Ravaged!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Despite the message that we got that our vegetable garden may have been ravaged by the code red windstorm, my husband and I decided to sleep in today just because it's Sunday! Isn't it supposed to be a rest day?

It's past lunch but we're still in bed but our anacondas starting to go on strike and caused our tummies to sound just like that of the howling wind so we had no choice but to get up and go on our morning routine pretty sluggish.

It wasn't our intent to haste nor hurry, if indeed our veggie garden has been ravaged - cest' la vie. What can't be undone can't be undone but life goes on and we should move on.

I dressed up for the garden,brought me my bear hat and my D Eye. When we got there the sun was near setting. I told my husband, I forgot to mention he should bring a saw cause we might have fallen trees, for the fireplace. It's near dusk though so he just shrugged his shoulders. We switched to our gardening footwear in the parking lot but before we drove in, we already saw some of the damaged pergolas and green houses.

Yeah... our vegetable garden's indeed ravaged. This much ...

Exhibit #1:

3.jpg

10.jpg

Yeah .. this bad ...

4.jpg

3c.jpg

Exhibit #2:

7.jpg

8.jpg

Exhibit #3:.

9.jpg

9b.jpg

Exhibit #4:. Yeah .. this is the worst cause this is even promising such a YUM smoothie in the near morrow.

2.jpg

Okay .. seriously now, it was as we expected it to be. Before the autumn vacay we've tidied up everything that could get broken or blown away by some harsh wind so we didn't really have much damages except for the grape plant but this was not the first time it happened and we're planning to bring that down because it's been catching mildew from the acorns and spreading it.

5.jpg

6.jpg

We just did a bit more of weeding and trimming and that's it cause everything is so so wet now we can't really do much. We left with two plastic bags full of kale some broccoli and chard.

11.jpg

12.jpg

We left because the moon was already up and this is what you can see on both horizons. Even they are already resting plus my fingers are starting to feel the cold. Three degrees ain't a party.

14.jpg

The street lamps are already on so it's really time to go. We switched to our winter footwear and got in the car but my husband stepped outside so while he was doing whatever in there, I opened the window and took this. When my husband got back in, he asked why I didn't use the lens with a farther reach. I told him, my fingers are near freezing, they sting and changing lens would be risky and showed him that a damn airplane left a chem trail!

13.jpg

Oh well... time to move on, tomorrow opens to a new week ahead. I hope you've all had a great weekend! Have a great a week ahead!

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my Nikon D3400 + AF-P NIKKOR 18-55mm(with flash) .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.

paid posts:



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Dear @englishtchrivy....what a lovely write-up of your day.

The photographs are an enjoyable picture story....... it looks bitter cold....so glad you have some veggies from the garden to bring home...do hope you have a cuppa and get warm soon.

Enjoyed hearing about your day mon ami.....it sounds like you had fun....there are few things more satisfying than a quick working adventure to the garden.

Wishing you and yours a lovely evening.

A bientot.

thanks a lot mon ami

yes pretty cold haha
but it was fun going there as always
I was hoping to see the red breast robin that always hops around beside me when I was gardening in autumn but I guess we haven't been there for quite a long time so it wasn't there yesterday
I guess I got attached I hope it was just there somewhere

I hope its warm where you are!

Hiya.....The red breast robin....is the best.....they are the sort that always bring a smile with the cheery look about them.

Do wish you would have had opportunity to see the wee creature though.

No worries....they are God's creatures....He has them in His care.....perhap next time...he/she will say hello.

Cheers mon ami.

NB Thank you for your kind wishes...a bit warmer here....hoping the same for you. Lets have a cuppa.

very nice vegetables and garden. I am really sorry :( as soon as this will be good. @englishtchrivy

When I saw the photos I thought that it was not all that bad. And while reading I got it. :-)

Springtime it will be great to jump back into the garden.

Great cam the D isnt it?

yes I was just fooling around hehe
maar veel mensen trappen daar toch in
omdat ze niet echt lezen

ja, ik hou van mijn D Eye :D

Slim. ;-)

Ben ook nog steeds blij met m'n D.

This gerden very nice,,i like your story..i appreciate your blog..thanks for sharing this post,,best of luck.

I think you and your husband are hardworking, you have a high spirit, I am sure your garden is very fertile, and all that will be resolved.

I love lazy Sundays and know exactly that anaconda sound coming from our bellies!
It seems you still can save some resistant kales of your garden, hope it gets better soon. Have a great week as well!

yes, me too
who works on sundays hahaha
I hope you're having a great night ;)

I work on Sundays...SundayCooks!!! Ahah, but not in the warm season ;) Fortunately, ​I just need 10 more SundayCook until the #52 to get my goal.

Destructive power of the mother nature is a great reminder to us that we should not interfere with her ways of maintaining the balance with various forces. We cut down tree to build great apartments and malls, we change the flow of the river, we kill aquatic life just for the comfort of us.

again what a pity! but u can't control nature, can u?
it's one of those uncontrolable things in life ...

I don't know what you read but this post is just a sarcasm

oh i see
i got it wrong again! seems i am no Yoda after all
omg. i magnified your picture of the moon
to see any craters
and there's your name at the bottom of the moon
@englishtchrivy
:D

all of my pics have my names on them he he

that's clever :D
how do u do that?

Ohhhh that's not bad at all. They are all fighters!!! Glad y'all are safe. Be safe and stay warm!!!

poor vegetables :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66