Five minute free write - Picture prompt of old woman and delicious apple

in #writing6 years ago

deadgirl art.jpg

The earth was dying. It was the time for it to happen. Life had lived it's cycles, over and over and over. Evolution, devolution. Birth, death, and every stage before, during and after.

Soil had turned to dust, green had turned brown. There was not a speck of life to be seen. Except for one place. Alone on an empty plate of land that stretched to the edges of everywhere there stood a small cottage with a fence and a tree.

Comically out of place, this small island of life burned brightly. Insde an old woman worked over a stove. Wizened with age each movement perfected over eternity she busied herself in the kitchen. All hustle and bustle.

Something sharp and loud caught her attention. It was an egg timer, hidden off in one corner. The numbers long since worn away, it had finally hit it's final moment.

She rubbed her hands on the towel that hung at her waist. And took a deep breath. It was time for her to get the apple.

It was getting harder and harder, she felt, to continue this cycle. Endlessly through the eons.

Out past the fence she hobbled. The tree standing in front of her. Bowing with it's limbs, the branches hung low. It took hardly a pull for her to snap it off. Warm in her hand she


It seems the Five Minute Free Write has changed up a bit in the last several days.

Been off getting things done in the real world. Lot's seems to be happening. I saw this image early this morning when I got my first cup of coffee as I always do at my shop. It was a simple decision to let it simmer, there was a lot to be done. And simmer it did. Almost into the next day, hehe. But, as I sat down and loaded up the Most Dangerous Writing App, an idea struck me. The image, so straightforward, had led me on a completely different path.

I decided to take the potential stereotypes and flip them on their end.

Instead of a story of evil, or horror, or anything that image might have initially evoked, I wanted to talk about life. Unfortunately the app didn't let me get to where I wanted to, but I think it stopped me at a good point. I know there's a lot up in the air about this place I write about, but it was hard to formulate clearly in five minutes, and I didn't want to go back and cheat. Grammar and punctuation is one thing, but, story-wise...

Hope you enjoyed it! I sure did as I wrote it :)

Image provided by @deadgrlsuppastar

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - the military
Five minute free write - Rain
Five minute free write - Grocery List
Five minute free write - first African in space.
Five minute free write - Artichoke
Five minute free write - Syrup
Five minute free write - Witches


Sort:  

haha i was just getting drawn in .....

Evil...I know, lol. Sorry :)

So this is where global warming is going to... Mind you, if it's me growing the fruit or veges all assistance for survival is required (including timers). Good write!! 😄

Your creativity is some of the best I've known Sir :-) This is defintiely one of those works that conveys a challenge to the norm of understanding.

Are you having yourself a little "mwahahahaha!" because you've left us hanging? 😉 Having her brewing something not wicked while working so hard to restart the cycle was a great idea!

This picture inspired a lot of circle of life, being kind of stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53