Desolation: A 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

desolation.png

I held the threadbare housecoat around me and pulled the belt even tighter. I couldn’t get warm. The cold felt like it was settled into my bones form the inside out. I wondered in some part of my brain if the old robe was actually just holding the cold in at this point. I stood mulling this over for far too long, staring out the window at the barren trees blowing in the breeze. A squirrel skittered across the branches and my eyes followed it, mostly unseeing. What did it matter? I wondered if anything would ever matter to me again.

I realized that my hands were still gripping the belt, squeezing my stomach so hard that it felt as if the skin was pressed against my spine. I let my hands drop to my sides and let myself feel, just for a second. I wanted to see if the ache, the pain was still there.

As soon as I let down my guard, the feelings crashed over me like a violent wave in the middle of the ocean. My body rocked back as though it had been an actual physical blow. A sob broke from my lips. The core of pain radiating out from the depths of my soul, ricocheting back and forth through my body like it had done every time I let myself feel. I tried to pull it back together. I wasn’t ready. I couldn’t feel this, couldn’t possibly handle this yet.

The scenes from two weeks ago flashed in my mind, finding him… no. Finding his body, in our bed. The cold feel of his skin on my face as I lay on him, listening for a heartbeat that wasn’t there, a breath that I would never hear again, feeling my tears flowing down my face and hearing those horrifying, desperate screams echoing through our old house. My own screams that haunted me still, knowing that he had chosen to leave.

black.png

5 Minute Freewrite. Today's Daily Prompt Courtesy of @mariannewest

black.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts:

Storytime Saturday: Choices. A woman finds that she has some hard choices to make.

choices.png

Sunday Funnies: Battling the Laundry Demons, Letters from a Boat Cat

tempest-16.png

Mommy Monday: To My Kids: Let's Talk About Mother's Day

thumb-mothersday.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I entered a design contest

TSNT-designcontest.png

Workout Wednesday: Working Out!

WO-W-2.png

Therapy Thursday: Do Introverts Make Bad Friends?

Therapy-Thursday-introverts.png

Friday Freebies! Custom Graphics for You!

friday-freebie-custom-250.png

black.png

Photos & graphics are mine.
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Oh my, @byn, you are a true mistress of words. I swear I just love your stories. I was going to say 'despite their darkness', but I think I love them because of their darkness.
This was so, so sad and vivid. You know Stephen King once wrote that grief is like that drunk house guest, always coming back for one more hug.
Kinda like this story. Really great work <3 I feel so happy to have found such a good writer to follow!

Anyway, I'm in charge of delivering the next prompt (which I really hope you'll do), so there ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-187-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nail

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful compliment. I love Stephen King, I'm actually reading his book "On Writing" at the moment and finding so many things that I can relate to! It's so so true.

Thank you again for all of the sweet encouragement!

We love On Writing! Came here to tell you how much I admire your daughter's art!

Thank you... I assume you mean @loliboofae?

Hahaha, I just now saw the freewrite prompt of the day! I wondered why on earth you suddenly mentioned my daughter's art :) I went to look. I thought I missed a post!

Ha! I didn't know that you didn't know!

Oh yes, that book is an amazing journey, one that every writer should go on, as soon as possible! I hope it gives you a lot of answers in your own journey <3

So much feeling. I can feel grief coming back for a hug as I read that. It makes grief a much more sympathetic face, though.

Oh Byn. You truly paint with your words. I can see her, feel her and what she is feeling. So good and so sad!

Thank you, Marianne. I appreciate you <3 I've needed to get back to my freewrite therapy!

You made me cry. So powerful.

Thanks for reading and leaving a comment. It was a pretty intense thing to write, that's for sure.

Very gut reaching. I couldn't imagine finding a loved one this way. Good characterization.

Thank you. I think my writing is my therapy these days.

I can fully relate. It's a wonderful catharsis. <3

Exactly. Writing has saved me tons on therapists (I felt like I said that like the Geico commercial... "Writing has saved me 15% on therapy!")

This is devastating and so intense.

I guess I've expressed myself adequately through my writing, then. I've been feeling pretty intense lately. Thank you for the comment.

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

very, very sad :'(

Very, very, very GREAT story!!!!!! hugs

Thank you. I've been feeling pretty intense lately.

Beautiful, spare, and heartbreaking. Intensely evocative, and brings to mind loved ones I've lost, though I've yet to find a body. Excellent work.

Thank you for the comment. I appreciate your support.

You're welcome. Thanks for bringing forth such an amazing piece.

@byn You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Leaving a bunch of copy and paste "Like" comments is considered spamming and can get you flagged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49