Isabella the Mouse (Continuing story, Challenged by @simgirl)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IsabellaMakesaHome.png

Photo Source Pixabay

black.png

My apologies to those following The Hunted Serialized suspense story. I was challenged to do this freewrite story and I must say that taking a break from murder and mayhem sounded like a nice relief! I'll be back with the next part of that story tomorrow and a full out weekend freewrite on Saturday.

black.png

Here are the beginning parts of the story of Isabella the Mouse:


Isabelle drug Max past one home at a time until she found him a safe place to hide. “Now all we need to do is gather you nesting materials...”

018-dice.png

Photo Source Pixabay

Isabelle and her friends were nothing if not resourceful. They gathered up all sorts of goodies that they found around the neighborhood. Careful to avoid the monsters, of course, they always moved around after dark.

018-fabric.png

Photo Source Pixabay

When they were done, Max was absolutely flabbergasted! They had taken this little hole in the wall and turned it into a real home! There was a beautiful pincushion bed, shaped like his favorite food, a tomato. There were end tables made from dice. He even had a wonderful painting hanging on the wall that someone had found made of fabric. Isabelle had found several matching 40% off tags and another mouse had created matching drapes from them. The bright turquoise color of the tags set off the other mishmash of colors, pulling it all together for a nice cohesive look. Max was in awe! It was the most beautiful house he'd ever had!

018-price.png

Photo Source Pixabay

Max plopped down on one of the bright pink dollhouse chairs that the other mice had found, "Phew! This was an awful lot of work, but it is so worth it."

Isabelle rolled her eyes. How like Max to take credit for any of the work, when all he did was crouch in the corner, shaking in his boots!

"Now Max, here is the next part of our plan. Our plan to ensure the safety of our entire community for the long term. You have a very essential role in this plan, Max. Your ability to take risks and be brave is the core part of the plan." She took Max by the shoulders, "It is VERY important that you listen very carefully, Max. We can't go off half cocked here. Are you ready? Will you work for the good of our entire community???"

She was being SO intense, Max didn't really feel like he had much choice. He didn't even quite know what he was agreeing to, but he shook his head 'yes' while his quavering little voice squeaked out, "Yes... ma'am!"

"Okay then. Max, here is what you need to do first..."

dot-blur-rainbow.png

In the grand tradition of tagging the next writer, I tag @kimberlylane to write the next installment.

black.png

This is my entry for the @freewritehouse Selfie Contest! I'm challenging myself to do a freewrite every single day for 50 days in a row. (Yikes!)

Today's prompt was '40% Off'

18-selife.png

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

dot-blur-rainbow.png

And if you're in the mood for something entirely different:

I've got two choices for you. Humor or suspense!

Funny Letters from a Boat Cat

Thumb-Tempest-day-19.png

Contemporary Suspense Story: The Hunted

thehunted.png

My name is Natalie. This is my story. It all started months ago when I thought I was being stalked. I was positive. I had the deep down knowledge that something was terribly wrong. I took every precaution and soon started feeling like the threat was over. My friends from work were relieved to see me getting back to normal and we planned a girl’s night out. We were all out having a blast that night. Drinking, partying, dancing, doing all those things that people like to do to get away from it all. Letting my guard down was the worst thing I could have done and because of it, my best friend was murdered. Now I was in a haze of chaos and grief tinged with guilt as the investigation finally gets started.

Nothing like a murder to get the police to take you seriously. Officer Franks (Mark) is one of the detectives on my case and he's the one making sure that I'm home safe. He promised me that he is going to make sure this gets solved and for some reason, I believe him. There are some sparks flying between us, but this is definitely not the time to explore that.

dot-blur-rainbow.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

This is wonderful! Dice end tables and doll house chairs.. very cozy home! Great use of the prompt too! Very creative mouse home!

I loved it! I think they made Max such a cute little house...and when I read about the dice...I seriously thought "That's what happens to dice when I lose them..." ha! I'm glad you got a chance to give your brain a break switch things up!

Ha :) Yeah, I sometimes wonder how many things the mice in our house would have to play with, because the girls always had too many dollhouse things!

I kinda like your mice. I usually kill any that I see but I might leave yours alone!

Ha! I love the idea of cute little mice characters, but I get tired of mouse poop everywhere and finding bags of food chewed open and strewn everywhere! I'll take imaginary mice any day!

Thanks for the comment.

yes real mice suck! they're so nasty but your's...they would definitely make me
hesitate to kill em! lol

So, I'm supposed to write the next 5 minute mouse story freewrite using tomorrow's prompt?
And then I nominate the next writer?

Yep yep! It can be your freewrite for tomorrow :)

Here is the markups for the previous links if you want to use it
<center>Here are the beginning parts of the story of Isabella the Mouse: </center>
* [Part 1 by @freedomtowrite](https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freedomtowrite/the-mouse-named-isabella-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-mice)
* [Part 2 by @snook](https://steemit.com/freewrite/@snook/the-mouse-named-isabella-part-2)
* [Part 3 by @eroticabian](https://steemit.com/freewrite/@eroticabian/isabella-to-the-rescue-isabella-the-mouse-part-3)
* [Part 4 by @simgirl](https://steemit.com/freewritecontest/@simgirl/day-223-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-eyebrow-s)
* [Part 5 by @byn](https://steemit.com/freewrite/@byn/isabella-the-mouse-continuing-story-challenged-by-simgirl)

Thank you for this @byn I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to making things esthetically pleasing.

No problem! Although HTML always made my head swim, the markups seem to be a bit easier for my brain so I'm happy to share the knowledge. :)

WOOOOOOOOOOOT!! You did GREAT with that prompt!!!!!! :D

Thank you! It felt good to work my brain in an entirely different creative direction again!

They are pretty 40% off tags... what a clever idea. I wouldn't mind those drapes ... I like "different" :)

I think I want curtains from 40% off tags too!!

Such a cute mouse house! I'm a sucker for tiny houses!

Right? I wish I could create home furnishings that easy, too :)

I second that! <3

Congratulations @byn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@byn you're amazing.

Thank you! You're making me blush. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43