The Greedy Duck

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever fed some birds? I only did it once and never again cause I grew up with fowls in the Philippines. My grandparents had quails, chickens, ducks and geese back then. I love them except for the geese, the Philippine geese stink a lot and it looks a bit similar to that of the female duck here compared to the common white duck we have. We never fed them bread only grains or seeds but never bread.

a1.jpg

Until now, I can't understand why ducks and seagulls fight for the bread when they're being given a lot but I guess its just their animal instinct. This feeding frenzy was actually their second batch. When I first saw them they were being fed by a couple with a baby in a walker, probably just showing the baby them damn ducks and gulls.

They got a load of bread from the couple cause I saw a plastic of bread on each of them. It was probably just half an hour later or less when a woman who just picked up her son in the day care nearby threw them half a loaf of bread when I saw this happen.

b.jpg

That female duck he's pecking is actually his mate. I'd be damned if my husband peck me over some piece of bread. Well .. they're animals so she's tolerated him I suppose.

I just thought, why on earth does he have to peck on her instead of just share the food like emperor penguins do and lose the bread to another female as you see on the thumbnail above.

I just realized them damn fowls are f...in' greedy! They look so damn innocent you'd like feeding them and watch them looking so tame till you see their real colors. Such opportunists! Like bears in sheep's clothing! Yes bears! Why? They're worse than wolves they look so cute you'd want to cuddle one. That innocent looking!

c1.jpg

c1a.jpg

By the way .. what ya' say greedy duck ... ?

c2.jpg

Quack!?..

c3.jpg

... Ain't karma such a bitch?!..(wink, wink)

This content's 100% mine. I took those pics with my Nikon D3400 + AF-S NIKKOR 55-200mm VR II, all cropped.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Follow Me @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs of these irresistible creatures....even if you have caught their dark side. ^__^

There is something so compelling about ducks.....

Wishing you a lovely weekend.

Lets have a cuppa.

A bientot mon ami.

thanks!

it was a great weekend
yesterday, I got to do what I really want to do and today, we went to you probably know where!
now tired after strolling in the cold
why does it seem colder in the woods?
I'd like to have hot choc in front of the fire now
but cannot .. am posting sighssssss ...
but if I don't some peeps think you're on awol boo~~
we also have a life outside don't they?

let's go have a cuppa! shall we do bonfire by the river bank? too cold now huh?

I like the story behind your shots... oh well, ducks maybe greedy, but there is something in them that I love especially how excited they are when they know they are about to be fed..

I read it. Are they always in the river every day? Nice shot!

Thanks to the great photography for you to share such beautiful photos among us

Beautiful wildlife photography. Ducks give me the vibrations of peacefulness always.

why did you draw a blue duck ? "because ive never seen a blue duck before and i wanted to see a blue duck"

Nice photos, and great (and accurate!) observations on birds and food. We used to keep ducks because we lived on a small river, and there was always tremendous rivalry between the ducks and the different breeds of ducks.

It was interesting because the ducks were generally very sweet and gentle birds you could pick up and they would just sit there peacefully... but when there was food involved, they could become quite aggressive... and as you showed, even attacked their own mates over a bit of food. It's probably just instinct...

thank you

yes they're very very soft, too
specially the babies but when it comes to food ...
like some peeps here over rewards lol

The ducks are very cute in the water, they often swim and that's the habitat. I also have a cute little duck.

yes I love them pure yellow a day old
your pic?

She is very cute. I am very happy to see even while feeding them. Sometimes I like to play with them makes me happy.

poor geese ;(
anyways great post with lots of nice pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56763.93
ETH 2963.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34