Five minute free write - describe a bird

in #freewrite6 years ago

trip proofs 51.jpg

My arms stretch out until they can reach no more, fingers spread wide, feeling.

The wind is cold, streaming by my face, gliding over my back and under my chest. Each gust, each current, pushing me up and dropping me down. My heart flutters at an uncountable pace as I begin the hunt.

My stomach is small, hungry, always hungry. I am a killer, a hunter of things. My eyes search far below, along a smear of color and shapes. From so high, nothing is clear, except what I seek. A tiny flicker, motion, disturbance, my mind a spider web waiting for the fly.

The sun above warms my back.

Unnoticed in my search, my daily tasks of survival take precedence. Nothing is more important than what I seek. Each moment, each day, filled with that one thing.

A flutter below me. I gently pull in one arm and swing wide, peering far below. Again, another motion, brown on white, or white on brown, it doesn't matter.

I pull in my arms, take the wind from beneath and fall.

Down.

Down.

Down.

The wind pushes past my face ever faster. The descent is blinding. I go even faster. What I need to live is ever on the run and I must work to catch it. Speed is what I need to survive.

Plunging my eye catches another motion and I move my right arm just a bit, adjusting.

Then, spreading with all my might I throw my arms out to catch the air at the moment just before I meet the muddy earth.

My mouth finds what I had seen. Small, warm, wet with the things I need to live. I gather the life to my bosom. But, to stay, to wait, to enjoy my meal, is a trap. Eyes flicking side to side, ever aware, I reach for the sky again. To my home.


Why describe a bird when you can be a bird? I think that's a lot more fun :) I mean, imagine the experience of flying through the air, high above the earth, diving hundreds upon hundreds of feet with your wings folded, knowing that you'll be okay, in fact, that's what you need to do to survive. That daily struggle where failure means death, where your responsibilities to the world are so clear. Simple.

The human world is so complex...and I'm not sure if it's a necessary thing or something we feel that we need. The more you think about the interweaving of threads that are life and people the more you realize how utterly insane it all looks.

Industries on industries on industries. Relationships. Economies. Responsibilities. Politics.

I know it sounds a bit crazy, but think about it

...our consciousness usually drops the input levels on that kind of thing in order for us to deal with daily life. I mean, think about it for a second. You wake up in the morning to an alarm to go to a job. Beside you is a loved one (hopefully), which is it's own tangle of complex interweaving...how did you meet, why are you together, how do you stay together, what responsibilities do you have to this person, them to you, are you still in love, in a fight, the list goes on and on. You slap the alarm...who made that? Was it American made, or in some poor southeast asian country? Were the people paid, is it slave labor? Which company manufactured it? What are their political stances? Do you agree with them, do you not? Your phone is sitting there...which, I'm not even going to get into... You throw back the covers and it's cold...which means maybe the thermostat is busted, or your significant other turned it down, or maybe there's a brownout because, well, who knows why. Have you started thinking about your work day yet? Who do you have responsibilities toward? Are you in the middle of a project? Several projects? I mean, I've just glossed over the thousands of potential questions within the first couple seconds of the day. How the heck are we supposed to figure out who we are, what we want, what we should do in an environment like this... And this is non-stop all the time.

But, animals, who are not so different from us, know exactly their place in everything and what they need to do.

It's crazy, when you think about it. What is civilization? Is it really that civilized? Or is it just an excuse for something else?

Or maybe I'm just crazy, lol.

Either way, hope you enjoyed the free write and hope you have an amazing day!
Michael

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - Coconuts
Five minute free write - record
Five minute free write - attic
Five minute free write - ASH
Five minute free write - Tiger
Five minute free write (sort of) - Whiteboard
Five minute free write - Nothing
Five minute free write - speaker
Five minute free write - Brand
Five minute free write - potatoes
Five minute free write - Picture prompt of old woman and delicious apple
Five minute free write - the military
Five minute free write - Rain
Five minute free write - Grocery List
Five minute free write - first African in space.
Five minute free write - Artichoke
Five minute free write - Syrup


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 19:23:01
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1089.35/1600.00
Total Photos: 75
Total comments: 74
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice feeling post

Very descriptive. Thank you. I also like how you showcase your other freewrites at the bottom of the post... I miht have to borrow that idea as well ;)

Hehe, please do. I got the idea from someone else. There's actually about 30 or 40 more...lol. Still figuring out markup language so I can put them in columns. It gives the reader an opportunity to explore if they like the authors work. Thanks for dropping by!

Yes, exactly. Ease of access is important! lol .

Thanks @mikesthoughts. Yes, I too, have thoughts like you have. What's it all about, how does this have any meaning in the grand scheme of things , why is the human variable always in the mix of things and eventually screwing up everything in this World etc..etc..

I feel you , man :)

Hehe, yeah, mankind makes things waaaaay more complex than they need to be. Perhaps it's just a stage of growth in the evolution of our minds? I mean, we're still working on primitive hardware. Monkey brains for a high tech world...

So many questions, too few the answers. Your bird is all about survival, but we humans spend most of our lives also on survival. So bent on the things we need or imagine we need to survive, we barely find time to live.

Yeah, or at least that's what we're told. Remember, most of our layers of existence are through the lens of what marketers tell us to be like. But, on the real side...yeah, too many people at poverty level for a world that's supposed to be as advanced as ours.

You touch on a lot of deep stuff here and I agree. For animals it's so simple as they live instinctively. No planning, no alarms, no regrets. Just doing that which will keep them alive. Humans have these others multilayered obligations and living becomes so much more complex.

Yeah, infinitely so, and very quickly, depending on what depth of relationships. And, then, groups? Separating, mixing, work and outside work...hobbies, interests, passions, dislikes...yikes! But we do it :) Somehow...so strange, hehe.

Yes, it is. I enjoyed your thoughts. Happy Friday!

You describe very well in your writing, I also love your endnotes, we sometimes seem alien when we compare ourselves to other creatures.

Hehe, thanks for reading the end notes! Most of the time they're way longer than the actual free write :) Be well!

so, you are a hawk!!! And that is why my Yoga teacher always said to center and be quiet first thing in the morning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66625.38
ETH 3619.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89