THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS - GETTING INFORMATION INTO YOUR HEAD BEFORE YOU REALLY NEED IT - Post #7777

in #foraging8 years ago

Knowledge is power, and that's why some would prefer you to be dumb and ignorant.

Though we live in "the information age" many still seem to lack a lot of knowledge. The purpose of this post is to be encouraging and inspirational, as well as to the point.


Purslane


FOOD

To survive, we need to eat. Unfortunately, many people do not grow their own food. This makes it very easy to cut you off from your normal food supply. That fact is dangerous.

For many months, I have been working on making a series of posts that I call "THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS."

The purpose of this series is to document my adventure in outdoor edibles and to educate others as well. Many of us are surrounded by food that we have not even tried yet. From "weeds" to common plants, there is so much free food growing all around us.


American Beautyberry


To get to know many of these plants as a hobby now is a great idea. We can supplement our food supply and decrease our grocery bill, often while increasing the nutritional value of our food intake, just by familiarizing ourselves with the wild edibles in our areas.

I am no expert, but I do enjoy learning and sharing. If disaster strikes and times get tough, I will be so happy that I learned about these wonderful plants ahead of time, and you may too! Even if your food supply is cut off for only a few days or weeks, this information could save your life!


Chicory


Check out this very short video to see how beneficial this information can be, and check out some of the links below to learn more!


Look at how many wild edibles I was able to find in one minute, in an abandoned lot, just with a little information in my head!

  • Yellow Dock

  • Burdock

  • Plantain

  • Alfalfa

  • Stinging Nettle

  • Dandelion

  • Lamb's Quarters

  • Wild Carrot

  • Common Yellow Wood Sorrel

  • Creeping Charlie

  • Catnip

  • Wild Lettuce

Here's previous THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS posts:

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-free-food(alfalfa)



FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation.)

Sort:  

Getting to know wild edibles is fun and also a way to build survivor skills. Next to our energy system, our food grid is so fragil it scares the shit out of me when I research. Natural disaster or man made can bring down our very fragile energy and transportation grids. A way to control people is through controlling food, water and energy through centeralized grids. throughout history. These grids have been used to win wars and clean out undesirable populations. Mao is a good example using centeralized food grids to kill off large portions of his countries population. Knowledge is powerful but don't let it eat you up, eat it before it eats you!
https://www.hawaii.edu/powerkills/NOTE2.HTM

Well said and excellent example.

Sometimes it seems like our necks are in the guillotine... The blade just hasn't dropped yet.

I prefer to take my head out while I still have it.

I get very emotional about this issue, must be my epigenetic memories. My people on both sides of my lineage, Celtic and Native American were starved into submission ....sigh...I'm going to work on my art projects now, (hugs) to Papa.

And all too often the same wicked past awaits us in the future...

(hugs)

good info - it's helpful just to know some plants are benign regardless of whether we ever eat them

I agree!

Thanks!

I say don't wait -- bring the wild food into your life now. Not as a survival food. They are better than that. Wild food is great food. Wild food is real food for regular people! You've prompted me to write a couple future posts on the topic, @papa-pepper. Stay tuned and thanks!

Fully agreed!

To get to know many of these plants as a hobby now is a great idea. We can supplement our food supply and decrease our grocery bill, often while increasing the nutritional value of our food intake, just by familiarizing ourselves with the wild edibles in our areas.

More people need to be doing this now, while they can!

Looking forward to your upcoming posts!

When the electricity is out, the food supply is down, and the internet doesn't work, it'll be too late to learn.
If that never happens, and we are enjoying and familiarizing ourselves with the wild edibles now, our lives will be more enjoyable and healthy anyways... win, win!

I guess I consider it more a way of being, rather than a hobby. It would be like saying eating pizza or pancakes is a hobby. I eat weeds more often than I eat pizza, pancakes, or at a restaurant, lol.

I fully agree, but I'm trying to encourage people who do not live that way.

Rather than saying "Live your life this way" I'm encouraging them to try it, as a way of getting their feet wet and get exposed to the option of living that way...

I agree, for sure, that saying "Live your life this way" is a pushy way to go and not very effective. I hope I haven't ever come across that way. I think I try to show by example that weeds can be real food for regular people, not just trivia or a hobby. Fear about the need to survive is another motivator, too, though. It may be more effective for some folks. The more information and examples, from a lot of different people - that's got to be the best. Keep eating the outdoors! :D

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Thanks for that!

Forage-On!

Do you know how many people I know that are like ewe thats gross, its covered in dirt? Or are repulsed by weirdly shaped vegetables?

If it didn't come from a store, its not safe to eat.

These poor people are going to be the first to starve to death.

Yes they will, if they don't die of malnutrition first!

Diabetes is a malnutrition disease... hmmmm (this requires pondering)

Indeed.... some thought required....

Excellent video. Very eye opening. I noticed a couple plants you identified, like burdock, have not been featured in previous Edible Outdoors posts. Will these be the subject of future posts?

Yes they will, there hopefully will be many more to come!

Nice post!
I have lived as a gatherer (no hunting) for weeks on end in forests in France, but it would be stupid to assume you can do that without knowledge of plants; you need to be prepared. There are tricks to find out safely if something is edible, but they take days and you may not have that much time.

Absolutely, it is much better to prepare yourself when you have time, and use that knowledge if you ever need it!

Thanks @orcdu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26