly easy and I had to go back for more pictures before I could finish the post. It was a race against the sun because I can't take these pictures during the day since I don't have a single room that can block 100% of the light.

DSC_0008scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

Just a dull, natural tumble, I am pretty satisfied with my idea to provide pictures just as I pick it. It gives this section a little bit more character and also allows me to display the rock in nature as I find it. This segment will prove worthy as long as it's a freshly picked agate that I just so happened to take a picture of. This won't always be easy, but it also means that I will focus more on only sharing pictures of agates that are freshly picked. There are still a handful that I just have to share though.

DSC_0078scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Just before I Picked it

I am going to have to pick like an additional 180 agates so that when winter comes I can still post a picture of the agate as I picked it!

DSC_0240scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0245scaled.JPG

Shine

A perfect example of how awesome this thing would look as a charm. Maybe some copper twirled around it so that it stays in place! I need to start working on my polishing skills for sure. It will surely take some work!

DSC_0080scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0109scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

DSC_0102scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

How Big is it?

DSC_0103scaled.JPG

Settings with Flashlight in frameISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55mm/60mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Macro LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Facts: I took a total of 168 pictures of this rock to bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 30 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

I've been forgetful of what settings I use and corrected what I use for the flashlight to get a darker background. I was using 1/50 instead of 1/100. Now I'm back to the results I like when the lights are off. All of my agate pictures are taken in manual mode and manual focus. It's difficult keeping the camera still and I have to be in the same position to get the best effect every time. The only thing that is set to auto is white balance.

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rocks & Gems

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - First Agate of the Season

Older than 7 Days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - So Much Character
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Glowing Fossil
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Thin Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Colorful Quartz Crystal

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Steem On!


Sort:  

Great picture! I like it :)
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future :)

How about no. First of all, you didn't even upvote. This is not bringing value to the platform at all. Neither is your comment spam

@steemflagrewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51