March Gaming

in #gaming6 years ago

March Gaming

Hello fellow gamers. This is my first post of my review series where I'll be breaking down games I'm currently playing. I’ve recently decided to give some brief thoughts on the games I’m playing on Xbox One as well as get back into achievement hunting to push for 100,000 + gamerscore. (I am already 90,080/100,000 at the time of writing this)

I used to be an achievement hunter like you.. But then I took an arrow to the knee.. AKA college/work/life and over the past couple of years I’ve played games more spread out and haven't played any games lately (besides Prey) that have really stood out. More recently I’ve had some extra time to dive deeper into some old games and new and I’ll be giving quick looks into what games I’m playing. I’ll be giving “rough scores” that represent overall how I feel about the games so far. This won't be full on reviews of the games. I’ll go further into detail about just one game in a separate post for lengthier reviews.


90k pic.PNG

Currently: 90,0080/100,000 Gamerscore

For these reviews, to keep them as quick and to the point, I’ll be formatting it like this,

Game: Title
Type: Game Genre
Rough Score: Rough rating at the time of writing.
Similar games: Games that I’ve played/tried that are similar or have similar aspects.
Why?: Why I’ve been playing it recently.
Verdict: Get it? Don’t Get it? Alternatives?

I’ll be providing screenshots I've taken from the games, some may even work as wallpapers for you fans of the games. For future posts, I may replicate some of my points if I am still playing certain games and dive a little deeper into why those games have kept my attention.

The format may change over time


As we wrap up March for our first post, I’m putting together games that I’ve been playing and are worth mentioning as well as games I’m looking forward to playing next month.


Diablo III Reaper of Souls – Ultimate Evil Edition.png

Game: Diablo III: Reaper of Souls
Type: Dungeon-Crawler Action RPG
Rough Score: 10/10
Similar games: Path of Exile, The incredible Adventures of Van Helsing
Why?:

  • Now that I’m achievement hunting I have all the achievements for this game except the 500 bounties and DLC ones. Recently I reached level 70 on 6 different classes for the “Dream Team” achievement and this is one that I’m probably most proud of and it helped me appreciate the game even more by playing with all the characters.
  • I check on Diablo III every once in a while to see what’s new, but after beating it so many times (PC, Xbox 360, and Xbox One) and friends not playing it anymore, I haven’t had a huge reason to come back to it. That doesn’t mean I didn’t love the game and still think its amazing compared to similar games. Wrapping up these achievements lately, I’m tempted to purchase the Necromancer pack and start a new character all over again! I don’t think I’ll be “done” with Diablo III for a while.

Verdict: If you’ve never played, get the game and get ready to dump some great hours into this game. Diablo set the tone for top-down dungeon crawler action rpgs and even with more recent games like Path of Exile or the Van Helsing series of games, nothing truly compares to Blizzard’s game.


The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim Special Edition (23).png

Game: Skyrim: Special Edition
Type: RPG
Rough Score: 10/10
Similar games: The Fable series of games, Fallout 4, Fallout 3, Mass Effect, Oblivion
Why?:

  • Recently thanks to some Steemians like @playfulfoodie and @gaming-stuff, I’ve decided to not only get back into Skyrim after a bit of a break, but I am starting to write a Skyrim Fiction to go along with my gameplay. I’ll be posting those over time as I figure out how I want to format my stories, but I hope you guys enjoy when I do.
  • It’s hard not for me to revisit this great game. I’ve always been a huge fan of Skyrim since it launched and even have the collector’s edition with the Alduin Dragon Statue I’m glad I got.

Verdict: I’ll be playing Skyrim for a while to come and you should be too. The game alone is amazing and provides endless hours of adventuring and questing. I prefer games like these on my console so with all the mod support on Xbox alone, you can play much more than just the Vanilla version of the game. With some small tweaks you can increase your graphics, lore, environment, and more or play the game completely different and go crazy with the various mods that alter your gameplay and story.


TERA (Open Beta).png

Game: TERA (Open Beta)
Type: MMORPG
Rough Score: 8/10
Similar games: Secret World Legends, Neverwinter, AION, Global Mu Online, WoW
Why?:

  • I’ve already played this game for a few months on the PC and enjoyed my time with it. When I heard about the beta I was excited to hear it was coming to console.
  • My last two games that were anything like this were The Secret World and I suppose AION. TSW only because it’s another faster paced MMORPG and the freemium model they're pushing. AION because of the artwork and detail of the game.
  • “In TERA, you aim, dodge, and time your attacks for an intense and rewarding tactical combat experience. TERA's expansive content is totally free to play, from character creation all the way to level 65 and beyond.” -source

Verdict: If it’s free, it’s for me. When the game launches, it'll be a freemium title, so what do you have to lose by checking it out? MMORPGs aren’t for everyone and this one is definitely an easy one to get into even if you’ve never played one before. For the Xbox, I was very happy with the button mapping on the controller and would rather play on my console than computer.


Tesla vs Lovecraft (2).png

Game: Tesla vs Lovecraft
Type: Twin-stick shooter
Rough Score: 7/10
Similar games: #killallzombies, Zombie Apocalypse: Never Die Alone, Geometry Wars
Why?:

  • When I heard there was a game with Nikola Tesla against H.P. Lovecraft, I couldn’t help but look into it. After watching the trailer that provided some quick laughs and noticing it was an aesthetically pleasing twin-stick shooter, I decided to pick up this indie title.
  • Being a huge fan of Geometry Wars and games like Zombie Apocalypse, what a better way to enjoy them im a game that has similar aspects from both.

Verdict: $15 for a twin-stick shooter like this that you can play solo or with a friend is worth it if you’re into the genre. I did a post on the game and have a stream up on dlive of the first part of the game if you want to check out the game more.


Games I’ll be playing over the next month

The Sims™ 4.png

The Surge.png

Left 4 Dead.png

#gaming #review #xbox #achievement #gamerscore #diablo3 #diablo #dungeoncrawler #skyrim #rpg #elderscrolls #tera #mmorpg #teslavslovecraft #twinstickshooter



Gamer | Designer | Architectural Draftsman | Full Time Nerd

Related Content:
I am a Gamer

Recent Posts:
Dérive Episode 005
Tesla vs Lovecraft - Normal Plane
Dérive Episode 004
Neverwinter, Economics, and Cryptocurrency?

Sort:  

Interesting format for your review(s) you're doing here. It's good to have your own style like this. Sometimes we need a long and in-depth game review, but other times we also want something quick but enough to make us sure whether we want to play the game or not. Great post!

Thanks! Exactly what I'm going for. My biggest goal with these shorter reviews would be to give a quick taste of the games and if I felt it's worth getting or if there are alternatives. If I can help someone make some gaming decisions, I would definitely feel like I've accomplished something.

hello sir - love the content and attention to detail in your reviews - may i ask what platforms are you reviewing on besides xbox? im a pc-PS4 pro hybrid gamer, so just thought id ask the obvious question - keep up the concise work - also what FPS are you getting? latency or lag? im a follower now

ps..........................................PICKLE RICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the follow and the comments. My girlfriend and I have a PS4 but she does most of the gaming on that console. I've been watching her play the remastered Shadow of the Colossus game and Horizon Zero Dawn lately and we're both looking forward to the next God of War game so I might have to write some reviews for some PS4 titles as well for the exclusives. If I do manage to get around to PC reviews it may be for some indie games that aren't on console but for now I'm primarily focusing on games on the Xbox.

also what FPS are you getting? latency or lag?

I guess it varies per game but with the Xbox One X anywhere from 30-60 FPS depending on the game. Especially if it's an Xbox One Enhanced Title which those games are supposed to highlight the power of the newer version of the console. Skyrim for example is at least a consistent 30 FPS from tests I've seen online but with recent updates may be running much better. Having played the more intensive games on the Xbox like Ark: Survival Evolved and P.U.B.G. on both the Xbox One S and the X, and seen side by side comparisons, the Xbox One X is a serious piece of hardware.

Hope you enjoy my content and LMAO, I need to watch that episode again, especially for the sewer rat scene.

Haha that Rick graphic! Agree with Skyrim, did you know they have a VR version now? Have you tried it?

I've heard the VR version is interesting but I haven't had a chance to try it out. Not sure if I would be able to get used to it, especially after playing for long lengths of time in dungeons lol. As for the rick graphic, it was from a shirt I got from my Lootgaming crate and I couldn't of been happier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33