The Secret In Getting A Cherimoya Seed To Successfully Germinate

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

a.jpg

Have you ever eaten a Cherimoya? Then, we bought know that texture wise it's like an "atis" and taste wise it's like a sour sop but closer to a balanced sugared milk. In short YUM but I can't really finish a whole cherimoya because I still find it too sweet.

The cherimoya I bought here didn't really come from here so when a lot of them showed up in a store this year, I've decided to experiment some time in October using the secret of successfully making any plant germinate from seed as I've learned from my grandparents. Would you like to know what those steps are? Let me spill it out then.

Buy a cherimoya fruit.

Cut them into half and take the seeds off (not everyone can peel the seeds in their mouths like most tropical peeps can by rubbing the seed back and forth against their tongue and palate) using a fork. If you still decide to do it with your mouth make sure you don't get to bite any seed it's poisonous and not meant to be eaten.

c.jpg

Wash the seeds off and let soak in lukewarm water (I normally do this on seeds that I left to dry but since this one's not from here, I did it, too) Look! One's already growing a tail, I mean a root!.

b.jpg

Get some loam soil, place the seed on top and cover with more soil. (not too deep btw)

Give the soil a drink.

d.jpg

I planted two sets of them, three indoors in a pot along with a persimmon and four kumquat seeds so I covered it with sand to prevent the fly's eggs from hatching out of it. The rest are in a mini green basket inside the small green house.

Place them where there is direct sunlight and heating (I put mine on top of the heating in the kitchen).

Water once a week (just average watering).

e.jpg

A week before New Year, I saw some of them sprouting and on New Year's Day the very first one broke through with the cotyledon still attached to it.

f.jpg

g.jpg

h.jpg

i.jpg

What's the secret now you asked? Plant the seed right after eating and give all the proper care it needs. Well, make sure you planted a healthy looking seed as well, nothing rotten would grow eh? Green thumb? I don't know about you but this alien's got them both chocolate toned!

Now that you know it, it's no longer a secret isn't it? In fact, you can do this to almost every seed. The next challenge I have is to grow it till it fruits!

Who has a cherimoya plant at home? Do you happen to know how many years it takes before it flowers? We had soursop in my grandpa's yard back then and for all I know they are related but I wonder, would they flower within two to three years given the right conditions needed to grow them? 10% upvote to anyone who could tip that but only do if you yourself are growing them, too. Thank you!

This content's 100% mine. As I mentioned, I took most of the pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 last year and the rlast one with my Nikon D3400 + AF-P NIKKOR 18-55mm(with flash) .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

It’s kind of funny that your post appears on the same day I have planted my seeds. I never tasted a Cherimoya, it’s almost impossible to find one here in Belgium, but when I read about it I was instantly fascinated. A friend of mine got his hands on some seeds and sent me some.
I put them in between layers of moist kitchen paper for 3 days. When I checked them this morning, they had changed colour (from dark brown to normal brown, and there was som mild one one of them. I wasjes it off and planted them in soil.
I’m so curious to find out whether they will germinatr or not.. exciting times :-)

I would never know
I have never planted anything like that
but you washed them off so perhaps they would
I hope they do
when they do you can post about it
I wish you luck :)

this is the way the biology manuals should look like! :)

Yea, Ivy, can you grow some herbs with strawberry cheesake flavour?

you wish ex-jedi
sure, but I'd tamper the strawberry flavor he he

Reconozco que no sabìa que era la cherimoya; me obligaste a investigar un poquito y pude recoger que es una fruta con un sabor exquisito como la fresa; debo buscar una para comerla. En cuanto a la germinaciòn y crecimiento de la semilla, no tengo mayor informaciòn, pero agradezco el trabajo que estàs publicando. Greetings.

Hell yes! My first time eating a cherimoya was an eye-opening experience. It QUICKLY became my favorite fruit of all time. I've never grown it from seed though, so this guide is going to be very helpful this year.

~ Kevin

it was a YUM moment wasn't it?
I used to finish two of those when I was younger but now.. I lost my sweet tooth it's hard
These days, I share most of the sweets with my husband he loves them, too
Good luck and if you decide to plant them too I hope they grow

The secret for me is to freeze them, then it tastes like a strawberry/banana smoothie - at least to me!

I used to do that but that's cause we could buy a lot of these before but here barely, I'd be lucky if I could get 5 so I take advantage of the enzymes in it
freezing any fruit is yum but it kills most enzymes or all of it
I eat fruits for the enzymes keep me young
you won't believe am 40 if you see me :D

Didn't know what is cherimoya, before reading this. Thanks for sharing it !!

Great post tnx for sharing I just upvote check out my post steemit all the way

WoOoW yiu have green hands like we saying in Norway 🇳🇴... Maybe you should start growing some herbs with super many benefits? Haha.. Thans you hope you are well... ✌️😎

very good dear

Ini my country this fruit has name boh tiba rasa and this is my favorites fruit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53