April Gaming

in #gaming6 years ago

April 2018 Gaming

Currently: 91,585/100,000 Gamerscore

Hello fellow gamers and steemians. Following last month’s post, March Gaming we’re taking a look at games I played this month and am looking forward to playing in May.

In this What-am-I-playing type of series, I’ve recently decided to give some short thoughts on the games I’m playing on Xbox One as well as getting back into achievement hunting and push for 100,000+ gamerscore.

Notice
More recently I’ve had some more time to dive deeper into some old games and new and I’ll be giving quick looks into what games I’m playing. I’ll be giving “rough scores” that represent overall how I feel about the games so far. This won't be full on reviews of the games. I’ll go further into detail about just one game in a separate post for lengthier reviews.


profpic april .PNGQuick screenshot from the Xbox App showing my profile, progress, as well as some Rick and Morty love

Currently: 91,585/100,000 Gamerscore


The format for these posts is as follows,

Game: Title
Type: Game Genre
Rough Score: Rough rating at the time of writing.
Similar games: Games that I’ve played/tried that are similar or have similar aspects.
Why?: Why I’ve been playing it recently.
Verdict: Get it? Don’t Get it? Alternatives?


I’ll be providing screenshots from the games, some may even work as wallpapers for you fans of the games. For future posts, I may replicate some of these posts if I am still playing certain games and dive a little deeper into why those games have kept my attention.

The format may change over time


April has been a busy month for me with work and other stuff so I only played a few games when I could. I also spent a good amount of time watching my girlfriend play the new God of War game, which I'd recommend in an instant. I got to check out more games while I was at PAX EAST than I did while I was at home! Let’s start with a game that I’ve run out of things to do in..


Saints Row IV Re-Elected.png

Game: Saints Row IV: Re-Elected
Type: Open World Action (Remastered)
Rough Score: 7/10
Similar games: Prototype, Crackdown Series, Saints Row Series with superpowers
Why?:

  • Got a full 1200/1200 gamerscore on this one while achievement hunting and have enjoyed the game thoroughly. I was happy getting a lot of achievements that say only 2% or less of Xbox players have them and when I saw The Challenge King (complete all the challenges) achievement pop up. I was so relieved not to have to perfect any more challenge scores..
  • Saints Row was one of my first games on the Xbox 360 and I’ve enjoyed all the others since, so naturally I checked this one out.
  • I did play Saints Row IV a few years ago and didn’t get too far into it so I had to go back and finish it now that I’m going through my library of games.
  • I guess my itch to go from roof to roof collecting orbs (or data clusters) needed scratching while I wait for the next Crackdown game.

Verdict: When Saints Row originally came out I would of described it as GTA with more dirty jokes, cursing, and crazy antics, but this time around this fourth installment takes what the other three games were all about and goes even crazier with powers, aliens, and much more. I think if they left it at IV and didn’t pursue further titles, they would end the series at a good chapter in my book. The game and it’s DLC took me around 44 hours to get to 100% and even if it may have been annoying to earn gold in all the challenges at times, it still was a lot of fun and I definitely felt accomplished after finishing everything. I would say it’s worth the current $20 price tag I’m seeing. If you own the XBOX GAME PASS you can play it free with your subscription as well!


Neverwinter.png

Game: Neverwinter
Type: MMO RPG
Rough Score: 5/10
Similar games: Other Freemium MMO RPGs but in a D&D realm
Why?:

  • Mopping up achievements.
  • Checking out how much the game has changed since I last explored..
  • Checking up on my old profession skills that I enjoyed doing.
  • Checking the value of older lockboxes and items like I speak about in my Neverwinter, Economics, and Cryptocurrency? post.

Verdict: It’s free, so it’s for me. Don’t let my score of 5/10 fool you, it’s still a great game. I’ll probably always come back to the game to check the worth of various items and see what’s new but I personally wouldn’t become a regular player again. With all the hours I’ve put into the game so far, I feel like I’ve explored and done a good amount, especially with almost 3 level 60+ characters. I still need to work towards some other achievements in my spare time, one of them being multiple level 70 characters, so I guess I’m not fully done with Neverwinter yet.


Honorable Mentions

I sampled a few newer games out as well as jumped back into some older ones in between work, but not long enough to write any verdicts yet.


The Surge.png

The Surge is exactly what I’m expecting from it so far, but I am just grinding out one of the earlier areas so I don’t get trashed later on.. I’ve learned my lesson from Dark Souls and the others..


Far Cry® 5.png

So far the couple hours my girlfriend and I have put into Far Cry 5 was the basic tutorial, killing a few cultists, and fish for money lol so we have to get further into this one before I write more.


Games I’ll be playing over the next month


The Sims™ 4.png

Far Cry® 5.png

TERA (Open Beta).png

The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim Special Edition (23).png

#gaming #review #xbox #achievement #gamerscore #saintsrow #neverwinter



91585.png

Gamer | Designer | Architectural Draftsman | Full Time Nerd

Related Content:
March Gaming
I am a Gamer

Recent Posts:
Dérive Episode 010
Dérive Episode 009
PAX 2018 Trip - Saturday at PAX East
PAX 2018 Trip - Friday at PAX East
PAX 2018 Trip - Games Galore!
PUBG at PAX East 2018

Featured:
MetamorphoSims - 1Fam - 01 - Intro

Sort:  

I truly appreciate the categorical breakdown and your details for each title you’ve played. It made for an easy and insightful read. Best of luck on your road to 100,000+. That is def and achievement!

Thanks! That's exactly what I'm going for, and if I can help someone pick out a game or two to play, even better! Thanks again, and let's see how long it takes to get 100,000 lol.

Nice article and variety of games. I played and loved the earlier saints game to which it was also one of my first xbox 360 game as well. I've been been meaning to get Far Cry. I'm a big fan of most Ubisoft game. They have very good devs.

As for the rest, Tera is a gorgeous game for many reasons and we should do a Skyrim collab if I can get my game up and running. Turns out my Microsoft DVR on my comp works better than OBS so I'm back in the game. Pun intended. :P

If Saints was one of your first games as well, you'll appreciate this,

Saints I Main Menu.png

Keeping it spoiler free, but at some point you end up at this menu with the old games menu music and everything! I was really happy they put this in the game, that nostalgia lol..

If you enjoyed the Assassins Creed games you played, you may also like Assassins Creed in Chicago (Watchdogs I) or Assassins Creed in Mordor (Shadow of Mordor/War) if you haven't checked those out lol. As for for the Far Cry series, I highly recommend playing Far Cry 3, Vaas Montenegro is one of my favorite antagonists in gaming hands down. Far Cry 4 I got lost in the open world and the campaign wasn't as memorable for me, so I'd almost say, play 3 and then 5 lol.

Nice that's dope. I absolutely love Shadow of Mordor and Shadow of War. I can def record so of those games. Watchdogs I'm so so on.

I'm definitely interested in some Skyrim collab, I still have my Skyrim lore infused story in the works so that should be an interesting side project that I hope people would enjoy the read and content I would get straight from the game.

Glad to hear you got that streaming issue resolved, that should get you your frame rate back >.<

I don't think there's a person in the world who didn't get trashed playing Dark Souls :)

This is awesome. Do you have a capture card or a way to stream/make videos? You could do really well on Dlive.

Thanks for the comment! I currently do not have a working cap card, and would not have a lot of time to stream consistently but am going to try. I've streamed on my Twitch page as well as the LmG Twitch page in the past and am interested in getting back into it again.

Most of my video content has been going to my DTube page that's been consisting of some chill travel/Dérive music videos that you may enjoy during some of your gaming sessions. I'm actually going to try posting some more gaming stuff on Dlive that's part of my series. I checked out your page and am interested in watching some of your streams and maybe gaming on Xbox one of these days. Game on man.

Thanks again for the encouragement and be sure to check back for more gaming content.

That's awesome. I'll definitely have to check out more of your content. One thing you might want to consider is Dlive does not take any of your rewards and you can post videos and livestream there. Definitely worth checking out.
And if you're an xbox gamer it might be worth checking out this Discord I set up. I'm trying to get together the other xbox'ers on Steemit. It's a place we can post videos, streams, and memes. https://discord.gg/qhpW4HR
Definitely would be cool to have you. Plus it's another place to post your content.

Thanks for all the information, I'm going to look further into Dlive and I just signed up for discord. I'm looking forward to checking out the discord channel and all it has to offer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21